Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing MI

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: cool f you like circa pre 1940's stuff--really complete experience
Location: Nice view of the MAC bridge but way out in island.
You have to pay for a taxi $7/trip/person. That isn't so bad but if you want to spend time downtown, then call for a taxi--we waited nearly 2 hours for the 2plus mile trip near the airport--it is something you need to plan for.
5 out of 5
by Rosy

Excellent

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is great view, super large lawn! Good breakfast and dinner! Especially the dinner, top chef , good taste and reasonable price! We have a very nice stay for one night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I will pass your kind words onto Chef Matt, who takes a lot of pride in his dishes! We look forward to meeting you on a future visit! Kind Regards, Stefanie Congdon General Manager
5 out of 5
by Gary D.

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
The meals in the dining room was very pricey. The food did taste great though
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you had the chance to experience our restaurant! Chef Avram has prepared a delectable menu full of delicious food, including locally farmed pork chops, whitefish and steaks! We do hope you come and see us again soon! Kind Regards, Stefanie Congdon General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice hotel away from downtown

Posted May 24, 2017
Charming old home. The only complaint I would have is the plumbing needs updating in the old mansion. The hot water would come and go and the facet sink was slow to drain. Great food and excellent staff!
3 out of 5
by Suzette

Opening day the issue?

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Nice but probably wouldn't stay again. Reservations for 5 and only 4 of everything. Towels to dishes & silverware & only enough shampoo/conditioner for only 2 people. Front desk not open very long. Gentlemen at the front door were extremely helpful and mannerly. Gal who worked the desk Sat night and first thing Sun morning could be a little more professional and explain the bike rental in more detail. She was quite vague and we were surprised with the hourly charge for the baby burley as 6 of the hours we had it, it was parked in the lot in front of the summer house not being used. This is not a daily charge, people! She simply said this is their policy and waited for payment. Breakfast typical fast food. Ice machine not plugged in or working at the summer house. By chance caught one of the help who went to the mansion for ice for us. Inn located a couple miles back so about 45 minute taxi by horse and about the same to walk. Hiking trails and sunset rock very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Cons: $7 for shuttle way too high. Staff was nice but didn't communicate clearly.
Location: Quite a distance from main street. If the weather was warmer it would've been fine to bike ride or walk the two miles. Think $7 for shuttle was high.
Nice hotel, a distance from Main Street, had to take shuttle/taxi for everything. Room was spacious. Should have had an extra blanket.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely Inn

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful Inn right next to the back 9 of the Jewel Golf Course and The Woods. Good food and drinks. Hiking trails and an amazing view from the grounds. Bikes available for rent, just check the basket and bring a light if you plan to ride after dark. We went for a relaxing adult getaway and it was lovely. There was a wedding there, and this seems like a great place for a wedding. This Inn is not by downtown, but is a short carraige ride away. We like staying off the beaten path and this was perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms are really nice! Quality appointments and comfortable. The grounds are very lovely, although it seems to me that they could have paid a bit more attention to tidy up items (not an issue at all, just a suggestion for modest improvement). Very nice, friendly and accommodating staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Top quality accomodations

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The room.
Cons: The restaurant.
Location: Loads of things to do. Fun shopping, horse drawn carriage tours, history walkabouts, bike rides, FUDGE, etc.
The room was very comfortable and the decor was very good. The staff was very helpful, courteous and friendly. The only two drawbacks were the distance from the down town activities, and the evening meal at the restaurant. Horse drawn shuttle was only scheduled every two hours and taxis were never on time when called. The breakfast was very good, but the evening meals in the restaurant were pretentious, over priced, and laden with salt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Very nice and spacious rooms. I was only there for one night, but the staff was very helpful and professional.