Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruined and dirty rooms next to a great castle

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
I intended to offer a surprise to my family and indeed it was a surprise, but not a good one! The hotel was not refurbished since 1983 when former owner created the hotel from a distroyed monumental building (former farm house, convent, next to a great castle - as annex). Rooms are ruined, dirty, missing elementar things for so-called 4 stars hotel (i.e. no toiletries offered in bathroom). Overall image: worst than a old 2 stars or hostel in a way; see pictures. The current owner (who purchased the hotel 6-7 years ago) simply make plenty of money there without doing anything to improve. Fletcher Group asks quite high price (as for 4-5 stars) and offers anything for what you pay. Rooms and hotel need first a major cleaning and then a total refurbishing. Only breakfast was great; however you do not go to a castle hotel for breakfast only... A no go fi considering romantic gateway or travelling with kids, even if surrounding area is great, plenty of nature - a big park, ideal for walking; GAIA Zoo and a nice medieval castle (now a good restaurant) next door. Avoid Junior Studio because they ask lot of money and you get what you see in pictures! Better stay next time in Rolduc Monastery hotel in vicinity (at least having the feeling of something impresive!). For sure not return soon to the castle hotel, at least not before they clean and refurbish the rooms... By the way, apples trees in front of hotels are great, good fruits (but nobody pick up them!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtice Ontario, Canada

I had two great nights at Kasteel Erenstein.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Great location and just a short walk to shops and town.
Great service and a beautiful setting. I found it to be very relaxing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
good hotel, great location
3 out of 5
by Robert E from Switzerland

Nicely location but hotel interior needs an update

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel nicely located in quiet environment next to the zoo. Nice room size, but interior is outdated with old carpet and wall paper. Refrigerator in room but no safe. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom has been updated. Free wifi and parking. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Fee for dog not mentioned on hotels.com and high at €15/night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tenterden

Great restaurant - nice location

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Great location, could do with a bit of a refurbishment inside but perfectly serviceable. Great restaurant
Cons: Paint job in hotel but restaurant was excellent
Location: This was just a stop over on this occasion but would consider revisiting on another day.
Great staff - very attentive. Good location for travelling, activities for the kids for a weekend away.
3 out of 5
by Charles from Luxembourg

Disappointing.

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Don't be misled by the photo of the castle. The actual hotel is not in fact there, but situated a 2 minute drive away on the other side of the road, in another building completely. That was the first let-down. Plus points; friendly staff, great breakfast. Negative points; a very dark and tired looking room painted in a depressing green colour, cobwebs on the ceiling, ticking pipework any time the room above used the bathroom, lack of sound-proofing, and a strange smell in the corridor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Nice hotel in a very beautiful environment

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The staff is very helpful and dedicated, always ready to assist. The hotel has a nice restaurant serving fine cuisine located in the nearby castle.
Location: Nice surroundings for walks and biking. A famous zoo is next door and plenty of regional activities are advertised at the hotel counter.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for business travel. It was a good choice, conveniently located in a beautiful and quiet environment. It is surely a nice place to stay in if you are in search of quietness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The staff and accommadations were more than expectated.
Cons: The wifi was a touch slow.
I stayed at the hotel for a business trip. I was pleasantly suprised at how nice the accomadations were and the staf was excellent. One of the best parts of the hotel is a phenominal running/walking/biking trail practically beginning at the front door.
3 out of 5
by M Kilpatrick from USA

A castle or a barn?

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
I booked at Kasteel Erenstein based on the picture of the lovely castle. WhenI arrived I found out that the castle was across the road and not even visible from the old (1713) refurbished farmstead. We basically had rooms in the hayloft-without air conditioning or elevator to the third floor. The "premium" internet was available only in the lobby if you stood right by the router.The hotel was a very nice facility. It was clean. The breakfast was good. It was hard to find, but after we found it, it was centrally located. I would have liked it if I had not been expecting a castle and not paying for a castle.
4 out of 5
by Giles from Brussels

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Overall we had a lovely stay. The staff at the hotel were friendly, informative and welcoming. I'd highly recommend the nearby (and associated) restaurant in the castle which is a 2minute walk away. The food was excellent and the building was stunning. Just be prepared for quite an expensive wine list. Three course meal for two with wine - €140. The hotel itself was a lovely old farmhouse and courtyard. The building was charming but our room decor was a little dated and looked somewhat tired. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was perfectly acceptable. Cold meats, cheese, selection of bread and pastries. Cereals, fruit, yogurt. There was also hot eggs, bacon & sausage. Overall we would recommend this hotel.