Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Quaint, but tired, probably great in the summer

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Lovely views but definitely need a car as it not near anything else. We enjoyed our one night stay, but a 2nd night would have been one too many. Staff were pleasant enough. Food was good but not great and a little expensive compared with other restaurants. You may need warm clothes, which we have never experienced on the island and we have been 15 times now!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

amazing place

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyable,great breakfast spread,the evenings meals were wonderful,customer service impeccable,very friendly and welcoming place to stay,just wish we had stopped longer than one night,would definitely stop again,thank you so much
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

great location if you like hiking in the mountains

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: great views.
Cons: Pool was in bad condition. Restaurant is too expensive. Cheaper alternatives nearby.
great location if you like hiking in the mountains, but not so good if you want a a more Urban location. Not many facilities nearby. Car is essential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

a beautiful relaxing place

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: very friendly and very peaceful
we have just returned from holiday stayed 2 weeks . the little houses are really nice overlooking the sea and mountains . very quiet and relaxing place . not alot around you do need transport if you want to get about . if your just looking for chill time . then this is the place to go the staff are so lovely especially Isabela . the rooms were cleaned everyday . the food is great alot to choice from at resonable price . loved the holiday so much we will be back again real soon ,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but dated and remote

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Nice hotel, if a bit dated. Could do with a make over. A bit too remote with lots of serious bends on the road from Funchal to contend with - 28 in fact in the last 10 kms and that's only counting the serious ones! Staff very accommodating and friendly. We arrived after 9:00 pm on our first day, just after they had stopped serving food, but it was no bother. They cooked a meal each for my wife and I and we had the full choice of the menu! Rooms are very quaint, but need a make over. Definitely needs WiFi in all the rooms and not just in the bar and restaurant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by ROSA, Hotel Management
Obrigado pela seu comentário,mas no futuro vamos ter wi.fi nos quartos e uma pintura no prédio e alguns melhoramentos.Com cumts de ROSA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views and breathtaking sunsets

Posted Jun 24, 2016
We stayed at Cabanas de S. Jorge for two nights and it was amazing. It is so worth it just for the views. We arrived by car, free parking was available just in front of your own little house. The staff were nice but didn't talk much. The restaurant already closes at 10 and the people weren't very happy when we arrived at 9 at the start but in the end it was amazing food for a good value! The breakfast was nice aswell. And the little houses amazing! Overall I would definetely recommend it! Moreover it's a good place to get to diferent parts of the island very fast by car and in the meantime being surrounded by amazing nature/ breathtaking sunsets and steep cliffs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by damijan from Ilirska Bistrica

Porto Santo

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel and rooms is nice and something special, but personel could be a little better. All together was good and special, this is not everyday hotel.
3 out of 5
by Muffin from Linconshire

Cliff top location. Bungalow accommodation

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels
Super location, great area for cliff walking, particularly Calhau. Food a bit expensive, found cheaper and better food in Sao Jorge. Accommodation Isolated and very quiet. This was the least favourite of all the locations we stayed at. Not as friendly as the others we stayed in, but still a good and different experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lulla from London

Fantastic stay

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Pros: the view, and the up keeping of the traditional rooms
Location: location was good for a quite, calm time holiday and easy access to the centre of Madeira
From the moment I entered to the hotel with my wife we were received with a warm welcome which is Great customer service and well-mannered staff in general. The hotel was great in general, the room was comfortable however, could have done with an extra heater. The scenery was like an artistic frame, calm area and good amenities. Thank you Cabanas Hotel