Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 30, 2018
A fabulous stay right in the heart of the park. The staff and service were really excellent. They made it a real home from home. Highly recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SIMPLY THE BEST

Posted Nov 11, 2018 on Hotels
This was the best hotel EVER!!!! from the Safaris, to the food to the hospitality! The views, the beauty, the landscape. WE WILL BE BACK AND BRING FAMILY!! Thank you for looking after my Father in law so well. They loved their time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great Safari Expetience

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Lastminute
Price needs to be seen in conjunction with value. The whole safari experience is expensive in dollar terms - including getting to Nairobi and also the the reserve, park entrance, balloon flight etc. But all this must be weighed against the excellent game viewing, the clean, well run Hotel, excellent cruising and the amenities all of which are close at hand. Balloon flights can be reserved in the hotel itself which is very convenient. Overall the experience is well worth the investment and the hotel is highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great service and amazing view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting the Masai Mara

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Electricity is off several times a day, which can be a pain. Internet is good.
Location: Balloon ride, game drives, spa, pool,
We spent a week in the Masai Mara. The Serena lodge is the heart of the Masai Mara conservancy which is the best kept part of the entire area. The roads are better, the animals are protected and it is the perfect destination for game drives. The Serena lodge is the only place to stay in the area and there really is no other place you would want to go. It is located a few km from the airstrip (yes you do want to fly in, don't drive from Nairobi) on top of a high mesa that looks out dozens of miles in all directions. The property is amazing with a pool, workout facilities and an excellent spa. The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating and you will want for nothing. Look out your window each morning and see everything from baboons to buffalo to antelope and giraffes. They have many Land Cruisers with pop tops for game drives and the animals really are incredible. Highly recommend the balloon ride. The master pilot, Dan, is incredible and the vistas are amazing. Not cheap but worth the adventure. On Wednesday night there is an excellent talk by local researchers from the Hyena study camp which is fascinating as well. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and setting

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Mara Serena - the location is amazing and the staff is quite friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Heart of the Mara - pumps to beat of migration

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Wonderful Staff, wonderful animals, unbeatable location - so very sad to leave - next visit will be longer. Simply excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicola from UK

The best place we have ever stayed

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: The location!
Cons: Leaving it.
Location: On the top of a hill, every room has a view out over the plains of the Mara. Animals can wander up close to the edge of the rooms.
We stayed at a quiet time, so there were few people around, but nonetheless the way we were looked after was superb. Wonderful food, wonderful views, brilliant service, comfortable rooms, swimming pool. When you add in the location, on top of the hill looking out across the plains, this hotel is the best place we have ever stayed. Where else can you have a swim before breakfast, see a lion at lunch time, then elephants in the afternoon, before a delicious dinner and then fall into a comfortable bed? We will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to return to

Posted Feb 13, 2013 on Hotels
The vistas of the wild bush are great and one can see a lot of wild animals from the comfort of one's room.