Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Comfortable hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The rooms were large and comfortable. Our grandkids loved the beach and the pool.
Cons: the tv did not "work" at first. It went on but had no picture and required an adjustment with a button on side with every time it was turned on.
Location: The ferries to Mackinac Island are near. The bridge view park is lovely and a great place to spend some time.
We enjoyed our two nights at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was sufficient, the staff was courteous and helpful. We had an issue with the television and maintenance responded immediately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good location in Mackinaw City

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Distance to ferries.
Cons: The breakfast was bad. At least include some fresh fruit and switch out the frosted flakes for something more healthy.
This is a bit of a step up from a motor lodge -- but it's a decent place to stay if you can't find a hotel on the island and you're not planning to hang out at the hotel for any length of time. The beach was so-so, the pool was OK, but the breakfast was pretty bad (canned fruit, nothing fresh, etc.).The benefit to Hamilton Inn is that it's within walking distance to everything: the ferries, the Mackinaw Crossings and some restaurants/shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enroute to the Island

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Adjacent to Star Lines, and shuttle to Scheplers.
Location: Downtown Mackinaw City is easily a walk away. Restaurants? Nona-Lisa was excellent, and and Dixie Saloon are always good.
I booked, via Expedia, at Hamilton Suites. Checkin was a breeze, no problems splitting the charges (I booked the room, but we paid separate). If you book, ask for an oceanside room. Our 'parking lot' view wasn't bad at all, but the water would have been better. We were also pleased with the breakfast - more than we anticipated, but what was best was the size of the breakfast area. The Hamilton is a larger-size hotel, but the breakfast area was easily accommodating for all the guests. They had 'quiet hours" after 10, but the kids were around and noisy until then. We had one young lady who had a meltdown about "don't wanna do that" about 11, but then it got quiet. Rooms were good - ours had a pass through door, but the layout worked well. All-round good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel, right on the beach.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. We left clothes hanging and they boxed them up and posted them to us. Only charged us for the postal costs. Really want to thank them.
Cons: A few more luggage trolleys would be helpful
Location: Right on the beach. Close to shopping and restaurants.
We only stayed one night and found it comfortable and within walking distance of the main tourist area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid Michigan

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This was a very nice hotel. The breakfast was very good for the whole family. Location is wonderful and within walking distance of most places. Only issue was the elevator was broke down, but this is to no fault of the hotel. It looked as though someone had dropped cereal into the door and it could not shut properly. The front desk staff as well as the house cleaning staff were exceptional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room smells like mildew.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This was my 3rd time visiting Mackinac. This was the worst hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Very clean. Deluxe room was great. Our stay was enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NW Ohio

Nice view but just "ok" considering the price.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: View of the lake.
Cons: Room cleanliness.
Location: Day trip to Mackinac Island was fun.
Had a nice view of the lake but hotel conditions was disappointing. Many of the towels had stains on them and it took a very long time for them to refresh the room. Had to contact the desk late afternoon to request housekeeping to clean the room so we could get ready for the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saginaw, MI

Enjoyed the July 4th fireworks

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Close parking to the door, large breakfast room, excellent breakfast choices.
Cons: Housekeeping was slow in the preparation of the room, although the front desk should have double confirmed that rooms were ready for occupancy.
Location: Mackinac City is the gateway to Mackinac Island. Plenty of historical sites, waterparks, downtown shops, and Michigan's natural beauty.
Nice hotel in Mackinaw City. We were very pleased with our rooms and especially delighted with our second floor location, directly in-line with the Mackinaw City fireworks! Very well located to the Mackinaw Island ferries and downtown Mackinaw City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean, good location.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Overall a pleasant experience, no problems. Convenient location, parking, amenities. Clean, nice decor, walking distance from most attractions, restaurants, shopping, and ferry.