Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unreliable hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: A young lady who was at the reception of the hotel... she tried to please us.
Cons: Awful
Location: Excellent location! a couple of blocks to the old town.
I booked a room for my husband and myself, to arrive on Saturday July 11th. 2015. It was paid in advance on March 2015. On July 6th, the administration of this hotel sent me an email of cancellation to the room. They advised will refund to my credit card the 175 Euros. I called to request an explanation as it was booked and paid 4 months ago....??? After a discussion, they offered a small room that it will be adapted for 2 people. We arrived on Saturday night... it was an uncomfortable tiny room - of course nobody from the administration to claim it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by orangerie, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are very sorry about this situation. With kind regards, Dennis (front office)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

A few days in Maastricht.

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything!
Cons: The decor was, here and there, a bit quirky but we actually liked that!
Location: We took the combo bus tour and river tour which was great!
Had a good experience with a stay in the Hotel D'Orangerie this week. The hotel is very well situated in Maastricht with one of the main squares three minutes away by foot. The river Maas is a stone's throw from the hotel with boat trips available at the waterfront. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and well maintained. We were given a voucher fo a free drink when we checked in - nice touch! The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The street the hotel is in is very quiet which is a bonus. We would go there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Very convenient for the centre.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Its position. It's comfortable size. Friendly staff.
Cons: The coffee maker could do with instructions for those not used to espresso machines. It seemed unusual to provide free sachets for only one night.
Location: Near the centre as above. Eat, drink. Walks to the old town walls and the old town, including churches, museums etc. Shopping (chain stores and local)
Restaurants, cafes and shops all within easy walking distance, including the Christmas Market, when applicable. Maastricht is easily walkable for sightseeing as well. Having a car park was almost a necessity, the cost appears high but parking is difficult.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North of England

Pleasant hotel but don't expect to sleep well.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Building, staff, breakfast
Cons: Room needed a mirror in addition to the one in the bathroom.
Location: Very well placed for everything in Maastricht- very close to Market Square.
It's a well run hotel in an old building which retains its charm. The staff are very pleasant and we enjoyed the high quality breakfast in the lovely breakfast room. It's very well placed for exploring all that Maastricht offers. BUT- the street and surrounding area have several "coffee shops" which spill their pothead customers into the street shouting and larking about all through the night up to 5.00 a.m. In addition shady characters lurk outside selling drugs to foreigners. The hotel has no air conditioning and we stayed during a heat wave. We had to open windows to survive so were kept awake all night by the street theatre outside. Best stay at this lovely hotel in winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lytham St Annes

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The hotel was central and walking distance to the city centre. The room was clean, the decoration modern and well adapted to the old building. Great breakfast choice and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alison from Scotland

D"Orangerie not the only fruit

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: It's bed and location
Cons: The door could be sealed to prevent noise and light seeping into the room
Location: In the city centre, everything Maastricht has to offer in easy walking distance
There may be many hotels in Maastricht, but for a three star we were quietly impressed, we stayed in a junior suite for four nights and all I can say is the bed was a little bit of heaven, soft warm and as a result an excellent night"s sleep. The room and facilities were good, lacking only a safe and a door to the bathroom to improve it. The bathroom itself was spacious and the bath excellent, lots of hot water. We did not use other hotel facilities as location why would you as the hotels location is central to restaurants and shopping, would highly recommend the suites of this hotel, one criticism, the doors are not a perfect fit, which allows light and sound into the room an easy fix.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dianne from western australia

location location location

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: as above
tastefully furbished comfortable immaculate room with lovely view. hotel oozes local charm and all staff most efficient and obliging to any requests. dining and sitting room a pleasure to experience and rear courtyard a welcoming quiet retreat for those weary moments. a must for when staying at Maastricht.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronan from Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland

Review

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Great location and good value. Single room very small. Parking limited in area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hotel d' Orangerie, Maastricht, The Netherlands

Posted Mar 29, 2011
I go to Maastricht for The European Art Fair which attracts about 70,000 people to the town. It is the biggest event of the year for the residents. Rates are jacked up several times from normal but the populace put on their best face for the event. At the d'Orangerie they could not have been more helpful and provided taxi service to and from the fair in their own cars. Though other hotels have a free shuttle service this is much more reliable. There is no elevator and you do have the steep Dutch stairs. The rooms are quite small but nicely done. Only breakfast is served but it is a hearty Dutch one. Maastricht being on the border of Belgium and Germany there are different possibilities. If you stay in a Belgium hotel you will just get croissants and coffee so to speak
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Located just off the main Hotspots of Maastricht,

Posted May 20, 2015
Hotel has great service in every department. My room was tastefully decorated and the breakfast had a great choice to choose from, and was fresh every time I had my meal. The staff made excellent hosts, and we're ready to assist 24/7.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Dennis, Hotel Management
Dear Adrian, Thank you for your review an your stay in our lovely hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay. With kind regards, Dennis (Front Office)