Ratings based on 522 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

No heat in room

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The room was decent; however, on a cold, rainy, windy October night we had no heat. When the office was notified the next morning all they did was apologies, say they were sorry. Since we arrived late, the office was shut down so we weren't able to notify them until morning, but given they had no vacancy another room wasn't an option anyways. I was a little surprised there wasn't even a small comp of any sort. To add to our frustration by 9-930 all the food for the breakfast was gone, so the included breakfast wasn't an option for the family either (2 rooms rented). The hotel isn't the worse we've stayed at, but with a few tweaks the stay would have been much more memorable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Helen, MI

Walking distance to all shops

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The price and location
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Walking distance to all shops
Nice hotel, walking distance to all shops. The rooms are nothing special but comfortable and clean. They could use some updating. The desk staff was polite and efficient. We only used the hot tub and not the pool but it was warm and clean but a walk outside to get to it. All and all an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel for a short stay

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pluses are only hotel on the block where shops and restaurants are located. Walking distance to ferry to Mackinaw Island. I was about 2 hrs early to check in and they gave me a room without my having to wait until check in time. Room and breakfast room very clean. Discount tickets to the ferry. Price. Minuses are limited complementary breakfast. Cereal, bagels, doughnut holes, coffee and orange juice. One choice of milk for cereal. Would have liked to have seen another choice of 2%. No refrigerator in room. Had a coffee pot with regular coffee. Would have liked to seen decaf also. Overall I enjoyed the hotel for my 2 night stay and would select again for a short stay. For longer stays I would prefer a hotel with more in room amenities and more complementary breakfast choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Excellent value, location, and lodging

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: See notes above about my experience.
Cons: nothing
Location: Easy access to restaurants/shops, Mackinac bridge, Old Mackinac Point and McGulpin Point lighthouses, Colonial Michilimackinac historic site, parks
I was pleasantly surprised to find that the lodging was only about a mile from my primary destination: the wharf where the Ugly Annie history/bridge tour boat departs (as well as being the same wharf where the Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum is found). Moreover, it is near many other attractions like the Mackinac Bridge, lighthouses, museums, parks. The room was very ample, comfortable, clean and well-appointed (aside from the 2 queen beds - each with good mattresses and 4 cushy pillows, extra blankets in a zippered bag in the closet, iron/ironing board, coffee maker, table +2 arm chairs, individual climate control, full wall width sink surround offering plenty of space for personal toiletries, one of the first places I've stayed in with a truly slip-free tub bottom, clock-radio-alarm). The receptionist was friendly and the breakfast beyond expectations (for what was billed as a "continental" breakfast) since it even included hard-boiled eggs, hot biscuits, and sausage gravy. Of special note was the very attractive rear patio off of the breakfast room where one could opt to sit (rather than indoors). For the price (one of the least expensive in the area), it was excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alto, MI

I won't go anywhere else.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, rooms, pool, hot tub, everything.
Cons: The breakfast was limited but it could be because it was the end of the season.
Location: Great location! 7 min. to Mill Creek Discovery Park,1 hr to Soo Locks, 1 hr to Taquamenon Falls, 1.5 hrs to Whitefish Pt, 1.5 hr to Oswalds Bear Ranch
We have stayed in this hotel four times and every time, the rooms were great, the staff was great and it's in a perfect location. This hotel will always be our hoe away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice clean motel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Nice motel but when full, parking near your room may not work. If your going to Mackinac Island or leaving early, beware, their breakfast doesn't start until 8am.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Lyon Michigan

Very stingy when it comes to towels

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Stayed there for 2 nights. Was in town to do the Bridge Walk on Labor Day. The first night the room price was $332 plus fees. The 2nd night the room price was $53 plus fees. Guess that's what happens when you book on the busiest night of the year. In my opinion the room was maybe a $90-100 room but it was Labor Day so I'm not complaining about price. Room was clean with only 2 towels in the bathroom. Unusual to have only 2 towels but tolerable I suppose. With 2 guests that is cutting it quite close. We did the Bridge Walk quite early in the morning before showering and when we returned about 11:30 AM the room had already been cleaned with no additional towels given. Called the front desk to explain the we needed 2 additional towels since we were about to shower after the walk with the original towels AND we needed 2 more to shower again the next morning. Seemed reasonable to me. Had the hardest time trying to explain that complicated math to the front desk fellow. He did not seem to grasp that we were going to use the 2 original towels for the current day shower and needed 2 more for tomorrow's shower. I even went down to the desk to explain in person but to no avail. Result was they dropped off just one additional towel. I suppose it's not a big thing but I'll likely never stay there again. Towels are somewhat important to the whole experience and I shouldn't have to bring my own.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great location and Hotel rooms were OK but breakfast wasn't good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, MI

Nice place, great location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The staff was great, room was clean, the location couldn't be much better to hit all the shops. Our room had no microwave or fridge, which we found odd even budget motels have them anymore. They don't ever check email, emailed them months ago, from the website, still waiting. That is my biggest negative. We enjoyed our stay, and would return, we'd just call about a fridge and microwave first.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

...There Were Better Choices...

Posted Aug 29, 2017
It was our first time vacationing at Mackinaw City. If you want a more comfortable experience choose another motel. Court Plaza is old, the rooms are very small, with no refrigerator, and limited wall outlets. We had two rooms and all of us were very disappointed with the conditions of our rooms. Save your money and find a better motel. When we arrived and seen our rooms, I was ready to leave and find another place. But the motel had it in writing NO REFUNDS. Even with that I was ready to leave and pay for another place, and count my experience as a lesson learned. The staff was excellent, but the rooms are old and crappy.