Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Lovely hotel with very comfortable rooms and gorgeous views on the ocean. Beautiful gardens and nice breakfast buffet. Only issue I had was breakfast staff start cleaning up by 10am and start banging plates and calling to each other over patrons heads. The head waiter in his suit was barking out orders to a cleanup staff member over my head 2 tables down. And then once they seat you and get you a coffee, they are gone. Not once for 3 breakfasts , did I get asked what I wanted from the actual hot menu listed. Nor did any waiter return to get us another coffee or tea. So service in the dining hall needs to improve. Food was fabulous though. They had recent renos of the front desk area so couldn't find area maps or menus for their own afternoon tea , so they need to get organized. I think the General Manager needs to pay a little more attention to details of service at this beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Perfect in every way this is luxury and a perfect place to relax and unwind. Nothing is too much trouble for the hotel and their staff. Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful location with access to the beach

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, excellent customer service, good facilities
Cons: The spa had separate male and female sauna and steam rooms; this was disappointing as we were both alone unable to communicate
Location: Complimentary shuttle to the town centre. Tour bus valid for 48 hrs nearby. Restaurants close by, steep but pleasant walk to town and cable car
We booked for our 30th wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Staff were attentive and spoke English fluently, it is one of those hotels that has old fashioned customs; for example they turn your bed down. Rooms were comfortable with all soft drinks complimentary from the mini bar. Breakfast had an array of different choices, and the 'famous' Reid's afternoon tea was worth booking. We also ate in the Williams Michelin Restaurant although expensive it was our anniversary dinner and despite the small plates, we left feeling content.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Wonderful service

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Old fashioned style and luxury. Staff so good at being friendly and helpful. Just ask and they deliver. Food excellent but not cheap. Yet worth every penny. Good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect retreat.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Clean, bright and sprawling, the Reid's Palace is set back in time with perfection.
Cons: We paid extra for an hotel taxi to take us to the airport, but a regular yellow taxi arrived.
Location: Hop on hop off buses give a terrific overview of the area. Il Gallo d"Oro restaurant at the Cliff Bay has two michelin stars and is first class.
Welcomed by exceedingly helpful staff and addressed by name throughout our stay, the Reid's Palace made us feel like old-timers, despite it being our first visit to Madeira. The hotel was immaculate and the gardens absolutely beautiful. Whilst sunbathing by the two pools, we were treated to salmon sandwiches and sparkling wine. William, the main restaurant, has polite and professional staff. Their one Michelin star was illustrated in the crayfish dish, which was light and flavoursome. Buffet breakfasts are vast and high quality. The shuttle bus into town leaves at set times in the day and the open top bus pick up point is a short walk down the hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent hotel with stunning views

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff, stunning situation and very impressive public areas. Grounds and swimming pools were superb.
Cons: Some areas were a bit dated but work is ongoing which will improve certain areas of the hotel
Location: Situated above the cliffs the views are stunning. Shops and a wide variety of good restaurants were close by.
This hotel is highly rated and certainly did not disappoint. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room which was very spacious and well appointed. Separate toilet and large bathroom and a balcony with table and two comfortable chairs. Ones of the best views of Funchal could be had from the room. Service was excellent and the deal included buffet breakfast although we were also able to order specials at no extra cost. The public areas are beautifully appointed and spacious. Two excellent swimming pools with a sea pool at the lowest level. Renovations were being carried out but they did not spoil our stay. Gardens were well kept with many different seating areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Just wonderful.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Truly excellent hotel. Expensive but the level of service reflects this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton england

A one off hotel, an experience of bygone qualities

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Excellent stay in a special hotel and beautiful location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Well situated. Beautiful views of ocean and town and one pool heated to 28 degrees. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Treated like royalty

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The staff, without exception, were charming, professional and utterly accommodating. AND they double upgraded us to a fabulous room with large balcony overlooking sea and gardens. Lovely lovely holiday and I'd certainly go back, and recommend to friends.