Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Past its prime

Posted Mar 10, 2016
The building would need some investment, since it is fairly run down. Paint, carpet, and plumbing were in their heyday many years ago. The sink in the bathroom was clogged and, although it was reported, was not fixed the same or the next day. The additional air conditioning will be handy in the summer, but has been poorly installed. The beds are fairly small, not US King or even European King size as advertised. The owner was not very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel with great staff.

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Dutch character hotel with relaxed, trustworthy staff. Would stay here on my own or in a group.Totally accepting of our son. Didn't bat an eyelid.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Art. Food. Culture.Cinema.Parks.Shopping.Everything.Kind people
We were a family of three, a seventeen year old with down's syndrome. Very clean and comfortable room. Huge bathroom.Lovely lounge in the hotel to sit and have a coffee. Extremely convenient for central Maastricht. A character building with a lift ! The staff will do anything to help and create a relaxed atmosphere. Excellent English spoken. Run by husband and wife who are very genuine and have put their heart and soul into this business. Such a great team and would definitely return. Breakfast was great, we didn't stay for dinner but I hear that the chef is excellent !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

False advertisement

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Location
They lied about having air conditioning in the room. They gave us a room without airconditioning in the attic. Horrible, dirty, dusty, old and ugly hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The staff were nice and the food was cooked well.
Cons: The whole hotel needs a makeover and the whole 'surprise' thing with the food needs to be explained before you sit down to eat. Service could be quick
Location: Location was good. Within walking distance of shops and canal. We didn't have time to do anything else as we were only there overnight.
Parking was restricted, we had to get details from the owners of how to get to the parking area. It was awkward. The hotel has some nice old features but is in desperate need of a clean up and need painting both inside and out. We booked a de luxe king size room. We got a very awkward shaped room with 2 since beds. The beds were clean. The Nespresso machine looked like the water had been in it for a very long time. The bathroom light was on a timer. It wasn't worth asking to be moved as I don't think it would have been an option.The carpets were dirty. Dinner was an experience we will dine out on for a long time, literally. We chose to eat there as we had been driving all day and it was the easy option. It was a Friday which we were told was fish day. There was a large fish market in Maastricht on Friday. When we went to dinner we were told by a waitress that there would be oysters and she didn't know what else. Then the owner came outing told us dinner would be a surprise. Each table seemed to get something different. We didn't get oysters. Our main was a fish baked in salt. The owner smashed the salt for us and attempted to bone the fish. She wasn't successful! Our meal was a mess but tasted ok. The bar was lacking in some drinks that we asked for. Breakfast was a surprise too. It came in 3 stages. The lift only took 2 people and was a bit temperamental when closing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Great hotel, good location and with welcoming staff. The room was such a lovely surprise, very comfy and spotlessly clean. Everything we wanted was provided, a great stay. Parking was nearby at 12 e a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Good position

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Close to town centre with secure parking. Plenty of recommendations for where to go for shopping,bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Charming

Posted Aug 31, 2014
A lovely hotel excellently located for Maastricht's charming city centre......and all that it has to offer the city breaker is a few minutes walk away. The bedroom had the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever slept in...and although yes some of the room's decor was showing signs of wear it felt shabby chic rather than scruffy. Our first floor front facing room had beautiful 3/4 length windows which we could open out and indulge in people watching.....which seems to be the principal occupation in this city from the numerous cafe terraces. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel, great location for sightseeing.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Lovely comfortable hotel, staff couldn't do enough for us. Great position for sightseeing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent family run hotel, close to town centre.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: How keen the owners were to please their guests and to ensure that they enjoyed their stay.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: We were close by the centre of Maastricht and quite near the river. lots to do and see in Maastricht.
New attentive owners keen to excel. Good sized room, comfortable bed and the food by the owners was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very friendly, helpful, comfortable boutique hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Our party of 3 couples stayed at the Pauwenhof in July 2014 for an Andrew Rieu concert. The hosts couldn't have been more friendly and the rooms and location were perfect for our needs. Very central.