Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Great hotel, staff and customer service! Great hotel, staff and customer service! Great hotel, staff and customer service!Great hotel, staff and customer service!Great hotel, staff and customer service!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worse experience ever !!!

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Restaurant was nice, with good service and authentic food. and the decoration on the suite was nice. but that is it! -
We had reserved a suite in this hotel for 2 nights, and right way, we realized we couldn't stay for more than a day. so I called expedia for cancelation of the second night, and the hotel promised a refund of %50 back of the second night. but when we got back from our trip, they didn't keep their word and are saying they are not giving any money back for second night !!! We reserved the Suite, river side view, and the main reason was the beautiful Jacuzzi that it had in the picture facing the river. Jacuzzi wasn't working!! The bathroom smells so bad! worse experience ever !!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, cold room

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: It is visually attractive and river view is nice.
Location: Excellent location for train station and bus to MP.
One night stay, river view room was nice but directly under lobby/restaurant area. Room was quite noisy (banging and sliding chairs) until about 10:00 pm. The room had no heat, but they brought a space heater upon request. Maybe all Aguas Calientes plumbing is bad, but this was the only hotel we stayed that requested toilet paper be put in the trash can (which had a broken lid, ew!) Having hiked a lot that day we were looking for a quick dinner and early bedtime before heading back for another day at MP. The hotel restaurant offered only a 4 course meal for $50 (yes, American $). We ate (one course) elsewhere. The staff was good. Hotel is a bit pricey, would stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, colorado

Overlooking river

Posted Oct 7, 2017
This is a small little city. Hotels are grouped together hanging over streets with busy restaurants and bus stations and trains. This hotel is very near the train station but the room have windows overlooking the beautiful, rushing river. The ambiance was soothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect After Inca Trail

Posted Oct 2, 2017
The staff were phenomenal. Very attentive, responded quickly. The only criticism is the bathroom needs a makeover. Every other part of the hotel was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location. close to train and bus stations

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Staff was very nice and the hotel was perfectly located.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Disaster

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: They could honor their prepaid reservations
Location: Next to train station
Reserved a prepaid room 5 months in advance when we got there they had given our room to someone else. Placed us in a different hotel which according to them was a 5 star hotel. The hotel had no a/c, one window which faced a wall, and the train running outside of this wall. A disaster!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

What a great place to stay!!!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Amazing hotel! Great service, amazing rooms and super convenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from panama

Great location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
After reading terrifying reviews of hotels in aguas calientes, I decided to pay a little more and stay as Casa del Sol. There was a staff member waiting for us once we got off the train to take us to the hotel which is crossing the tracks. The hotel had previously helped me set up transportation to and from Ollantaytambo as well as our tour guide for Machu Picchu. The hotel and room were very clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable. The only complaint I had was that there are is no A/C In the rooms and when we opened the window the room filled up with mosquitoes and bugs. We asked the front desk if they had a fan we could use in order to be able to shut the window and they brought one up quickly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Don't book Machu Picchu guides or tickets through the hotel unless you want to pay a LOT more!!!!