Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Over rated Would not stay again

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: pillows were comfortable
Cons: promo ads for seasonal period
Location: nice location close to shopping and Mackinaw Bridge and fort
This hotel is not what is states to be in its ads. The hotel has nice rooms, but the hotel overall has a constant smell of being dampness. The 24 ft breakfast area is a joke. Its 24ft of scattered food not in convenient places such as creamer is on the other counter from the coffee, butter is not where the bread is. This breakfast buffet is nothing more than a normal continental breakfast (with less choices). The waterpark stated it was open until 10pm on everything but when we changed and went to pool is was dark and closed walked back up to room, called front desk and she told us the seasonal hours were until 9pm--not stated anywhere and this is why we booked the room. Also the pool does not open again until 12:00pm so that you can't use it once you check out at 10am. Note: Econolodge cabins next door are also allowed to use all facilities including the breakfast buffet. We were located on the 4th floor and elevators only go to the 3rd floor---supposedly this was the only room available---but whole first floor was vacant was it because we booked through Expedia?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muskegon, Mi

Nasty

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: not much of anything
Cons: they need better house keepers, or some one should check there house keepers work and make sure there doing there Job,
Location: not much near by unless you want to walk a few miles to the shops
This Motel was vary dirty, you could see the layers of dust every where, food in fridge from the people before us, papers under bed, I would never stay there again, been trying to get ahold of the manager but he has never called me back, I expect a lot more from a room paying 262.00 dollars a night. The water park/pool/hot tub was so hot in there and the strong smell of chlorine that you couldn't enjoy it nor stay in there long. If the manager reads this, I would like a call back please Ben
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel ok

Posted Sep 26, 2017
It was an ok hotel, there was nothing fancy about it. Breakfast was decent, pool/water park is connected to hotel and it's unbearably hot and loud in there. U can easily walk right across street to star line ferry which was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Michigan

Nice Room

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Lobby is super clean and staff is very friendly. The room was better than expected. Nice little kitchen area, pull out sofa and very clean. However the rest of the hotel not so much, the breakfast area is big and accommodating however it's just your standard hotel breakfast. The fitness room is literally a bike, treadmill and bowflex. Working in the service industry I pay attention to detail and when u start looking close this place is just generally dirty, dust and cob webs everywhere except lobby, the water park and pool area has mold everywhere it looks as if it hasn't been cleaned since it opened. Don't expect much for the "waterpark" I wouldn't pay more that $80 for a room here and wouldn't stay longer than 2 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the ferry. near shops food etc.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Room clean. But common areas needed attention. Things like windows cleaned. Etc... Breakfast same every day and nothing to right home about.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Disapointing experience with this hotel given tou

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Unfriendly and unaccommodating staff; nice location however; the pool is also nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Staff was friendly but the bathoom was not clean. Location was the best thing about the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful hotel, awful staff

Posted Sep 10, 2017
It was a terrible experience in an eh hotel. They say you can cancel your reservation for free, so after finding a better price for a better hotel on trivago we tried to follow the link to do so which then tells you that you'll be charged the price of the room PLUS a cancellation fee! So it'd be more expensive to not stay at the hotel than to stay. So we called to ask if that was incorrect and they said they'd call us back. They never called back, but they did cancel or reservation without telling us. We called to confirm our reservation, and someone reinstated our reservation. Then the hotel charged us for our room twice, and we had to call to have them reverse one of them. They did not even apologize or anything. Incredibly rude staff and not even a great hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs cleaning

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Dust, dead bugs and spider webs all over the room and hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very nice, comfortable room. Water park small and crowded, best for smaller children.