Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pretty old hotel in the city centre

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Location and restaurant
Cons: The bathrooms and more staff in the restaurant is essential
Location: Everything is walking distance and easily accessible. I love Maastricht, beautiful city!
It was a lovely hotel, very centrally located with a beautiful court yard restaurant. The only disappointing bit was the bathroom which could be updated and did not get properly cleaned. We ate at the restaurant which has an incredible atmosphere. The food was good, but they were very understaffed and everything took a very long time to arrive. The staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitstable

Lovely hotel central to Vritjhof

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Booked to stay here for 2 nights with my Dad to bring him to Maastrict for the Andre Rieu concert which was his 80th birthday present. Hotel is lovely and very central to the vritjhof and we found it very easy to get around using this hotel as a base. Did not have breakfast at hotel as thought there would be cheaper options elsewhere. Did not eat at the hotel restaurant either although it looked lovely but not what we were after. Lovely room, nicely decorated and furnished. We had room 15 which is at the top of the building. Small window so room very warm. Steep stairs too but there is a lift in the hotel. Had a lovely trip to Maastrict and hope to visit again soon. Would recommend hotel. Also there is a lovely cafe round the corner...stadscafe lure. Delicious food. Went there 3 times. Had a great stay and hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shropshire, UK

Nice self catering flat - will certainly revisit.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: I loved the area, being in the Dutch equivalent of the Latin/Student Quarter with many reastaurants/bars, lovely walks along by the city wall & river.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: This is very near to the Vrithof, town park, old town walls, & the river, where one can go on a river trip, or even an evening dinner cruise.
We stayed a week, mainly for the Andre Rieu Concert, & found it to be a nice 1st floor, self catering apartment, within easy walking distance of the old town centre, which we hope to stay in again. Everything one needed (as well as some items never used ie a dishwasher), was supplied in this flat. There are some steep stairs up to it (we were on the 1st floor), but this is normal for an old Dutch building. We had a small terrace/patio area, very good for a mid morning cup of coffee, or glass of wine. Surprisingly this flat was serviced, which I had not expected, with a lady coming in each day, to make the beds etc. There was a large dining table & chairs, 2 sofas, chest of drawers, coat stand, coffee table, TV, Mirror, in the living room which is at the front of the property. In the bedroom a bedside table, wardrobe, fan, & 2 single beds pushed together. The kitchen had a fridge, freezer, sink, dishwasher, hob, microwave/oven, all the utensils/crockery/cutlery one would want. Shower room, as expected shower, washbasin & WC. Tip: if you are only around 5ft tall take a hand mirror with you as the bathroom mirror is very high, but there is another in the living room area that is much lower. Plus, maybe some scissors for opening packets (the original ones had apparantly been taken by a former guest)! Also high heels are not a practical idea, as Maastricht has many cobbled streets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry UK

Nice hotel in easy reach of the main square

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Position
Location: V near main square
Lovely homely hotel in easy reach of the main square by foot - but beware if you're thinking of wearing stilettos as all the roads are cobbled!! We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but it looks very pretty inc an open vine covered forecourt. The reception isn't manned 24/7 but the room key also opens the front door so it's possible to stay out as late as you wish. Breakfast is ALL self service down to boiling your own egg and squeezing your own orange juice but very nice! Beds are very comfortable. Would def recommend.
5 out of 5
by Smushers from Guildford, UK

Charming hotel

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
A very central location for all the main attractions in town, as well as a stone's throw from various eating/drinking options. Very friendly staff and clean, well-kept rooms, with comfy beds. Buffet breakfast of typical Dutch options was also good. Only issue was leaving earlyish on weekend and not having anyone to hand key back to (but all sorted easily enough in the end).
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Orpington

Not bad, but overpriced

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels
A pleasant small hotel close to the Vrijhthof (main city square) in Maastricht, but priced some way above the level of quality offered, at 125 euros per room ex breakfast. We took two rooms for one night and the bill, including breakfast for four, came to 336 euros (we didn't have dinner or any extras). The rooms were clean and of reasonable quality but far from luxurious. Breakfast was not included, and cost 14 euros each for a continental breakfast. (There was no cooked food, unless you include DIY egg-boiling in that category.) My (Dutch) wife asked for fresh milk and was told that that was "niet te doen" implying it was somehow an improper request. There is parking in a courtyard a few minutes walk away (locked overnight). On one side the rooms overlook the restaurant and on the other the street so it could be noisy, although on the night we were there the restaurant was closed/empty but there was quite some noise on the other side from the wind causing quite a bit of rattling (from a flag pole I think). All in all, not a bad hotel as such, but overpriced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Au Quarter Hotel in Maastricht

Posted Sep 8, 2011 on Hotels
Would recommend to others. Staff very helpful, location perfect and parking available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mainz, Deutschland

Little piece of heaven

Posted Aug 5, 2011 on Hotels
What a great place to stay in the heart of Maastricht. We had a quiet and spacius room with a great view of the Basilica of Saint Servatius. Breakfast was tasty and consisted of a variety of fresh breads, cheese and meats. We started each morning ready to explore the city. For a small additional room fee we were able to bring our two small dogs with us. We plan to stay there again next time we visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zaandam

Leuk hotel vlak bij het Vrijthof

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: De prijs/kwaliteit verhouding is goed.
Location: De ligging, dicht bij het Vrijthof
Ik had het appartement geboekt. Deze was ruim en schoon. De bedden waren goed. De keuken was goed uitgerust. Wat opviel is dat de verwarming het erg goed deed, binnen een mum van tijd was de woning geheel verwarmd. Ik kan dit hotel dan ook zeer aanraden!!