Ratings based on 1,078 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Relic from another place, another time

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: spacious rooms, indoor and outdoor pools and gym, buffet breakfast.
Cons: Furnishings, paintwork in need of a major cosmetic overhaul
Location: Coloane Village - Lord Stowe's Bakery for egg tarts, the giant panda pavilion, botanical gardens, temples. Fernando's Portuguese restaurant is nearby
It would not have been surprising to see Dame Maggie Smith arrive in a sedan chair. The architecture is pure colonial and the place has obviously seen better days. The rooms are enormous, clean and comfortable but the floral carpets are worn, the furniture frayed and chipped.We had only booked a room with a garden view but were upgraded to a room on the top floor with an ocean view. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The hotel is out of the way and although there is a shuttle bus, it does not go to Coloane village which is extremely interesting and a visit to the giant panda Pavillon was a highlight of our trip. This is next to a most interesting botanical garden. There are no taxi stands and the roads do not always have footpaths, making walking somewhat hazardous. However, the resort is a great place to relax and we would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Need more tv station options. Shuttle was convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food outlets limited

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Everything was great except the food outlets were limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kumar

One of the best 5 star experience on cab have

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Best hotel with rates provided. You feel like king
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel not close to Casinos

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The Grand Cologne had mixed issues. It was nice and secluded which definitely matched what we wanted after spending 3 days in Hong Kong.
Cons: Overall had mixed feelings about the place. It used to be a Westin so it had a feel of a real luxurious place but was getting run down and not being p
Location: Location was fine. Hotel has enough facilities to do for the family.
Downsides were getting on the shuttle from the ferry. After we got off the ferry, we called the hotel and spoke with the front desk who directed us to stay in the bus pickup area. After waiting for 40 min, we called back again and asked where was the shuttle and they said we missed it despite having 8 adults look out for it. Never the less we were a little disappointed and frustrated that despite calling ahead, we still had transportation issues and ended up taking a taxi. At check in they changed our room to 2 doubles with no issue and had all the family members stay right next to each other. Unfortunately Angela & Stephen's room had a broken heater and had to change rooms. In there new room, the wifi didn't work but at that time they were too tired to change again. Somehow that night, they rented out Angela's room to another group who checked in around 4am. There were pretty noisy and were also smokers. The vents must have been shared between those rooms due to the sound proofing being poor and the second hand smoke was pretty strong. The next day we did speak to the manager and afterwards they really tried to make it up to us. They put us in the penthouse suites and comped the breakfasts free for Aisha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Very good surrounding. Owe some food. Nice service
4 out of 5
by PING SUM

We will come back again.

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Such a quiet place. We've had a relaxing day.
4 out of 5
by Adam

Remote and peaceful, but past its prime

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Our family of 6 chose the Grand Coloane for a weekend getaway from HK, due to its remote location on the southern end of Taipa - not far in distance from the Cotai Strip but worlds away in atmosphere (quiet beach, close to sleepy Coloane Village and hiking trails). The hotel was practically empty, which was nice for us - quick service at the restaurant and noone else using the facilities. It was a cold weekend, so it was nice to be greeted warmly by the reception staff and by a roaring fireplace on the outdoor patio. The guestrooms are large, with big balconies that all look out on to the water, comfortable beds and fine bathrooms. The facilities are decent - the outdoor pool appears to be well kept, but the indoor pool, fitness room and changing rooms could all use a revamp. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate. In all, the hotel is fine, but as other reviewers have noted, it's well past its prime and the age is evident - window tinting peeling, dents and holes in the walls have been patched up but still obvious, and overall just feels tired. Our only big complaint, though, was the transportation issue. Because of its remoteness, it will take time for a taxi to show up (and many taxi drivers don't know it by its current name, but only as the "The Westin"). The hotel offers its own shuttle bus, but it's unreliable - we waited long past the scheduled time to be picked up at the ferry terminal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great except the wifi service was way too slow. Took me more than an hour to upload 3 photos.
4 out of 5
by Lauren

Showing it's age

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice resort, but it's definitely showing it's age. The room was large and comfortable with a nice balcony. The wifi didn't work well even though we had a router in the room. The front desk said to restart the router and it should work better, but that didn't help. The grounds are quite large, but it seemed that everything was blocked off so you couldn't really access most of the paths without going through the grass. There is a nice outdoor patio with a fire, but there was a private event the night we were there so we couldn't enjoy sitting outside. The staff was helpful and there aren't a whole lot of options down in Coloane, but temper your expectations.