Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Wonderful staff, exceelnet holiday

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: I loved getting away from the large impersonal hotel and finding this bijou Bed & breakfast. Hihgly recommended. Swimming pool, lovely garden and terrace
Cons: There was nothing to dislike -very quiet location
Location: Overlooking the sea and port , walk or take bus into Centre very easily.Old Cenre very interesting.Lots of parks to see See the short history film
5 out of 5
by Alison from Warrington

A gem of a hotel just outside Funchal centre

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
A gem of a hotel, we were made to feel so welcome. The breakfast in the garden is amazing and the pool area is lovely (even went for a swim!) with facilities to rustle up a little snack. The food prices in the hotel are also very reasonable. A good spot to see the June firework competiton in Funchal too. We hope to be able to return as many others seem to have!
5 out of 5
by David from Liverpool

The fondest of memories

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
As a 66 years young man who has had the good fortune to have travelled a fair bit in his lifetime, I can honestly say my 19 day stay at 'Casa Caseiro' was an absolute treat.Without doubt the best value for money and welcoming residence I have ever had the pleasure to stay at! With only 8 rooms you enjoy a quiet and relaxing vacation. Nothing is too much for your host who is pretty much on hand 24/7 to make you feel at home.Great WiFi,cleaned room every day,exceptionally reasonably priced laundry available and the friendliest of staff....I could go on and on!.Oh,and a great vista over Funchal! I would go back in a heartbeat.The fondest of memories abide....."OBRIGADO" David
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Good value, lovely location and facilities, fantastic hosts
Cons: Just a bit more lighting in the room, but that's just a personal preference.
I booked my stay at A Casa do Caseiro in January based on the good reviews and I am very glad I did. I absolutely loved it. Nice location, Spotless room, lovely garden, a small pool to enjoy the sun and the staff is simply fantastic. They also open for tea and coffee in the afternoon, so if you find yourself there, maybe walking down from a ride on the sledges, stop there to enjoy a slice of homemade cake in a beautiful garden. It is halfway up the hill to Monte, a good 20 minute walk uphill which I didn't mind, but you can also catch a bus. The host Stephanie is adorable and she would do all she can to make you feel comfortable. Both she and Sarah treated me like a princess. I just regret not booking a longer holiday, but I won't look for any other accommodation if I visit Funchal again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

reviews are not strictly true!

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Sara
Cons: Reviews to be more truthful!
Hotel is up a very steep hill so unless you are very fit or like spending money on taxis, don't stay here! English is not spoken well with the staff although, Sara was very helpful and friendly! The room we stayed in was clean but very old fashioned, the bed was uncomfortable, squeaky and rock hard! The water was Luke warm so we were unable to shower/bath! Windows did not close properly so cool at night not sound proof! We booked for a week in October, the weather was very wet! So decided to move closer to town to a more comfortable accommodation! Tried to contact Expedia several times, eventually getting through to ask for some kind of refund, they said we would hear from them within a month, still waiting! Feeling very unhappy! So will not be using there company again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small quiet hotel with marvellous views of Funchal

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful patio and views. Amazingly good value.
Location: Situated on a steep slope with tricky access. Nearest restaurant half a mile up hill. We got around by car.
We stayed seven days and our room had wonderful balcony views over Funchal. The full included breakfast set us up for they day and was served in the hotels lovely Patio by our helpful host Sarah. The hotel is tricky to find and away from the centre of town with along up hill. Our stay was unique an memorable and would recommend this hotel but would also recommend a powerful hire car to get into town and back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shropshire England

Lovely traditional house.

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: It's superb views and traditional character.
Cons: Very little.
Location: Funchal and all amenities are a €1:90 bus ride away.
Delightful stay in beautiful surroundings. Half way up the hill to Monte on bus routes and free parking down the road. Super clean old traditional house with a fantastic hostess, Sarah. Terrace for breakfast in the dappled sunshine and lovely pool to cool off in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful little B&B

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
Sara took such good care of us, making delicious breakfasts served on the terrace overlooking Funchal. Rooms very traditional, but very clean. Balcony with beautiful view of the harbour. Quiet, nice neighborhood with several good restaurants Sara recomended nearby. A car is recommended, free parking just down the hill. A home away from home :-)
4 out of 5
by Felix from Keighley

Lovely introduction to Madeira

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Warm welcome from Sara with a glass of Madeira after a late flight! Hotel beautifully kept & comfortable. Decent breakfast served on the garden terrace with views over the city & the sea. Quiet area apart from daytime traffic noise from the motorway just below...but all peaceful at night. Funchal is a very steep city and the hotel is on a particularly steep street. We didn't have a car. (By the way, Sara organised an efficient transfer from the airport for 20eu, good value compared with a normal taxi). We managed the return walk to & from the centre once but, unless you're super fit, it's better to take the bus 19. However, that's still a very steep if fairly short climb up the hill and could be difficult for some. Don't be fooled either by the apparent closeness of the Botanical Gardens, only as the crow flies! We thought we'd be able to walk there but that would be quite difficult due to the deep valley inbetween, so two buses are needed. Sara was very helpful with information. Also, if you walk up to Monte, take care that you don't get mown down by a wayward toboggan! So we have no criticisms at all of the hotel, only some small reservations about the location for those without transport.
5 out of 5
by marie from Bristol/Arlanc

a madeiran gem

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
2nd stay for us and we would go back to casa do caseiro if we go to Madeira again! Thanks to Sara for her helpfulness and her efficiency at managing the hotel. The room was spacious and spotless with an amazing ceiling. the decoration of this villa is in classic style. Books, games, wifi and TV in the lounge. Sara always happy to prepare a cup of tea. The view on the bay of Funchal is amazing.