Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Lovely beach location, old fashioned, laid back.

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
Poor parking available. great place to stay with my puppy. Shower faucets need to be replaced...faucet came off in my hand! cold water faucet just went round and round. By accident, I got temp to shower, but at the end, I could not turn the water all the way off. Parking across the street was a nightmare having to cross a four lane street with luggage and my puppy in her crate. Manager was kind enough to let me use the 10 minute space in front of the office, so it wouldn't be so difficult, and to stay there overnight, so I could get out easily when I checked out the next day. It really was a wonderful outdoor facility right on the beach and my room was very nice and well thought-out for housing my puppy. I can see why people come back every year!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for kids

Posted Feb 3, 2018
People sitting outside of rooms smoking in their pajamas, have to walk across busy highway from parking, drunks walking on sidewalk and around hotel.. Room smelled of smoke and mildew. Incredibly noisy 24 hours. Curtains don’t completely close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winter Haven, Florida

Posted Sep 29, 2017
.. Felt like home. Friendly staff very accomedating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater FL

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Nice location and newly renovated rooms. Staff was also friendly and hotel is also pet friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Location was great! Right on the beach, bars, restaurants and shopping in walking distance. You can call the beach cab to take you to John's Pass, St Pete Beach or Clearwater and they work on donations! We tipped $5 each way. Hotel has grills you can use, you have to provide the coals and lighter fluid. We had a room facing the street with a kitchenette and king bed. It was nice but never did cook. If you have anything to hang up like dresses or nice shirts bring your own hangers. They had a clothes bar above microwave and fridge with one hanger. I hung up my dresses on the mini blinds. The room was clean except the ceiling fan was very dusty. We stayed in room 214.
2 out of 5
by Sadany

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Erin from Athens, Ohio

Great getaway for Babymoon

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I wanted to take a short babymoon before our son was due in July. I had three stipulations (beach front, pool and parking). The Schooner had all three, and at a reasonable price. The owners were very friendly and the staff were super nice. Very helpful and always there to answer questions, and get you extra towels anytime. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for a few days in Florida. There were even extra floats and chairs that we could borrow in the garden/sitting area. We spent four days at Madiera before the crazy Memorial Day holiday weekend, and we were glad to be at the quiet Schooner for those few blissful (sans baby) days together. I would say that my only suggestion would be to request a room away from the main road or the front of the hotel. The hotel sign is extremely bright and runs all night, and the shades didn't block it out much. We were okay, but some people need total darkness to sleep. If you need total darkness, I would recommend asking for a room away from that area of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seminole, FL

Right on the beach!

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Ocean front and pet friendly.
Cons: Maybe the maid service. It was a little sandy. Even the sheets.
Location: Pretty much anything you need is in walking distance
It was wonderful to wake up to the ocean front right from my bed. And they are pet friendly. Loved my stay there. I will most certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Ohio

Love this place

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed there last year and it was under new ownership they had started to make some changes. This year they had made several changes and it was very nice. The owners are very nice and service was fantastic and the atmosphere is very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 25, 2016
The room we had for all but one night of our stay was very nice and it was great sleeping with the window open and listening to the ocean every night. Nice amenities: full size coffee pot, microwave, toaster oven, bar size sink, full size refrigerator, iron, flat screen TV, comfortable king bed. Staff was friendly & outstanding.