Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bewdley, Worcs., UK

Quiet hotel, clean & simple

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights in April and it was perfect for us. Quiet location, room with a kettle and fridge, and room cleaned everyday. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Excellent budget accommodation in great location

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Value for money, facilities within walking distance, cleanliness.
Cons: Better quality mattresses. Mugs instead of tea cups. Larger TV.
Location: 15 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal so access to everything; shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions etc.
Just back from a week at the Imperatriz (7th to 14th November) and overall found it excellent. It ticked all the boxes as regards what I wanted which was somewhere clean, comfortable, facility to make breakfast in the room, in a good location, public transit access (bus stops) nearby and reasonably priced. The rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. Bedding is basic; however, I found it comfortable and more than adequate. There’s a ‘mini kitchen’ in a cupboard consisting of a sink, kettle, large fridge, two ring cooker and most cooking implements with plates, cups, cutlery etc. (anything not there that you think you need simply ask at reception.) Everything I needed to make breakfast and more if I wanted. The location is ideal; 15 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal, there’s a Spar shop 50 metres away, another small supermarket less than two minutes walk away on Avenida do Infante. As well as Bernini’s at the front of the hotel there are numerous restaurants only a couple of minutes walk away, including Moynihan’s; an Irish Sports Bar that shows all the sport live and a casino less than 2 minutes walk away, if that’s your thing. There are two bus stops less than two minutes walk away on the Avenida do Infante, connecting you to a great public transport network. As regards the cost, I thought the Imperatriz was incredible value and I would recommend it to anyone seeking excellent budget accommodation in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, good value

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location:
Helpful staff, good value for nice room with balcony and flower bed. View is nothing special, though you can see the sea. Kitchenette was small but adequate. Small swimming pool and loungers on the roof. There are restaurants all around, a small SPAR supermarket outside and a small MEU Super supermarket a short walk away. There are lots of hotels in this area. One end of the harbour is a short walk downhill from the hotel. A short walk uphill is Avenido do Infanta where you can catch busses going east or west, and the airport bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice location not to far from promenade

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: the mini kitchen
Cons: air conditioning.
Location: only bars and restaurants nearby
could have done with better facilities by pool e .g. umbrella stands that actually worked also some sunbeds could do with replacing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK - west country

It's quite handy for Funchal town centre

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Reasonably close for walking to Funchal town centre or towards the lido area. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms would be useful - none at present (but borrowed a fan - gratis - from hotel).
Location: Reasonably close for walking to Funchal town centre or towards the lido area. Lots of nice restaurants in immediate vicinity of the hotel .
Do check out things like availability of air-conditioning before booking (I didn't, assuming that this would be standard in a hotel in such a hot place in August...), and what you are getting with the roof-top pool, before booking!
4 out of 5
by Xeniya

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Close to Funchal

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Cheap fair sized room
Cons: Breakfast could be improved. Ham and cheese rolls get monotonous.
Location: Within 400m there are a number of restaurants, a casino and a number of bars
Good clean hotel, on the Funchal end of the western hotel area. Plenty of restaurants in 10 min walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Colum N.

Long awaited family trip

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Ebookers
We were on a budget and I felt that for the price we paid for three apartments the hotel was more than adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and of a good size. We enjoyed swimming in the pool on the roof which has excellent panoramic views of the sea and Funchal. If your on a budget I would certainly recommend this hotel as it is quite and well located. If it is luxury you are after then expect to pay a lot more for your accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Nice hotel convenient location.

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: The location and the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Some basics such as salt could have been useful in the kitchenette.
Location: Perfect location for all you need - harbour, museums, restaurants, travel agents for activities etc.
Modest hotel with friendly staff. Location great - close to the harbour, walking distance to the interesting part of the city, very accessible to all areas of the island. The rooftop swimming pool was handy for a cooling down dip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW England

Clean apartment hotel close to centre

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: It's cleanliness, location and roof garden.
Cons: Extra pillows and larger cups (or mugs) could be provided.
Location: I have included this above.
This is a small, pleasant hotel located not too far from the centre of Funchal, a lovely park and the harbour. It had a lovely small roof garden with a small pool. There are at least three restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel. As we were self catering, we were pleased to find a Spar grocery shop on the same block. It seemed to be open all hours! There were more shops a very short distance away. There was a bus stop nearby. For information, the casino was within close proximity. When we asked for a toaster, it was provided.