Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hull

HOLLIN HALL

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A total makeover of the annex rooms - based on the price we paid the rooms should have been beyond stunning
Excellent location, great views, local walks - but the hotel is really tired and in need of some TLC. Our room was in the 'new' extension' which in itself was a pain to get to, up and down several flights of stairs [a rear entrance would be a good move]. The room, a kingsize 'superior' was anything but. The toilet hadn't been cleaned, with visible 'residue', there was no socket anywhere near the kettle, decorations were below basic and a glance through the window showed that the wooden window ledge was thoroughly rotted. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant so can't comment, but at breakfast the next day [ breakfast is an EXTRA charge by the way] it was clear that the whole place was configured for a wedding party that weekend. Breakfast was completely self-service and we had the impression that non-wedding guests were unwelcome. At reception, I can't fault the young staff who were pleasant and helpful - on the other hand, the older management were offhand, brusque and really need to work on their social skills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Quiet location with pleasant views.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Relaxed & friendly atmosphere
Cons: Only small things like no details of facilities of hotel in the bedroom. No Kleenex tissues, no soap dish. Nothing important though.
Very relaxed & unpretentious hotel in a quiet location overlooking grazing fields of sheep & cattle with even a few alpacas & emus thown in. Room spacious & comfortable with modern en-suite wet room. We stayed in room no. 1 which we would recommend. The staff are friendly & helpful particularly in the restaurant which has a good ambience. Menu is limited but O.K. especially the prawn/crayfish starter which is the best we have ever tasted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely original house and grounds

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Lovely location for wedding. Lovely buildings and grounds. Great food. Staff worked really hard. It was a warm weekend. The dining room used for wedding ceremony got too hot. Better ventilation or air con is required. Most bedrooms are in annex. At high temperatures all radiators should have been switched off. So the bedrooms were very hot. Ironically when we left after 2 nights the door at end of corridor was opened and it was welcome to feel some fresher air. The room was adequate for a 2 night stay with tea making facities and TV. Needs cosmetic updating.
4 out of 5
by Roland

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Eric

Great place to stay

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Gust a fabulous place you must stay here if you are in the area . The service was great and the food was outstanding will definitely be staying there again when in the area thanks for a great stay .
5 out of 5
by Roland

Very nice

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was very nice indeed, I am staying again this evening in all areas I was pleased with the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Convenient for Macclesfield. I have stayed in this hotel over a period of four years. The new owners have made a lot of improvements.
5 out of 5
by THOMAS

Country House Stay

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was just before my wifes birthday and was a lovely stay. The staf were very helpful and courteous. The room was fairly large and comfortable with brilliant fast hot water and a massive bed. Breakfast was good with a choice of food. The restaurant was lovely and our meal was perfect. The local town was quiet but we enjoyed some fine canal walks. The nearby pub The Bulls Head was run by unfriendly people and we found it best to eat in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wedding stop over

Posted May 8, 2017
Lovely room clean and comfortable. Plenty of room . Lovely bathroom with lots of hot water . Attentive staff in the restaurant good variety at breakfast and food all hot. Would just liked to have different types of eggs as only scrambled
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

second visit in last six months

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Ebookers
Did not use any facilities other than rooms which were excellent.