Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just right for our family occasion

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The hotel was just what we needed for a family group of 25 for 2 days. The rooms were good and clean and excellent value and the space on the ground floor just what we needed to spend time together.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Very nice over night birthday treat

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Scenic semi rural location
Beautiful building full of traditional character, nice roaring fire in the lobby on arrival. Friendly and assertive staff. Stayed in room 21 which is quite small, very nice comfortable bed and room was very clean. Only negatives were the noise of the toilet waste pipe which seemed to be situated by the side of our room, if you like a room with a view then room 21 isn't for you. Breakfast / dining area very nice, food is very moreish and plentiful. lovely hotel x
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Great Bolt Hole

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: It is friendly and comfortable: we shall return.
Cons: TV reception could be improved.
Location: Rural setting but central for Jodrell Bank; Tatton Park; Knutsford;Macclesfield.
Nice surroundings, helpful staff( owners on site) superb food. Open fires in winter. What more is there?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Staff were accommodating ( chef in particular ) for high allergy food sensitivities .
Cons: Cleanliness / quality of rooms
We were originally placed in a room that felt like a dungeon ... Cold isolated and damp The receptionist kindly moved us closer to our family ( bride and mother ) we were the sisters of the bride . The rooms were average ... And felt slightly disappointed with the level of cleanliness The only rooms that felt clean were the bridal and premier suites The carpets in the stairs and landing were also dirty and needed a vacuum Staff were friendly and pleasant You have a beautiful building my recommendation would be to give it some tlc and hire cleaners
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burton on Trent

Great stay and fab food

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was good but it was the restaurant that was the big surprise. We had an evening meal and for a very reasonable £20 each we experienced some of the best presented and tasty food that we have had in a long time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK

Relaxing and comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Peaceful ambience, quiet room, good dining, friendly staff
Cons: Nothing appears to need urgent attention.
Location: Deep countryside, plenty of opportunities for rambling, local pubs etc. Not far from Macclesfield, 30 minutes from Manchester.
Friendly staff, nice old-fashioned style, lovely position in the Cheshire countryside, good room, attractive dining room, very good food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Un comfy Beds but great hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The actual hotel and location were great the staff were really friendly and helpful. The only problem we had were the beds were rock hard and really uncomfortable and the water in the bathroom run brown for about 20 seconds after that it went clear. I don't know if this was because we were on the lower ground but i would stay again as the hotel is lovely.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor old Hollin Hall

Posted Sep 4, 2016
In dire need of a complete refurbishment inside and out. The local Travel lodge is 5 star in comparison and half the price. Don't be fooled by the hotel pictures on their website.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Sep 2, 2016
My husband and I booked a last minute bank holiday trip and Hollington Hall was a good base for exploring the west side of the peaks. The room was okay. Bathroom was clean albeit a little tired. Tea and coffee facilities were a plenty. But only one pack of biscuits between two. The double bed was two singles pushed together and they were old enough to be sagging in the middle. perfect if you don't like to snuggle, which after your husband eats the one biscuit to himself you might not want to. There was a wedding on every day that we were there but the staff were consistently attentive and helpful, they treated us wonderfully and checking in was efficient and seamless. We didn't eat in the hotel but did discover a wonderful pub in the town and the food there is amazing. We had afternoon tea which was good at £9.99 a head although I was a little saddened that the cool used margarine and not butter. This hotel is a great base for exploring nearby towns and going on walks in the days. I'd happily reuse it if I was going to the area again but wouldn't make a trip just for the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Nice hotel near the Peak District

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Location and breakfast was great
Cons: More vegetarian options on the menu
Location: Its near the peak district
Hotel is popular for weddings so if you stay at a weekend you will probably be sharing with a lot of wedding guests. Can be fun but can be noisy check where your room is.