Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Great service and fine breakfast, friendly

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The staff, large balcony and view, superb breakfast, heated pool lovely public rooms
Cons: Tiny tv in room. Personally I prefer kettle in room to room service
Location: Good Restaurants and street cafes, Mueums, cable car and toboggan ride, walks along levada paths.
Stayed four nights early Dec. Weather was max 21 min 17 and dry. All the staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet beautiful with a cooked service. Other guests mainly British, no children when we were there, swimming pool warm and quiet. Dined at the Cipriani which was very good. There is a hotel mini bus to town every hour during day. Walk to old town for the restaurants in evening takes 30-45 minutes, and taxi back (up the hill) costs 7euros. Good restaurants in town 70-100 euros for couple incl wine. Everyone in town spoke english and friendly. Monte had a cloud sitting on it all day every day so missed the toboggan ride.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Compiègne

Bon accueil et hôtel chaleureux

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Petit déjeuner excellent avec choix très complet
Cons: RAS
Location: 3 jours passés à visiter la ville: à pied ou en taxi ou téléphérique
hôtel avec du cachet et un personnel attentionné Il faut se garder du temps libre, hors visites, pour pouvoir profiter de toutes les possibilités de l'hôtel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Classic hotel full of ambiance.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Just the old fashioned virtues..
Cons: Breakfast was appalling ,chef couldn't fry or poach an egg!!!
Location: Fantastic view, as only a short stay ,we only went to relax.
Only a 3 night stay,rather expensive for us ,as we like a drink or two..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Nov 5, 2016
We had a four day break in October 2016. The hotel, room, facilities, staff, food and location were all top-notch. Our stay worked out expensive but you get what you pay for and it was certainly value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northants

Lovely hotel. Timeless elegance

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Fab 2nd visit and just as good as the first one. Cant wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Quiet, Relaxing Retreat

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Sea pool, breakfast, tea, room, service.
Cons: No improvements.
Location: Very close to downtown. Everything within walking distance for the most part.
My husband and I stayed at Reid's for the first leg of our honeymoon. This is the ultimate place to go for rest and relaxation. We were upgraded upon arrival and were even treated to a complimentary bottle of champagne. The rooms and facilities are pristine. The service is kind and unobtrusive. The amenities are fantastic especially the sea pool level which may be the best swimming location on the whole island of Madeira. Breakfast and afternoon tea have to be seen to be believed. Although we were the younger than most guests by 40 years or so ;) we had a once in a lifetime experience. We hope to return someday soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Perfect Stay in Madeira

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Breakfast on the terrace watching dawn
Cons: ….can't think of a thing
Location: Walk to incredible restaurants, snorkel in sapphire blue water, hike on the beautiful levadas
My wife and I had an idyllic week at Reid's, a truly world class hotel. The combination of absolutely exceptional location, facilities and staff yields that special experience that is rare to find in travel today. Of course the experience is fully supported by the island and culture of Madeira. We will be back…...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fast perfekte Grande Dame

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Ein sehr netter Empfang, wunderbares Zimmer mit perfektem Service. Der Garten wunderschön, Pool und Meer toll. Frühstück Excellent!
Cons: Definitiv das Essen und die Drinks der Cocktailbar.
Location: In Funchal ist alles möglich...
Ein wunderbares Juwel auf Madeira. Bis auf die Gastronomie ist dieses Hotel perfekt! Abendessen und Cocktails weit hinter den Erwartungen. Das Essen hat Kantinen-, bzw. Mensaqualität. Schade.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old World charm and service

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: It's old world charm and the service.
Cons: More rooms need to have showers that are not over the bath.
Location: Walking distance to the centre of Funchal, although there is an hourly shuttle service, which should be used for the return as Funchal is very hilly.
This lovely grand old lady is up to date in terms of service and facilities but retains all the charm of a bygone era. The staff are all very well trained and everyone smiles. The pool area is lovely with two large pools and all the restaurants are excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Excellent hotel. First class

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Absolutely loved this hotel. It had everything. Afternoon tea was to die for. Breakfasts were superb. Beautiful gardens. I would recommend the free tour. Pools and terraces excellent