Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEWARK OH

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly and clean!
CLEAN AND FRIENDLY! QUIET AND COMFORTABLE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Clean and affordable

Posted Nov 3, 2017
We went on the off season (late Oct) and got a room with two queen beds for an excellent price. Staff was friendly, check-in was easy, room was clean. Breakfast was complementary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sudbury, Ontario

This Hotel is very Quiet during the Autumn

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Close to everything in MC
Cons: A new hot tub?
Location: Many restaurants in town. Our favourites were Darrows and the Pizza Palace. Things are pretty quiet in MC after Halloween.
We had an enjoyable stay at the Thunderbird. Short drive to everything in Mackinaw. Excellent breakfast. Very reasonable Fall rates. Clean quiet room with pool closeby. Hope to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Rooms are cheap big jacuzzi tubs are a great plus af night. Beds are big and comfy but prepare to get breakfast the next morning since there's not much to it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Good 2 star hotel .. Very basic but clean .. Friendly staff .,...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herndon, VA

Disappointing Hotel Based on Expedia Rating

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Bathroom cleanliness. A good chlorine bleach spray in and around the toilet ares couldn;t hurt.
Hotel staff were generally pleasant. The bathtub drain was slow, they did try to fix it, but it was still slow. The bathroom had a very strong smell of urine. We would up checking out at 4:00 AM since my wife and I did not sleep well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location to island.
Location: Great place to stay to day trip to island and other area attractions.
Great location, close to everything. The island shuttle will pick you up in the parking lot. while a little older very well kept and great staff. Very nice pool and breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Naomi

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
The room was good for the price. What I did not like was housekeeping smoking outside our room as they waited for us to checkout. The cigarette smoke came into our rooms. We also felt uncomfortable with housekeeping standing and acting like we needed to leave although we still had a couple hours before check out time. The breakfast was fine and the breakfast room was nice. The pool was warm and enjoyable. The area was quite and we felt safe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Unpleasant experience.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: It was located in Mackinac City.
Cons: Staff, beds, heater.
Location: If you are fit you may walk into town.
Checking in was quick, getting into the room was not. The room looked to have been broken into. The screen closest to the door had been pushed in from the outside and was open. After trying to open the door we found the key not to work. We jiggled the door knob and tried lifting up and down on the handle, still would not open. We went back to the office and told the gentleman about the screen being pushed in and the key not working and I asked to change rooms. He told me that he forgot to tell me the door knob needs to be lifted to work in that room. I repeated my request for a different room restating the problem with the screen and the possibility of bugs as it was open. He got angry but finally provided me with a different room. The new room was fairly clean but pretty worn out and the beds were terrible, sagging badly in the middle.The heater blew out cool air, pretty chilly room. After literally staying in dozens of hotels this year this is my first unpleasant review, I am very easy to please. Lots of hotel choices in this resort town, I would consider checking elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels