Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Wifi not strong,a bit difficult to find the hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The hotel vy old,the hotel difficult to find,wifi not strong
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

OK hotel in a not-so-good neighborhood

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: it was clean.
Cons: n/a
i only stayed there one night. I felt unsafe arriving late.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Very old hotel near Senado Square ("old town")

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location: Near old town and walking distance from sofitel (free shuttle)
Cons: Room quality and cleanliness.
Location: Location: Near old town and walking distance from sofitel (free shuttle)
Booked East Asia Hotel as it had the cheapest rate in close proximity to the old town for the weekend we were visiting Macau. The hotel and building itself is very old - easily 50 years or more. That in itself is not a bad thing as Macau does try to offer historic old charm to complement the glamour and luxury of the strip. However for a hotel, the rooms need to be maintained or updated for comfort - unfortunately the room we had was in bad shape. We expected the room to be basic but the air in the room was moldy, dusty and smelt of cigarette smoke - this despite us leaving the window opened in the day while we were out. The bad air together with the hard bed meant a poor night of sleep. In retrospect topping up the couple hundred HKD (~EUR20) for the next cheapest hotel might have been a better choice. In conclusion, old hotel in a great location and competitive rate but room quality does not meet basic standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service & Accessibility

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Poor staffs attitude Hotel look old, but lucky room is spacious Poor transportation. No free shutter bus transfer from ferry terminals or tourist places
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Great hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Big sized room. Really great location. Hotel staff are pretty rude/unhelpful but that can always be put down to a language barrier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

East Asia hotel, Macau

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Cons: corridor got the smell of cigarettes...
Location: convenient location.
efficient staff and easy to go to anywhere from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sai from Auckland

Smallish but impeccable hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Location and the impeccable cleanliness of the room
Cons: One of the staff was grumpy but the others were quite pleasant. It would have been better if the restaurant was open for dinner as well.
Location: Near all the tourist hot spots - the main square from where the famous historic building and ruins could be accessed just by a 5-minute walk.,
It was a smallish hotel on a smallish side street that could easily have been overlooked despite its having a restaurant that was doing extremely good business, so the locals must know about it. Fortunately, a stone's throw from a casino where the doorman pointed it out to me. Once settled into the impeccably clean room, when you went out to the main street, you realized it was practically opposite the huge Copithorn hotel where I ended up having lunch as the restaurants around mostly did not have a licence. The restaurant hotel served beer and was only open through lunch. For a midnight snack on New Year's Eve, I ate at a noodles place across the street which served excellent food with beer . Very good location within walking distance of all the tourist hotspots which deserved its price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mw from malaysia

good location

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: location. easily found and very near to central.
Cons: I agree with other tourists' comments: the bed IS HARD.
Location: thanks to other tourists' review I found the hotel easily. the green building at the small road opposite Sofitel hotel.
the hotel is located just opposite Sofitel hotel Ponte 16 and within walking distance to major tourist attraction (senado square, ruins of St Paul, etc). the staff had been helpful and friendly. otherwise the room is small and the bed IS HARD. I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind the small room and hard bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mango from Singapore

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: The rooms are newly refurbished and the bed is comfortable.
Cons: The lift is too small and it took quite some time.
Location: There's a nice chinese food place and provision shop nearby, walking distance to senado square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

East Asia Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Good comfortable and clean rooms
Location: Lots of local shops and eating places near by
Good comfortable hotel in quite a central location