Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Close to amenities, docks, downtown

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Room in need of cleaning. Very dusty. Rundown and dated. Wallpaper badly peeling in bathroom. Window opens but no screen. No glass on balcony door. Balcony furniture filthy. One bed felt sandy, like the bedding had not been changed. Good view of bridge and Mackinac Island.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a pleasant experience

Posted Oct 8, 2017
TV didn't work. The was a gap between door and door frame, no light in staircase, poorly lit parking lot, if I hadn't asked about breakfast we would not have received coupon for our free breakfast, no clock in room, phone didn't work. Just a bad experience. You get what you pay for!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

crap

Posted Sep 30, 2017
said had breakfast,hbo,internet but had only internet. when i checked out early at 630am i had to drive down the street to drop of key.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenora, Ontario

Love it here!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Great place to relax on the beach! Watch sunrise!! Explore from!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Needs Maintenance and Outside Lighting.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The room was clean. The beds were cheap but comfortable. The view of the Bridge and Mackinac Island were Beautiful.
Cons: Clean exterior. Update interior lighting. AD lighting to the outside. Repair & clean balcony. Ad security locks. Replace Dirty & Torn Drapes.
Location: The location good. Need a car to get to restaurants etc. The view was wonderful. We took the Ugly Anne History Tour at 5:00. Excellent.
It was a shock to see the condition of the exterior. Needs Maintenance. My main concern was the lack of lighting in the parking area. No light by the outside of the door. The entrance and all the other units by mine were ALL DARK. No security locks on the inside of the doors. Two doors, one to the parking lot and one to the balcony. The balcony's ALL needed to be maintained and cleaned. The beach front and all of the grounds needed to be cleaned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel deserves no stars

Posted Sep 15, 2017
This hotel deserves no stars. The room was filthy and in dire need of repairs. Management should really consider investing in the upkeep of this hotel and make rooms pleasant and presentable for guests. Would not recommend this hotel at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockford, MI

Room was Lacking

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Lake View & view of the bridge at night was nice and kids loved the "Indoor Water Park". Could see the bridge and Mackinac Island from the room.
Cons: Cleanliness, repairs and updating.
Location: About 1.5 miles south of downtown for shopping, and about 1/2 miles South of the Star Line Ferry Dock.
Half the outlets did not work, so we couldn't turn on the lights by the bed, only 1 floor light and the lights in the bathroom & entry way worked. No place to really plug in phones unless you unplugged the light or alarm clock. No hair dryer in the room, the fridge that barely got cold. Spider webs all around the floor and rust all along the metal in the drop ceiling in the bathroom. Also, breakfast was at the hotel next door, not easy access especially in bad weather. Indoor Water Park was 2 hotels away. Took a couple of tries to get the sliding glass door to relock, definitely looked like it had been pried open from the outside in the past. Tiny deck could have used stairs for easier access to the lake/water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Older beachside motel next to newer options

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We went to Mackinaw City as an impromptu family vacation and booked online, site unseen. We were expecting a hotel from the photos, and found we were in a quaint (older) roadside motel, sandwiched between two newer hotels. We were forced to prepay online, so we made do with the accommodations. The advertised free breakfast and water park were both at the adjoining hotels. The staff did give us Chamber coupons for downtown restaurants and entertainment, but it small concession for a dark, older room that was slightly musty when we entered. It is on the beach (with was slightly dirty with cigarette butts and trash), and has a small indoor pool and hot tub of its own. It was walking distance from the Mackinaw Island Ferry Dock 1. Overall, it was ok, if you are planning on site seeing and not staying hold up in the motel room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sterling hts, MI

Good location on the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice beach right in the water. Hotel in need of updating. Room served the purpose of somewhere to sleep. Had free breakfast but had to walk down to another hotel to get it. Also had the use of a water park but that was down the street at another hotel too. I guess it was cheaper to stay at this hotel and we got to use the amenities of the more expensive hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from webberville mi

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: beach
Cons: modernize it
Location: the location was good not to far from down town mackinaw city
the room was clean, the beach was good. advertised a continental breakfast and the only thing they had was coffee. very old, broken shades on windows.