Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Welcomed just as if we were old friends

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The friendliness and service standard.
Cons: The rooms could do with a little TLC but we didn't go there to spend all of our time in the room. If we did we would book a more expensive venue.
Location: Plenty to do at this time of year. Three or four Christmas markets of varying quality but a great atmosphere all around the town.
A second visit to the Christmas Markets meant another visit to Joan Puts' hotel. We were welcomed as if we had known each other for years. The menu was, as usual, wonderful in the evening, served by enthusiastic and friendly staff. We will certainly return in the new year - even if we have to invent an excuse to do so. If you are a fan of Andre Rieu and his music, this is a convenient place to stay as it is not far from Maastricht with easy rail and road links.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

New friends and great staff

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Great meals - flexible menu cooked brilliantly . Good choice of dishes. Nice bar and lounge area for the guests to use. Quiet location.
Cons: Parking - but we were able to use a nearby 'private' carpark at no cost.Hotel car park always full. Fletcher hotels should provide extra staff
Location: We went there for the Christmas Markets. This is a relatively small town but, for its size, with plenty to see and do at this time of year.
Had a great time here - with my elder brother. Very friendly and helpful staff and comfortable room. Joan (the manager) and his staff (notably the Chef, Michael, and Tina who was so good in the bar), made every effort to make us feel welcome. The menu was good and breakfast served over an extended period compared withi other hotels I have visited. Will be going there again - in a weeks time - this time with my wife.
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Brighton

Basic but value for money

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived very late due to traffic problems and the hotel was not easy to find as it is in a residential neighbourhood, with a sister hotel of the same name in a more prominent position. As we were so late the hotel reception had closed and there was no night porter, but our keys had been left in an envelope behind a potted plant by the front door! Once inside the corridors and rooms were very shabby and basic, but the beds were comfortable, the rooms warm and there was an extensive selection of international tv channels. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent and the dining room, lobby and bar were much smarter than the rest of the hotel. The hotel is in a good location for walking into to town and is good value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Den Haag

Small, fairly quiet hotel but satisfactory

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Free wifi and breakfast.
Cons: Stiffer, firmer mattresses. They had really soft ones on the bed which gave me a bad back. Also a bigger car park, I had to park on the street.
Location: Valkenburg is a small town, quiet served by small shops and cafes etc. Local area looked pleasant and peaceful.
Hotel is fairly easy to locate (with Sat Nav) and quiet. It's small and quiet tight but I was staying on my own so didn't mind. Don't expect too much and this hotel won't disappoint you. It's a small, cheap and inexpensive 3 star so book as to your needs.
2 out of 5
by simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by E from England

Valkenburg

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed here during Amstel Gold weekend. The hotel was easy to find and had free parking. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is looking a little tired and rough around the edges but the rooms were comfortable and clean and the location was perfect for us. Yes it was a little noisy a couple of times but overall nothing to complain about as all of Valkenburg was very busy that weekend due to the Amstel Gold Race. Price was reasonable and included a good buffet breakfast. The town centre was about 10 minutes walk away with plenty of bars and restaurants to eat at. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
4 out of 5
by D Summers

Posted Jul 5, 2012 on Hotels
only spent 1 night, found it difficult to find, first impression of the bar,reception and restaurant was excellent but disappointed with the room, very small but spotlessly clean. Had to leave early the following morning and was provided with a pack up breakfast which was excellent. Would return now I know where to find it.Hotel staff very pleasant,polite and the service provided was very good,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

benauwde kamer.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Goed ontbijt
Cons: De badkamers vernieuwen. (Kamer 107)
Location: Locatie is prima, centrum is goed te belopen.
Kleine benauwde kamer, erg gehorig en badkamer gedateerd en zeer klein.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rotterdam

Hotel in Valkenburg

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Niets
Cons: Heel het hotel renoveren.
Location: Locatie en de stad Valkenburg is perfect.
Bij aankomst onvriendelijke receptionist bij het inchecken. In heel het hotel hing een vervelende rioollucht. Kamers zijn klein en gedateerd, doche en wc zien er niet erg fris uit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Vriendelijke medewerkers, prima hotel.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Vriendelijke medewerkers, prima hotel. De prijs was het zeker waard!