Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

In need of upgrades.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
This hotel is in need of upgrades. It is pet friendly and there were dogs everywhere with their owner(of course). The hallway smelled with a strong smell of tobacco, even in my non-smoking room. This hotel is owned and operated by a family. They was very professional and friendly however the rooms did/do need a complete make-over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and tired

Posted Jan 5, 2015
This hotel is about 5 miles east of I-75. Walmart and many restaurants and businesses in the area.The gentleman at check-in was welcoming and efficient. The room and property are old and need a remodel. Carpet needs replaced first. Breakfast was a waffle maker, cereal, and packaged cinnamon rolls. I wouldn't stay here with family but as I was a single traveler I just needed a bed and shower for a few hours. It served it's purpose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: parking
very dissatisfied--I was informed that I could park my 18-wheeler truck on site but when I got there, I was told to park down the street and across the street--had to walk to motel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, Va

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Like last year, no complaints. My room was clean, everyone was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money!!!!!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: A lot. Very old. In need of updating. The staff needs to learn hospitality.
We booked the hotel bc of the price. It's true you get what you pay for. Checking in the guy at the counter was very nice and helpful at first. I requested a room on the bottom floor because we have a 4 month old and we have several things for her including a pack n play she sleeps while we travel. I was told they were all taken even tho it was 8 pm and there were only 3 other cars in the lot with that being said we got a room in the 3rd floor and there was no elevator and the hall way felt like a sauna. Letting that go we get to the room where we just want to relax for the night, no such luck, we get in the room and find our room not clean at all. A used Kleenex in the floor bed with visible stains and hair in the floor that looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in days. Now when waking up to get the free hot breakfast they describe. Breakfast itself was nice. The guy running it not so much. Watched over me like a hawk while I fix a waffle then when asked if they had syrup I was told very sternly just NO. Not a great expirence with this hotel. Very outdated and not the best around. I asked for some kind of credit telling the guy I was not satisfied the guy told me that there are no refunds or credit that I should have said something when checking in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad

Posted May 19, 2014
The employee's are rude.the free breakfast is not worth having.the rooms where clean but the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work. You get what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Samir, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, I am sad to hear that our hospitality was less than satisfactory during your visit. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal. We have hired new staff since your last visit for whom I've had nothing but great reviews. I am sorry about your exhaust fan not working, our maintenance team is always on a lookout for issues such as this but they must have overlooked this one. Thanks for your feedback! Please come back and give us another chance to serve you better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by teasa from Woodbridge, Va

Will definitely come back

Posted Jan 1, 2014
No complaints at all. My room was clean the gentleman who checked me in was really friendly. By the way, thanks for the Christmas card :-). Overall my stay was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Samir, Hotel Management
Ms. Teasa, Thanks for your review! I am glad we could accommodate you well during your Christmas Holidays. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by REDA

Everythng was ok

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: services from the people that work at the super eight
Cons: size of room was small
Location: great location for any fast food resteraunt or family night out resteraunts
The service and personalities of employees was wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Samir, Hotel Management
Thanks for your wonderful comments about my staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

That "prison" experience for the adventuresome.

Posted Apr 30, 2012
I suppose that for the price, it is what it is. However, there were bugs in our room and bathroom. The place was one of those long hotels where all room access was indoors, but the entrance to the hotel was the front door at the "lobby." If you were on the far end of the hotel, and up the stairs on the third floor, then you had quite a trek getting to your room. Maybe it's for the adventure traveler who is looking for that "prison" experience, because that's what it felt like having only one door to access the hotel. I'm not sure how this passes fire inspection, but the emergency fire instructions on the hotel door literally said, "don't give up". The entire hotel, from the hallways to the rooms is also very dimly lit. They also say they are pet friendly, which they are, but what either the hotel or perhaps Expedia fails to mention is that there is a pet deposit required, and you will have to pay this if you are discovered with a pet in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Samir, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thanks for your review! I apologize that you found it inconvenient to have just one point of entrance to the building. We started doing this to ensure the safety and privacy of our guests. Doing this has prevented any unnecessary entity an entry to our building. Most of our customers are in favor of this policy and describe that as one of the reasons they return for business. We have multiple exit doors so fire safety is not an issue. We have renovated the interior of the rooms and all the corridors since your last visit. There is more than adequate amount of lighting throughout the whole building consisting of LED bulbs to conserve energy and to support the Green initiative. I invite you to come stay with us and have a better experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nothing to write home about

Posted Jul 28, 2010
We should not have let Expedia pick a property for us - we have small kids that were looking forward to a swim in the pool. The only problem.....there wasn't one. This place had the feel of a boarding house instead of a motel.