Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious rooms!

Posted Jan 15, 2018
We really enjoyed the spacious room, very attractive decor and architecture. Loved the shower with the rain head.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Beautiful rooms. Nice staff. NO A/C!!!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Beautiful suites.
Cons: Since the hotel doesn't have AC, they HAVE to provide fans for people, and place sheer curtains on the doors.
Location: Machu Picchu. That's the only reason to come to Aguas Calientes.
First the positives. Nice check in staff. The dinner and free drinks were quite nice, and the rooms are BEAUTIFUL. I stay in hotels 200 nights each year, and the suite I had at El Mapi was one of the prettiest I've ever seen. The only reason I would NOT recommend this hotel is that NOWHERE do they tell you that not only do the rooms not have air-conditioning, but they also do not have fans. According to one of the front desk associates, "we do not have AC or fans because we are an eco hotel." OK, so, I'll just leave the glass sliding doors in the bedroom and living room open, and hope for a breeze.....EXCEPT, yes there are screens for the doors, but no sheer curtain. If you want to leave the doors open to get fresh air, the room across the way can see right into your room (and vice versa). How much sense does that make? Also, be warned, there are LOTS of stray dogs in the town, and a few of them decide to have a drawn out battle to the death in the middle of the night. As you're lying in bed sweating and listening to the sounds of a canine battle royal, don't think about putting a cold wash cloth on your forehead; they do not provide washcloths.
5 out of 5
by Dean

Everything great but the front desk.

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was exceptional except for the front desk staff. They were a little difficult to work with. They need to smile more so people feel welcome. Also no on can make change in soles. I took out money from a bank machine and they couldn't give me any smaller bills for tips. Not at the front desk, restaurant or bar. No one had any 20, 10 soles. In a hotel this size you need to get a float for change for the guests. Also we called from our room for the wireless password (it seems to change daily?). And they said we had to come down to the desk to get the password. Why? Our can see we ar guests calling from our room. That's not very good customer service for a 4 Star hotel. Making the guests come down to the desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
This hotel was PERFECTLY located!! Couldn't have been easier. Staff came to train station & helped carry bags to hotel. Sent luggage to station for return trip. Would stay there again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The options in aguas caliente are few, but this place is not a 4 star hotel. The staff is unhelpful an frankly quite rude/dismissive. The food is poor too. Save your money and go with other hotel options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Beautiful and modern hotel. Central to the markets and bus up to Machu Picchu. Food was delicious with great variety. The walls are a bit thin so there is a bit of noise pollution.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Loved it.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Had s wonderful stay. Not long enough! The staff was very accommodating gave us a beautif upgrade .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place to stay.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: I liked the natural beauty with all the wooden sticks on the walls. The restaurant food was delicious.
Cons: Our room location was a bit noisy in the evening.
Location: Good variety of places to eat. I loved the main train going through town. The river and bridges made it very picturesque
Hotel is very modern yet close to all the main street with all the activities of a small town. The train running through the town is a sight to see. It brings you back to a time where cars weren't around. Picture perfect little place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay at El Mapi

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay at El Mapi! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They met us at the train station and walked us to the hotel. The stay also included a free welcome drink, free dinner, and free breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Philip from Las Vegas

Perfect in All Ways

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Loved our stay. We were upgraded without asking for it, and given a beautiful, large suite that was tastefully and imaginatively appointed. We were also given a free dinner at the excellent and upscale restaurant. We were escorted by a bellhop back and forth to the Ollataytambo train. The bathroom is funky and very open (awkward, as I was traveling with my daughter). The hotel is architecturally very interesting and super conveniently located. I have no idea why so many reviews are negative, but perhaps we benefited from visiting during a shoulder season.