Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
hotel condition is excellent . staff is well trained and very nice. the room is large and the bed is very comfortable. the only concern is the location. paved street ended before reaching the hotel so be prepared to get mud in rainy days. the rail road tracks are right by the back of the hotel, so it is very noisy (but the last train passes at 10 PM) so could get a good night sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Destin, FL

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Location: Perfect starting point for Machu Picchu.
Great location, professional staff and an outstanding restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

horrible, room was small humid and noisy

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: We could not sleep , the mold smell the train noise , made our stay unbearable .
Cons: rooms must be remodeled to look like the web pictures , humidity on the room should be treated , bathrooms should be remodeled And block train noise
Location: it is on Machu pichu pueblo,
the pictures on the web are nothing like the real room and bathroom, the room is small , moldy and humid. cheap tile on the floor ( not wood) cheap polyester curtains, bathroom was moldy and outdated. Tv wasn't working and so on. we've paid almost 400 us dollars , definitively not worth it. my room was inca wall view, , I only got all the trash of the hotel , wood debris etc. they forgot to mention that the inca wall is the train rail base, so the train was passing all day and night long about 50 feet from my window. the other hotel rooms o the front face the River/ main street view, meaning that you will get the busses noise passing all day and night to macho pichu ,so either way you will be kept awake all night. this is far from being a mountain retreat , it is a noise place , I do not recommend this hotel at all. It shouldn't have more than 3 stars. my recommendation; stay at sacred valley (Tambo del Inca hotel) , walking distance train station to machu pichu , and return after your visit same day , fantastic hotel and much better price.
2 out of 5
by Ashan

Sumaq stay

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast was amazing and nice service with drinks and cooking lesson. Amentities were very good. However.... the room was very small, with a damp smell and unlike expectations from pictures. Especially as we were staying two nights this was very disappointing and put a downer on the whole stay (especially as was raining and spent some time in the room!).werent asked for feedback, or how our stay was on check out - for such expensive rooms all in all (though excellent restauran) disappointed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl

Nice well located hotel in Aguas Calientes

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Great!
Nice Hotel, great location. The staff was very friendly. The standards of the hotel are above the area but some over price. The rooms are nice but not AC
5 out of 5
by Krishnan

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Every effort was made to take care of us. Food was excellent. Bathroom was slightly dirty and smelly when we first got there but was quickly taken care of as soon as we notified the stafff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beyond amazing, everything was excellent!!! Great location and excellent staff and dining!!
3 out of 5
by Alecia

Excellent service but disappointing room

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
We were disappointed in spite of excellent service and a nice first floor. Our room was hot, and there's no air conditioning "for environmental reasons." We worried about opening the window since there were no screens and we worried about insects and animals. A loud train goes very near the hotel, even very late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL.

It's worth the money.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, rooms, beds, location, views, service.
Cons: Everything was fabulous.
Location: Just down the street from the bus stop to Machu Picchu, yet on the outskirts of small town to be peaceful. Great restaurants nearby!
We stayed one night to accomplish our hike up Wayna(Huayna) Picchu and Machu Picchu. Sumac hotel is beautiful with very friendly and helpful staff. Germain brought our bags to the train station and waited for us on our departure day, allowing us to catch the train after an very eventful day! Their breakfast is the best, they have everything and it's all delicious. Their rooms are spacious and their beds are super comfortable. We didn't face the river which I was initially disappointed; but, then I opened my window to a beautiful wall of flowers. The hotel is built into the mountain. We kept the windows open all night to let the mountain air in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Is not worth the money

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Avoid.
Location: Agua Calientes
This hotel was so annoying. The staff were unhelpful. They wanted to make me wait for an appointment that I made with them, and had an issue because I wanted to cancel because they were late. Rude. And the room was right next to the train tracks. Wanted to change room but was told that either downgrade or deal with it. Never again. Stay anywhere but here.