Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl

Nice well located hotel in Aguas Calientes

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Great!
Nice Hotel, great location. The staff was very friendly. The standards of the hotel are above the area but some over price. The rooms are nice but not AC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beyond amazing, everything was excellent!!! Great location and excellent staff and dining!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL.

It's worth the money.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, rooms, beds, location, views, service.
Cons: Everything was fabulous.
Location: Just down the street from the bus stop to Machu Picchu, yet on the outskirts of small town to be peaceful. Great restaurants nearby!
We stayed one night to accomplish our hike up Wayna(Huayna) Picchu and Machu Picchu. Sumac hotel is beautiful with very friendly and helpful staff. Germain brought our bags to the train station and waited for us on our departure day, allowing us to catch the train after an very eventful day! Their breakfast is the best, they have everything and it's all delicious. Their rooms are spacious and their beds are super comfortable. We didn't face the river which I was initially disappointed; but, then I opened my window to a beautiful wall of flowers. The hotel is built into the mountain. We kept the windows open all night to let the mountain air in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Is not worth the money

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Avoid.
Location: Agua Calientes
This hotel was so annoying. The staff were unhelpful. They wanted to make me wait for an appointment that I made with them, and had an issue because I wanted to cancel because they were late. Rude. And the room was right next to the train tracks. Wanted to change room but was told that either downgrade or deal with it. Never again. Stay anywhere but here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Good location

Posted May 15, 2017
Solid 4 star hotel in village below Machu Picchu. No air conditioner so have to leave windows open for cooling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but not 5 star

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs serious upgrade to match other 5 star facilities
Location: The only reason anyone will stay there is Machu pichuu!
The location is perfect and we had a room with river views. But the facility does not offer the amenities of a 5 star facility, the spa area and jacuzzi were not up to standards, no swimming pool, the ambiance in the dining room was below average. But the staff were helpful and friendly. The food is not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Unionville, CT

Nice view of Machu Picchu

Posted May 2, 2017
From our window we could see Machu Picchu in the distance. The staff was extremely attentive and courteous and the rooms were immaculate. The breakfast (which was included) had a huge variety of food and as soon as your coffee cup was empty, a staff member was at your table asking if you'd like a refill! The hotel was a short (maybe 5 to 10 minute) walk to the center of town. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Judith

Great value in Machu Picchu

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, wonderful friendly staff, amazing food, very clean. Could not have asked for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora, Canada

Great option

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Article
Cons: Go lighter on the cleaner in public spaces. Very strong odor.
Comfortable room with spectacular view or Urubamba River. Friendly staff. Excellent half board - the dinner was first class. Took our bags to train station which was appreciated after a long day at MP
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Wonderful hotel with amazing staff!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The location was fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful and more friendly.
Location: The hotel is a short walk to everything in town and the bus will let you off at the hotel upon your return from Machu Picchu.
We had a great stay at the Sumaq. The staff met us at the train station and took our luggage to the hotel where we were greeted and offered warm towels and complimentary beverages. The staff explained the hotel, showed us the restaurant, bar and to our room. The room was roomy and very clean. We took a complimentary cooking class which was entertaining. Breakfast and dinner were included and the buffet breakfast was a great way to start each day before heading to Machu Picchu. On our last day we checked out before heading to Machu Picchu and the hotel held our luggage. We then came back to the hotel and they allowed us to use a room to shower making for a very pleasant train ride back to Cusco.