Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Another great holiday

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Reids is very relaxing, all staff members are very friendly and can't do enough to help you. Reids has many different areas, even if busy quiet areas.
Cons: Nothing as if there is an issue you raise with them it is dealt with effectively.
Location: Situated on the corner of the cliff so has views of Funchal, the port and out to sea. Bus stop and taxis very close by. Good restaurants in area.
Another excellent holiday in Madeira staying at Reids. The weather was fantastic, the people as always friendly and welcoming and the food and scenery great. Lots of time spent outside walking and enjoying the sunshine. Madeira is a very relaxing place to start with and staying at Reids just adds to the overall expierence and calm that is all parts of the holiday. Food is great for both fish and meat lovers, the steak is wonderful and the fish is fresh and varied. Do take the opportunity to join locals and other holiday makers at the Baptist Church for their English language service at 11am on a Sunday morning. Always worth checking if their is a cruise ship in before doing some of the more popular things such as the toboggan ride from Monte, there will be a long queue if there are tours from the ships. Madeira is a great place to do photography, just so much to see and photograph. The area that Reids is in is perfect for access to Funchal (use the hotel shuttle, local bus, taxi or walk). Good hotel restaurants and also many within walking distance. Both local cuisine and other types of food such as Indian, Chinese, Turkish etc. Reids has three swimming pools, both freshwater, saltwater and sea, all at different temperatures along with access to the sea. Looking forward to our next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chichester, UK

Nice hotel with good swimming facilities.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Our room was superb with every comfort considered. The natural sea swimming pool and surrounding area was brilliant.
Cons: Adjust to the times.
Location: Easy walking distance to the old and new part of Funchal. Exceptional restaurants near by. Beautiful gardens to view. Good facilities for touring.
Very comfortable hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Unfortunately though, the hotel is still operating in an extremely colonial style and appears to be reluctant to move with the times. Their pricing is not realistic to this day and age - 68 euros for two for afternoon tea is a joke! I can get the same deal at a Victorian country house near our home for £20 (enough to serve 4 people) served in beautiful rooms and terraces, offering better sandwiches and cakes along with a glass of champagne and wonderful tea. The hotel appears to want to remain in the days of Churchill and various Royals who stayed there a decade ago and accommodate the wealthy who just want to have cocktail parties and not explore the wonderful island or understand the Portuguese people and their way of life.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: Tea/Coffee Making Facilities in the room
Excellent Breakfasr Buffet - great variety and quality. Lovely gardens. Useful bus service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great position

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Great views and pool area. Staff are very friendly and helpful room was good with great service.. The hotel has character compared to a modern hotel and the garden area is a delight.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very british

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Wunderschönes Haus, herrlicher Meerblick vom Balkon/Zimmer, ruhig, toller Service, schöner, gepflegter Pool mit Salzwasser, hervorragendes Essen im Cipriani, afternoon Tea auf der Terrasse ist unvergesslich.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Hotel everything it promised to be. Great service great breakfasts. Children loved it as much as the adults
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Equality hotel ideally situated

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: The pool area and service.
Location: Situated a 15 minute walk or 5 mins in taxi from Funchal - plenty of activities to take advantage of.
From the moment you arrive you are greeted with a smile and outstanding service. The hotel and facilities are of the highest order and the food is great. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Old World Charm
Cons: Airconditioning in common area's especially Breakfast Room.
Location: Hotel is central to almost everything. Taxi's are easy to get, and inexpensive. Plenty of buses to take you to different area's also.
Had a lovely holiday, loved the Hotel. Restaurants in the Hotel were excellent, and also many nice places to eat, just a short walk. The Hotel were very helpful in suggestions, bookings, and advising us of places of interest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very nice traditional hotel - with history

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Everything was fine except we found our room was noisy in the evening and at night. It turned out that the hotel staff were staying in the room next to us and above us. They were very noisy in the evening and got up 4.30 in the morning - waking us up. Not what you would expect in a 5 star hotel at all. We fed this back to the hotel when asked us to rate our stay after we'd left - but despite our request for a member of the management to contact us - we heard nothing back. I think this hotel is trading a bit on its name and assumes they can get away with this sort of thing. We had previously stayed at the Cliff Bay Hotel next door - which was a much slicker and up to date operation - I think prospective customers of Reids' might like to bear all this in mind when choosing between the 2 hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel in wonderful location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: My room was beautiful, the food was delicious and the setting magical. I travelled alone but the families who were there were enjoying it hugely too.
Cons: A lighter eating option than the two (great) restaurants for evenings when a full meal is too much - e.g. tapas style food in the Bar.
Reid's is a wonderful hotel, with the loveliest, warmest and most charming staff I've ever come across in a five-star hotel. The setting (both the island and Reid's own position) is beautiful. Food was excellent. I needed to relax and unwind - on this visit I wasn't interested in exploring the island - and Reid's was a wonderful cocoon. I would single out Claudia (restaurant Maitre D'), Alberto (her Sommelier), Cindy (the breakfast room) and Andre (who over-saw the sea-level sundecks), as being exemplary, charming and wonderful.