Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A STAIN ON THE AMRATH BRAND

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: It’s location opposite the train station
Cons: Staff should be retrained to understand their complete function. Hotel rooms are now plentiful and it’s the added value that keep customers loyal.
Location: Right opposite the station. The brilliant Brasserie Flo, just 2 mins away and the Chinese restaurant Wen Chow also 2 minutes away
Chose this hotel because my hotel of choice in Maastricht just round the corner (Townhouse Design Hotel) was already fully booked for that weekend. As I am partial to game, the advertisement for their game weeks and the Amrath name, encouraged me to book this hotel without reading reviews or checking out other Maastricht hotels, as I was looking forward to a game supper on the Saturday. On arrival check in was fast and efficient; and that was the only part of the experience that felt like an Amrath hotel. I went upstairs to drop my luggage and returned downstairs to book my table for supper and to ask for recommendations for a local butcher that sold good game for me to take back to London. The young lady at the desk looked totally blank and said she did not know what I was talking about, so using every description in my vocabulary I described what game was. When the light finally came on in her eyes she said she had no idea of a butcher selling game. I returned upstairs without booking the table for supper as I was wary of “Game Week” if the hotel staff did not know what game was. 20 minutes later I came back down stairs and now there were 3 members of staff behind the desk so I decided to try again by directing the question at the lady dressed in a black suit who I assumed was a bit further up the management chain. She also looked blank at the word game and the young man amongst them translated it for her, at which point all three said they did not know of any.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel Next to Maastricht Centraal

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location, restaurant.
Cons: Hotel staff could be a bit better informed about things like city bus routes.
Location: The high point of the stay for us were the first-rate medieval collections at the Bonnefantem Museum.
We stayed there 3 nights in September, 2017. We found the hotel to be well kept and the staff to be quite friendly and helpful. It would be good if there were more tourist information available (better map, bus routes) but then, as a whole Maastricht is not too touristy (yet). We had some trouble with the AC controls; the key turned out to be to set the fan to bring in outside air than recirculating room air. The hotel's restaurant offers a relatively small selection of dishes, but all three we tried were excellent and reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We appreciate your very nice review! Thank you for the compliments of our restaurant for the dishes you tried. Hope to see you again in the future. With kind regards, Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur
3 out of 5
by constance

Missing Comfort

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
We were moved to another room due to failure of heating systheem. New room was ok, except the refrigerator did not work and was not replaced even after reporting the problem. One day the room was not cleaned. When that was reported there was no housekeeping service available in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017
Dear Mrs. Constance, We thank you for taking the time to post a review. Sorry to read that you had to change room, we apologize for this inconvenience. The only reason for not cleaning a room is that guests have a "don't disturb" sign outside the door or guest communicates with housekeeping that they will leave the room later than housekeeping is in the hotel for cleaning. The housekeeping will put extra towels outside the door. With kind regards, Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location convenient to train station and to dining and shopping. The rooms have everything we needed. Our room key did not work well, and we had to have it re-coded every time we left the room, which was inconvenient. On the second day our room was never cleaned. Quirky issues! But overall, we were very pleased.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017
Dear guest, We appreciate your very nice review! Sorry for the quirky issues, we will sort it out. With kind regards, Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent hotel great location

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Wotif
Very clean and great condition. Would highly recommend and in a beautiful city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Dan, We would like to thank you for the very nice review! We appreciate it very much! It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future as one of our guests. With kind regards, Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Airdrie, AB Canada

Nice quaint historic hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Nice historic hotel in central Maastricht. Friendly staff with clean, comfortable rooms. The GM helped us by going above and beyond his duties. We had the unfortunate circumstance of being in an automobile accident. He helped us fill out the forms, translate from Dutch to English, print pictures and ensure we were OK. He then gave us an incredible token (bottle of wine) to make the bad day much better! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Tanya, We appreciate your very nice review! It was a pleasure of helping you with forms, printing pictures, etc. due to the unfortunate circumstance. To show our hospitality and compasion to our guests, we are pleased when just a bottle of wine makes a day much better! With kind regards, Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur
4 out of 5
by Fabio

Top quality/price ratio in Maastricht's center

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is pretty nice and in a very good location, but it's address is wrongly reported and main entrance (as well as parking entrance) are on a different street. Room furnitures are not brand new but bed is very comfortable and overall the price quality ratio is very very good. Position is also very nice, at the end of main street opposing old town (on the other side of the river) so allowing to walk around all Maastricht's city centre
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017
Dear Mr. Fabio, We appreciate your very nice review! Thank you for being our guest. Maybe we can welcome you again as one of guests in the future! With kind regards, Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur
4 out of 5
by Fiona

Ironman Stay

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for the Ironman triathlon. The hotel is in a great location only 10 minutes walk from the transition, expo and start area for the race. The premier room was big and spacious with a large comfy bed and a sofa too. Breakfast was good and the staff were all friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017
Dear Mrs. Fiona, We are pleased to read that during the "Ironman" our hotel was a great location, we are indeed situated only a 10 minutes walk from the start area for the race. We hope to welcome you again as one of our guests next year during the Ironman event. With kind regards, Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Taking a shower warning

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Hotel is in a grat location accross from the Train Station. But if you want to take a shower bring your own bar of soap and wash cloth if that is your custom. I inquirered about a wash or face cloth they did not know what I was talking about and then offered to get me more towels. A bar of soap was not availible either only a soup pump. Other than that everything was satisfactory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur, Hotel Management
Dear Mr/Mrs., Thank you for review! In the bathroom are 2 soap dispensors available, one is hand soap and the other one is shampoo and conditioner. Considering the environment, we have no bar of soap anymore. We hope to welcome you again in the future as one of our guests. With kind regards, Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Good location for Andre RIEU concerts

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We stayed here for 3 nights as we were attending Andre Reiu concerts in the Square. The Hotel is immediately across from the Train Station so the location is very handy. Its also a short distance to the shops and square. The Hotel staff were very polite and happy to help with any questions or issues. For instance the room cards kept wiping themselves and I had to make a number of trips to reception to get the card reinstated. A number of guests had to do this so it wasn't operator error. Due to the number in our party we had a family room. The room wasn't particularly clean and on some days looked liked no one had dusted or hovered. The furniture was also old and tired and could do with replacing. The lighting in the bedroom area is very inadequate and you can hardly see what you are doing as the bedroom window is around the corner and provides very little light. Overall it is a pleasant hotel and the staff are very accommodating especially the more mature male behind the bar who served us drinks until the early hours of the morning, he was very jolly and customer focused.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Team Amrâth Grand Hotel de l'Empereur, Hotel Management
Dear AJ, Thank you for your review and thank you for the compliments about the staff. We are pleased to read it. We will check the machine of the room cards if there is something wrong, but the cards are also sensitive to magnetic fields like mobile phones. We hope you enjoyed the concert of André Rieu. With kind regards, Team Amrath Grand Hotel de l'Empereur