Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helped a lot. I got in late due to the plane arriving late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Everything was perfect but what makes this hotel stand out from the others is the staff. They were faultless, helpful and genuine.
Cons: The only slight would be the lack of entertainment of an evening. The hotel could benefit from a bar where patrons could enjoy drinks after dinner.
Location: Santa Cruz is a 15 min walk but there is not much to do. There is a lack of bars, restaurants or tavernas but this did not impede on our stay.
Arrived for a short break and was very impressed with the hotel. Although close to the airport, we were not disturbed by the planes. Hotel was exceedingly clean, spotlessly so and the room was very comfortable. Nice touches including free toiletries, wifi, tea & coffee facilities, complimentary slippers and bathrobes, safe in the room and most of all the platter of fruit provided free by the hotel. Dining was excellent, food superior and great value for money. The walk to Santa Cruz is about 15 mins on the coastal path. We did not try the pools as it was early in the season, but they were clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taunton uk

Great hotel with excellent staff

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The staff , location, food and views from the room
Cons: Cant think of anything !
Location: Easy for the airport although you do need a car as its not within walking distance of anything.A short drive to Funchal .
We went for a few days away in the sun and this was the perfect place for it , convieneint for the airport , great position overlooking the sea and very helpfull staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Excellent stay, really good rooms and staff. Facilities all good, peaceful and quiet, convenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Wales

Perfect in Every Way From Moment We Were Picked Up

Posted Feb 28, 2017
A Christmas gift for my Wife......a 3 night get away without the kids that we'll remember forever. Collected from the airport, treated like royalty for 4 days and then ferried back to departures, chilled and relaxed and certainly less stressed with life than when we arrived. Blissful.
4 out of 5
by Tammy

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great service. We chose the location by the airport, but you could not hear any air traffic noise. The location by the water is lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crewe, Cheshire, UK

When relaxation is all you want

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Peace & quiet, location, staff, food.
Location: Close to airport, short walk to Santa Cruz where you will find a variety of restaurants & bars.
Could not have asked for anything better, having studied hotels in Funchal we couldn't find what we were looking for which was somewhere a little different from the norm, then we found Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club, having looked at reviews we booked a week, it was only after booking that I looked at the location on a map of Madeira & thought I'd made a mistake, next to the airport, we needn't have worried as apart from the odd lorry passing on the main road we could have been in the hills, at times the silence was deafening. On arrival we were met by Gonzales who insisted on carrying our bags to our room, he showed us everything we needed to know, Costa was there on other days who was always keen to answer questions and just chat with us about anything, Carol was great as were Francisco, Madalene & all other staff, nothing was too much trouble, ask and it was answered. The view was amazing & on day 2 we were treated to the most spectacular scene, a few hundred meters out to sea we saw whales & dolphins passing, the hotel is literally next to the sea. At times we were the only couple in the hotel grounds so it was almost like a private members club, we were in room 17 on the ground floor & every room has a sea view. The food was yummy, buffet breakfast a fantastic start to the day. Would we return? MOST DEFINITELY. Thank you all at the Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by JEFF from LIVERPOOL

MADERIA MAGIC

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
GREAT 5 NIGHT STAY IF YOU REQUIRE REST AND RE-COUPERATION THIS IS THE PLACE TO FREE AIRPORT TRANSFER COSTA AND HIS TEAM DO AN EXCEPTINAL JOB GREATOUTDOOR POOL'SAND VIEW
5 out of 5
by John from North Wales

Excellent stay at Albatroz

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Most welcoming and friendly. Excellent restaurant and food at reasonable price.