Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stained sheets, stained towels, slider didn't lock

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The water park was fun for my child.
Cons: Almost everything!
Our experience was horrible. Took over 45 minutes to check in. The sheets were wrinkled and stained along with the towels being stained. There was no fitted sheet on the bed either. The slider to our room did not lock and the screen slider was ripped allowing bugs to come in. Also, the fridge door was broken. We checked in late and went right to the water park so we didn't get a good check over of the room until we got back there around 9 pm. Discovering all the issues with the room I called to discuss with a manager. I waited on hold for an hour and 20 minutes and stil no manager. When I called in the morning to finally get a manager he advised I should have called at night (which I did but couldn't get a hold of him). He said they do the best they can do and that's the hotel business. Lastly he said if I was looking to get a discount for my hassles I was not getting any money back for our troubles. He was rude and we will not being going back to this hotel in the future! On a side note when we were checking in the front desk also gave a key to a guest to a room that was already occupied by another family!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Haven, IN

A "Mackinaw City DON'T"

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: It looked beautiful from the outside. That was about it.
Cons: The attitude of the staff. The condition of the hotel.
Location: We had to drive to get to the shops and restaurants. It was too far down at the end of the strip.
We booked, on Expedia, a balcony, beach-front room w/2 queen-size beds. It was built in 2016. The room came w/free waterpark tickets too. When we arrived, they had 2 desk clerks. We waited for almost 20 minutes for 3 guests to finish in front of us. When we checked in, I asked about our balcony. They said they didn't have any. I told them that I "paid for" a balcony room. They didn't seem to care. (Didn't even offer us a partial refund) We went to our room, it wasn't bad. The view was nice. Around 6:00pm, we noticed that the hotel staff was still cleaning rooms. **Hmm...maybe that's why we couldn't get our balcony room. The condition of the hotel was awful. It looked like it was 30 years old, not 1. The elevator was SLOW. Almost every sprinkler was sticking out of the wall, without its cover. It looks like the facility was just "thrown together". The breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired. **To no fault of the hotel, but someone stole our magnet off of our truck. The beach area looked all run-down as well. All the lights were broken, almost every chair was broken. They don't rake the beach at all. It made me feel like I was on the poorest property Michigan City had to offer. I way over-paid. There was a sign on the back of our door saying how much the room was, per night. We had paid a third more for a Thursday night. (I know that we had 2 adults & one kid, but I doubt it should have been that much more). I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Bedsheets not changed... ugh!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Opened up the sofa bed (10:30 pm) to discover stuffies, garbage wrappers, and candy left in the sheets! Not impressed! Called to get sheets changed and no answer... had to go downstairs to speak with someone at the front desk. Not impressed! GM and Asst. Mgr came up to change the bedding as housekeeping or maintenance was offsite at another one of their properties and not available to assist. Room didn't feel clean... feels tough to recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated, dirty understaffed

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Hotel was updated on the outside, which gives the appearance of a new property. It is not. Rooms very old. Pool area with standing water everywhere. Wet towels piling up on chairs and garbage over flowing in cans in pool area and in beach. Towels also piling up on beach? Were left overnight. Long process for check in. Hallways and stairwells were dirty and I saw a toenail in elevator. Breakfast terrible. Wouldn't go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Our 2nd stay here

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We didn't realize the 3rd floor doesn't have a balcony. After my husband explained to the manager having a balcony overlooking the water was one of the main reasons we came back to this hotel, he switched us to a suite on the 2nd floor. He was very pleasant and helpful. The 2nd night we were there we requested an extra blanket but we were told they didn't have any, luckily we had one in the car tho. The maid took all our dirty towels but didnt leave any new ones or refill coffee & towel paper but after calling the office, the brought some right up. The staff was friendly, hotel was clean, view is awesome. Would visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Beautiful view, friendly staff, great value

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Pool area was lots of fun, breakfast was great and the lady that tended to the breakfast was quick with food levels, and cleaning. Excellent waffles
Cons: Rubber drainage mats in the pool entrance Towel dispensing system More lighting in pool area Rules for larger groups using the pool area
Location: Walking distance to downtown attraction area, ferry service and other hotels accessible parking and free beautiful private beach Fun water park
We stayed for 3 nights to be tourists for the weekend. The hotel is in a great location, maybe not walking distance to attractions for all but those that can walk should. Staying Friday, Saturday and Sunday checking out on Monday. The water park area is great, there's a couple of downfalls. It doesn't open until noon on the weekend and during the week only opens at 4pm. So when check out is 11, you don't get any pool time on check out day during the week. Who's going to hang around for hours waiting for it to open up? No one. In the pool entrance there are just bare cement floors, which are cold and wet. Some rubber drainage mats would be great. There are plenty of towels in the pool area but no organization to get them. They are just piled in a bin, then people throw their dirty towels on top, yuck. The one night we were there, there was a school group that overrun the pool. There were over 50 people in the lazy river, most of which were without supervision, running and pushing other guests, other students throughout the river. The lifeguards did not have control over the pool and there should have been base rules in place for the school group on top of the regular pool rules. 10 in the hot tub at a time, nope, about 25 students, jumping and splashing. This was a great hotel, great staff. Just ask if there's a group in I guess when booking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Clemens, MI

Nice hotel, uncomfortable beds

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The pool area was great.
Cons: The mattresses.
Location: Mackinac Island and Soo Locks were awesome.
Always call to double check your reservation if booked online. I was in the system but not on 'their list'. The employees were very nice and accommodating. The hot breakfast waffles were great but the eggs were aweful. The room was clean but the mattresses were flat and hard add a rock.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for our short trip

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
We had a good stay, just 2 nights. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but we did do the kiddie part of the water park with my little 2 ones and they had fun (though we did not have the spray parts on as they are too small to enjoy that). I think older kids would really enjoy it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
We were able to get a first floor king room with Jacuzzi. It was end of September so we got this upgrade for only $118 per night. It was right on beach with bridge view. It was relaxing and beautiful view. We really enjoyed our stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and family friendly

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Life guards working by the water slides were great! They were very attentive to all the guest using the slides. We enjoyed the hotel, staff was very courteous and professional. Our room was clean and we loved listening to the waves roll in. Our kids loved the water park, we would definitely stay again.