Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
Luxurious room with private veranda to watch antelope, ostrich and monkeys wandering through grounds. Plentiful game in reserve. Note no TV, fridge or air con in room. Lunchtime food in main restaurant very disappointing but excellent entertainment from hippo pool. Great evening braai and set menu at separate lodge.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from København

Very relaxing

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent lodge with very comfortable rooms and a great place to relax.
5 out of 5
by Kyle

Must stay

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
This place was amazing!! The food is delicious!!
1 out of 5
by DEBRA from Melbourne

Smelly bedding with very slow service at meals

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the lodge, which was several kilometres from reception, in the bush. Only one other couple were staying there. No security was provided for us overnight and we felt very unsafe and vulnerable. The swimming pool was dirty and full of particles and mould. Our bed stunk strongly of body odour and the smell was so bad that it kept us awake. We don't think the bedding was clean or fresh. The toilet smelled of stale urine. At breakfast and dinner the service was extremely slow between courses. The sausage served at breakfast was undercooked inside. We couldn't wait to leave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A pleasant 2 days break on a long drive

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Good food, pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent accommodation at a reasonable price
Location: The location is ideal for a game reserve - approx 17 mile out of town. I did some of the drives but then moved on
I chose Mpongo for a break whilst driving south from Durban to Cape Town. An excellent choice for me - moreover because there were few other guests and I could please myself. Still seemed to be quite a lot of work going on around the cpmplex.
4 out of 5
by Rodrick from Johannesburg

Great getaway for the family.

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived and at checkin I didn't quite like the room they had prepared for us at and the Huberta Lodge. After a lengthy discussion with management we finally reached an agreement, I paid a little extra and was upgraded to the nicer River Lodge. Room Tip: River Lodge is the one you see in most of the picture gallery and was worth the extra charge. Thomas our fantastic host and guide drove us to our new rooms were Portia settled us in and made us feel at home. Our new room was what I had initially expected, it had plenty of room and was very comfortable. We had a little tour of River Lodge which sits in a valley with luscious surroundings and wildlife. We had some Nyala grazing outside by our patio. The swimming pool did need some attention it took two days for them to get it into a condition that we could swim. All in all we had a memorable great stay. The highlight was dinning at the waterhole, the food was always delicious thanks to our chef Aubrey. Will certainly pay another visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

animals outside your window

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was only one night but was still fantastic. On Arrival we arrived at our room to find hippos outside the living room window as well as a few other animals throughout the day. As we were in the house we were picked up and driven down to the lodge for our evening meal. We would highly recommend the early morning bush walk the guides were fantastic and very knowledgeable we were even able to get quite close to a family of giraffes. This is definitely somewhere we would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stay was not good

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Not good due to condition of bathroom
5 out of 5
by Michael from Offenburg

sehr schöne Ünterkunft in der Natur vor allem für

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
- sehr schöne Ünterkunft in der Natur - wir hatten ein Eckzimmer, welches sehr groß war und 2 Terassen hatte - der Service war sehr gut - uns wurde extra wegen unserer kleinen Tochter ein extra Game drive organisiert - sehr schön für Kinder
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our not so nice stay at Mpongo Game Reserve

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
We received a very warm welcome from Mr Vermuelen and he provide exceptional concierge services. Mr Vermeulen went out of his way to ensure that we were well taken care of on arrival. stones. The guest rooms are comfortable but the bathroom need renovation. The bathroom gadgets are rusted. The shower should be changed. The wardrobes are damp. Maybe the owner should invest in a proper ply room to keep the kids occupied taking into account the Mpongo is about 35km from East London. The owner to invest in another swimming pool that can be located closer to the Hubert Lodge. The family had to travel to the five star lodge (as it is called) for the kids to swim. I must say that we did not feel welcome at the swimming pool that is located at the five star lodge considering the attitude of the gentleman that was there. One could actually sense subtle racism especially from Justin who was at the restaurant. The Hubert restaurant is well located and allows you to view the hippo whilst enjoying you breakfast. However the breakfast menu is very limited and lacks variety. On the day of departure, breakfast was not ready at 8am and yet we had been told that breakfast starts at 7am. I would not advise any of our black family or friends to visit Mpongo because of our experience, but otherwise change of attitude from the white employees will go a long way in ensuring that people enjoy their stay at Mpongo.