Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location and a nice place to stay

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Excellent location Friendly staff Clean and comfortable
Cons: Hairdryers in the room (only a minor thing).
Location: Very easy to walk to all of the historic buildings, city walls, museums etc of Maastricht. Close to the market place, shops, cafes, bars, restaurants.
Our room was comfortable and the hotel is well located in the beautiful historic central area of the city, close to the market place, shops, bars and restaurants. We were staying in a room at the back of the hotel and found it very quiet. There was a kettle and coffee / tea etc and a minibar / fridge in the room. There was no hairdryer but it is possible to borrow one from reception (otherwise bring a travel one along!). The rooms are only really suitable for couples though as the shower is in the corner of the bedroom, but the toilet is separate. We did not try the breakfast as it seemed a little pricey, so we can't comment on it. However, we enjoyed our stay and found it very easy to get around on foot or by catching a bus from the nearby market place. We liked the character of the historic building and courtyard. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned, beds made and litter bin emptied daily. Shampoo, conditioner and soap were provided. Heating and hot water worked well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Excellent location and reasonable charge

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: nothing
Location: Just behind the square!
The striking point was pleasant, welcoming staff. Clean rooms. Very good shower and comfortable bed! I felt that the location is convenient with good connecting buses nearby.
5 out of 5
by Kim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Han Sia

Disappointing!

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointed. For €150 this should have dental kit and bedroom slippers. Toilet door handle and wall light broken but not fixed even after front desk was informed. Location premium too much to pay for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, PA

Charming and unique

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: location, nice staff, condition and cleanliness of room
Location: excellent location just a block from the main town square, so easy walk to bistros, shopping, historic sites and the university.
loved our stay at Hotel Grote Gracht but I'd call it more of a cross between a B&B and a hotel, and probably leaning toward B&B. We had what was called a Family Room, which slept 4 and was basically a loft setup--was very homey and sort of cool, felt almost like a modern cabin with A-frame ceilings--my sense is that most/all of the rooms are different/unique. The somewhat narrow staircase to get to the loft was a minor negative after several days, and especially if you had to use the bathroom in the middle of the night (bring your phone flashlight, to get down the steps in the dark). Another minor negative, for us anyway (and depending on what you're looking for) is that the hotel certainly doesnt have typical hotel services/amenities (again, more like a B&B in that respect)--there was also no elevator so our room being on the 3rd floor got a bit old after awhile--a small complaint, and something we were aware of before we went. Great location, definitely boutique/smaller, some minor negatives but we enjoyed it overall--and it definitely fit the charming and beautiful town of Maastricht.
3 out of 5
by Tim from San Francisco

Would not stay there again

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
The building and location were very nice, as were the furnishings and decorations. Small rooms are normal in historic city centers in Europe. If we'd left in the middle of the night we would have a great impression of the Hotel Grote Gracht. But then morning. The breakfast itself was alright, slightly better than the normal toast & cereal fare. The guy at check-in and the binder in the room had plenty of info about breakfast hours and location, but no mention of price, so we were surprised to find at check-out that they were charging us 15 euros each, for a few slices of bread and a push-button vending machine coffee. Add to that the terrible manner and obnoxious attitude of the young woman at the front desk and we walked out of there wishing we'd stayed somewhere else. We travel a lot, I'm a professional tour guide and stay in a wide variety of hotels, and we will not be staying at the Hotel Grote Gracht again. Mastricht is beautiful, but give this place a pass, there are plenty of better options available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Beautiful renovation. Great decor.

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: Fantastic location, decor and comfort
Cons: Breakfast is very pricey.
Location: It's right in the centre of Maastricht with everything close by - including a fantastic little cafe 'Taart' for breakfast.
We had family room which was perfect for me and my two teen-age boys. Shower facilities excellent. Only slight drawback is that the rooms at the front can be a little noisy due to facing the street and the town being full of students.
4 out of 5
by john from Hornchurch

Weekend in Maastrich

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Perfectly situated , close to the centre of city.
4 out of 5
by Kim from Glasgow

Ok for one night stay but no air con.

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
Due to the age of the building there was no air conditioning but the girl at reception gave us a room in the courtyard which was one of their cooler rooms and gave us a fan. Only small bedside cabinets and shelves-no drawers. One small rail for hanging clothes, not long enough for tunics or dresses and no door or cover over it. The shower area is part of the bedroom, so no privacy. WC is in what looks like a cupboard. Lovely decor both in the hotel and room. Nice bedding and towels. Room very small but we were only there for one night. Great location if going to see Andre Reiu, just minutes walk from the square. 15 euro each for breakfast, not good value as not a great selection. There were plenty of places around to get breakfast but as we were leaving for Düsseldorf early in the morning it suited us. Around 10 euros for a taxi to the train station/bus station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Walkable to shops restaurants and cafes

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The boutique style. The bathroom was amazing. Large with a bath and fantastic shower.
Cons: Housekeeping. Replace soap and toilet paper.
Location: Around the corner from the square that Andre Reiu held his concert. So perfect location.
Three nights in this hotel was pleasant and would visit again. Unfortunately the searing temperatures of 37 whilst we were there blighted our stay. There was no air conditioning and the hotel provided us with a fan which really wasn't adequate for the unusual heat.