Ratings based on 735 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watersmeet, MI

A Wonderful Place to See the Sunrise

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: This hotel was right next to the ferry parking lot and the beach. It was perfect, as was all of Mackinaw City, for a sunrise stroll.
Cons: The staff could have paid attention to cleaning updating the rooms
Location: The location was behind the ferry parking lot. Across the road was the beginning of the shopping district.
Though my room was perpendicular to the beach, it was still visible from my room. The bedding was clean, as was the shower, bath, and sink. The room was was quite comfortable for a single person traveling alone, but it was a bit small. The toilet and bath area were separated from the rest of the room by a wall; however there was no door. The windows were filthy and the front window was difficult to open. The window in the bathroom did not open at all and there was no fan. There was also a large stain on the carpet between the beds. Breakfast was as expected-eggs, sausage patties, pancakes, fruit, oatmeal, bagels, etc. The breakfast hostess kept the bar stocked, but did not walk the tables offering coffee. She stayed out of sight, yet displayed the 'tip jar' front and center on the counter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lapeer, MI

Room Cleanliness and Outdated

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Very knowledgeable about places in town.
Cons: Motel rooms need to be updated. This room looked about 30 years old(80's décor). Television was very small. Refrigerator outdated--small.
Location: Everything to do was a ways from the motel. Had to drive to get to town to shop or site see. Shops in town were great. Restaurants were very good
Bathroom was very dirty. No glasses to use for drinking. The ice bucket was filthy and cracked. Ice machine was broken. Jacuzzi tub was filthy and old----needs to be replaced. Big gap at the bottom of the motel room door and the door was very hard to open and close. Pop machines outdated and the ice machine looked like it hasn't worked in 20 years. Small parking lot area. Television was very small and outdated. Breakfast ended at 10 am on a Sunday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muskegon, MI

Watch out

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location. The boat to the island was next door. Staff sold us tickets for the boat which was convenient.
Cons: More staff
Location: Everything is close
Room 154 is next to the laundry and you hear the washer and dryer going all night. TV did not work right away and had to be reprogrammed. One person in lobby trying to manage everything. Fairly clean and the beds were comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago area

Will never stay here AGAIN

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Where do I start. The website was labeled as updated rooms hahaha what a joke the only thing in our room that was somewhat newer was the TV. The staff when I checked in had a we don't care attitude and there were 2 people working on schedules right at the counter and other maintenance people standing around no one even greated me when I walked in. got up to the room on the top floor which I'm surprised we never fell through the stairs they we so bad. And it was outdated and all the trim was falling off the walls so I couldn't relax cause I was worried about my kid hurting himself the entire time. It just felt dirty in there I loved finding someone else's dirty sock next to the bed. My bed was completely broken it was at a angle. We went down to the pool which you have to walk outside for we didn't bring towels cause all hotels have towels for you to use nope not this one there was a huge bin of used towels but no new ones. It stayed like that both nights never one new towel to use. Don't even get me started on the continental breakfast what a joke I'm surprised the health inspector let's that fly but by the time they walk through the hotel they probably just want to leave so they let it slip. I have also never been to a hotel where they have tip envelopes and tip containers everywhere I esp loved the used tip envelope in my room. the only good thing about this hotel was you can walk right out the back and get on the boat to the island. DON'T STAY HERE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Close to island ferry

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Room needs to be updated. Stairs to upper level safe, but in terrible cosmetic condition. Refridgerator was unplugged, so not ready for use. Television was on zoom picture with no controller to correct it, so for example we could not see Weather Channel's local foecast scrolling at the bottom where they usually are shown. No microwave oven, but was able to use the front desk area's one for popcorn bag: inconvenient. Nice view of Lake Huron, good location to ferry, downtown stores and restaurants - walking distance. This is a cheaper hotel, and since the owner owns most of them in town, this is one he neglects to invest in updates as he should - busy with others he considers more important to his bottom line?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good Location, hotel in poor shape

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Check in was smooth, the Hotel and rooms are dated, outdoor stairs seem like they are about to fall apart, bed was not comfortable, free continental breakfast was pretty good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of other options in this area use one

Posted Sep 11, 2017
It started at check in..the receptionist seemed as though she could care less about being at work. We got to our room, yuck!! The room was really dingy. The lighting was really dark. There was a spider with a huge web in the bathroom. This begs a question about standards of cleanliness at this hotel. Also, the bathtub leaked all night. I would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Should be lake view hotel But it's park view It's nice to be close to ferry but the star line ferry park between the hotel and the lake
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montpelier, OH

Close to Star Line ferry to the island.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Rooms were comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are very small and cramped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

location great. beach nice, breakfast very nice.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
it was good, breakfast good location great. beach was nice.