Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire UK

Hollin Hall Stay

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: It's location and the building with it's scenic views.
Cons: More electrical plugs in the room.
Location: We did not go out of the location.
The staff were very pleasant through out the stay the grounds were also nice, the electrical plugs in the room we stayed in were in a hard position to get to and you had to move Iron and Kettle near the window, could of done with some more plugs in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Nice hotel close to the Peak District Mn

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cosy hotel, nice and clean everywhere. The bar meals were excellent but the main restaurant menu was limited and not good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

very convenient location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: n/a
Location: as above
we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to others. It supplied all our needs , the staff were friendly and efficient. Altogether it was a pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend

Good views.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
On the whole the hotel is quite good. Rooms are tired looking. Wedding going on but staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hull

HOLLIN HALL

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A total makeover of the annex rooms - based on the price we paid the rooms should have been beyond stunning
Excellent location, great views, local walks - but the hotel is really tired and in need of some TLC. Our room was in the 'new' extension' which in itself was a pain to get to, up and down several flights of stairs [a rear entrance would be a good move]. The room, a kingsize 'superior' was anything but. The toilet hadn't been cleaned, with visible 'residue', there was no socket anywhere near the kettle, decorations were below basic and a glance through the window showed that the wooden window ledge was thoroughly rotted. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant so can't comment, but at breakfast the next day [ breakfast is an EXTRA charge by the way] it was clear that the whole place was configured for a wedding party that weekend. Breakfast was completely self-service and we had the impression that non-wedding guests were unwelcome. At reception, I can't fault the young staff who were pleasant and helpful - on the other hand, the older management were offhand, brusque and really need to work on their social skills.
4 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend.

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Room was small, tired and not well maintained. The reception staff were very friendly, but I was told breakfast was not included (even though it was never mentioned at check in) when I was sat at breakfast and was not offered to pay for it separately until I asked. I was also sat at a table that still had the dirty plates on from the last diner whilst the restaurant was empty elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Quiet location with pleasant views.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Relaxed & friendly atmosphere
Cons: Only small things like no details of facilities of hotel in the bedroom. No Kleenex tissues, no soap dish. Nothing important though.
Very relaxed & unpretentious hotel in a quiet location overlooking grazing fields of sheep & cattle with even a few alpacas & emus thown in. Room spacious & comfortable with modern en-suite wet room. We stayed in room no. 1 which we would recommend. The staff are friendly & helpful particularly in the restaurant which has a good ambience. Menu is limited but O.K. especially the prawn/crayfish starter which is the best we have ever tasted.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels