Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Very disappointed that there were no twin bed rooms available .... People that were not booked into the hotel were using the pool. At one stage even intoxicated males were using it and their language was quite vulgar.... Pool and surrounds need to be supervised
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Great and friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: great bars and restaurants
Great Service beautiful waking up next to the sea side
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Just needed better cooking utensils and a frying pan...otherwise very good. Staff was better than excellent. ....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Staff rating very high

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff were clean, friendly and efficient. The position
Cons: I loved my stay at the Clarion and I will be returning the next time I am in Mackay.
Location: Mackay Harbour restaurants and bars nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Kerry Scott - Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wongawallan QLD

Beautiful views. Great location. Quiet.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Peace, quiet and tranquillity.
Close to nice bars and restaurants. New, clean, friendly with great views. Not in town which was a bonus for us. Playground across the road if you have kids. Family friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Kerry Scott - Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Overall this is a great place to stay.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Enjoyed being on the marina, had a fabulous view. Loved being close to cafes and great walking paths.
Cons: Lack of care and due diligence in the dining room, regarding the buffet breakfast
Location: Perfect location on the marina, need a car if you want to sight see. We were very happy to relax at the hotel and enjoy the fabulous pool and balcony
We found the staff to be very helpful and accomadating at all times. We (my husband and I another couple) opted to do the buffet continental buffet breakfast for 5 days as it was better value. Staff are a non event at checking the buffet to refill anything. Two mornings we had to ask at (7.00 am) for water in the coffee machine, muesli to be put out, pancake machine was out of mixture, no bread left. Biggest disappointment was to see that a bowl of cream was not on ice, strawberry had mould on it (did show the waitress, said she would tell the chef, but didn't take the plate or offer any apology). Salmon was mixed on a platter of cold meats (salami, ham, chorizo sausage, mixed cheeses). The fridge in which the buffet was laid out was not set at a cold enough temperature or is not working properly. It will only be a matter of time before there is a case of salmonella poisoning, especially as the weather is getting hotter. Don't bother to spend the extra $10 for a full hot breakfast -a very poor offering. The Clarion also offers an expresso machines in your room, but don't provide coffee pods, $2 per pod at the desk! Either provide the pods or get rid of the machine l say. Also no toaster in the apartment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Wotif
Room was very clean and tidy. Well set out room Great view and close to restaurants. Would definitely stay again. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Kerry Scott - Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Five minute drive to town so nice to be on the marina and away from all the city noise
Room was immaculate, daily housekeeping with fresh towels daily, very comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Kerry Scott - Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.