Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Would recommend

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: It was nice & peaceful during my stay
Cons: No
Location: Country location, easy reach of nearby towns etc
Very nice, comfortable, Staff were very pleasant & attentive food was good, room was comfortable and clean Would recommend this Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to a super village and lovely walks

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: The lovely character of the hotel and its splendid location.
Cons: Rooms could do with a paint.
Location: Close to Maccelsfield canal. Cafe beside the canal has excellent food including gluten free scones. Walks to White Nancy with excellnet views.
A beautiful old hotel ideal for weddings with a splendid stair case. Rooms require a little attention in that they are a little tired. Easy access to the local village and lots of lovely walks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for one night following family wedding nearby. Super friendly, helpful and efficient staff - made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
3 out of 5
by Eva from Danmark

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Fint hotelværelse, men lidt lydt. Rengøringen var ikke helt i top. Fandt underbukser og strømper i skuffen fra tidligere gæst. Venligt personale og ok morgenmadsbuffet. Fin value for money.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Sheffield

Lovely hotel in a great spot

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Visited for a friend's wedding. The reception rooms were lovely, well maintained, clean and grand. The bar was well priced, staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was good, it just needed a little more maintenance. Comfortable bed, clean linen, lovely towels. The location was beautiful, right out in the country surrounded by nature. A superb building.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Croydon

Hospitality near Macclesfield

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
We met up as a group attending the funeral in Macclesfield of a longstanding friend. The hotel has a good lounge which proved to be an excellent place for us to meet up and talk over past times in peace and quiet. The service, with real smiles, from all the staff was excellent. All our needs were catered for with care. The hotel is characterful as would be expected from an old country house. It is tired with a few niggles but the new manager seems to be on to sorting things out. Some rooms have no views so check this out in the booking process.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Burntwood

Weekend away

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room,huge bed......room a bit small. Super bathroom. Staff not overly helpful......we are elsewhere eventually and bar service very slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
restaurant and Bar Staff gave false information about food allergy content which made my wife extreay I'll.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

.

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Good place to stay, would stay again.