Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Nice hotel but lacks atmosphere

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The room size and cleanliness.
Cons: The hotel could do with more atmosphere as it is extremely quiet at all times.
Location: The location is extremely quiet. There are a few good restaurants nearby. It takes about 10-15 minutes to get to Funchal by car.
This hotel was spotless and rooms were spacious and comfortable. All staff were incredibly polite and helpful. The outdoor and indoor pools and pool areas are extremely well maintained and there were plenty of sunbeds for all guests. The steakhouse restaurant food was good. The only negative was that there was a lack of general atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect setting and what a view from our room.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Been here 6 times now. Will return again. Peaceful place.
4 out of 5
by Samantha from Solihull

Cais de Oliveira and Royal orchid

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay first at the Cais de Oliveira and after two nights due yo a problem in our room we were moved yo the Royal Orchid. All staff excellent, friendly and helpful. Breakfast okay but not a lot of choice. Stunning views and use of all hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Cons: Internet only available in reception area, this should be available in all rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mrs P from West Midlands UK

Only noise was the roar of the sea - great for us!

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Comfortable beds. Great for rest days from site seeing. Sound of waves, next to sea. Cleaned daily.
Cons: Courtesy buses starting earlier (currently10am) - takes 30-45 mins on local bus & 2.15 euros each way. Made us consider staying in Funchal next time.
Location: 5 min walk (uphill) to regular local bus service to Canico and Funchal and to Spa shop. Sundays hop on/off yellow bus tours east side of the island.
We arrived well before official check in time, but this was not a problem we were shown straight to our room by a very welcoming friendly member of staff, to find we had been upgraded from a sea view studio room to the top floor apartment with separate living room, bedroom bathroom and toilet with a huge balcony overlooking the sea with room for sun lounger, table and chairs. Wow! 'The Cais', the Rocamar and the Royal Orchid are now under the same ownership so the facilities of all hotels were open to us, pools spa, gym etc. I had considered all the hotels as options when I booked 'The Tropical' (now 'Cais de Olivera') Having explored all, It was the quieter of the 3, less 'hotelly' no music in the smaller pool area as opposed to that coming from the Royal Orchid gym, I was pleased with my choice it suited us best. They have begun refurbishment but we were undisturbed by noise - it will be closing in Feb 2014 to complete and reopening in March with a new updated look, so comments I saw written in reviews about the hotel being 'tired' will no longer apply. Had excellent meal at the Lee Hamilton Restaurant (onsite) on my birthday very attentive friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Potters Bar

Will go again

Posted Aug 10, 2011
Brilliant Hotel, the room with sea view made it a pleasure to wake up in the mornings. Friday barbeques overlooking the Atlantic in the beach bar, fantastic. Staff were most helpful and pleasant Lots of restuarants within walking distance The new bar and restuarant will make it even better Good swiming and diving cetres nearby
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Canico - Hotel Tropical

Posted Sep 22, 2010
Pleasant enough apartment style hotel with good although small swimming pool but very limited as to restaurants in vicinity for a stay of 7 days or more. Hotel restaurant not to 4-star standard but Atlantis restaurant and Roco da Mar was good. Humidity was high and night time temps in September did not drop below 16C, so without aircon the room was uncomfortable and sleeping with windows wide-open let in the mosquitos! Hotel is situated on coast and about 1/2 hour walk up very steep road - and I mean almost vertical to Canico village as a result the Restaurants in Canico itself were not tried. Canico is situated about 40 mins bus ride from Funchal with reasonable bus service (at least one an hour), but crowded even in September. Large number of German tourists. Maderia itself is a beautiful island and we managed to book a few tours that collected us from the hotel these were very good and worthwhile. However a better location would be to use Funchal as a base and preferably to the West where there are more up-market hotels with better restaurant choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Nice place.

Posted Mar 15, 2009
Quiet hotel with a nice sea view. My wife and I had a lovely time. The courtesy bus to Funchal was quite handy when available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

A Great Place to Chill Out

Posted Feb 23, 2009 on Hotels
A lovely setting with the balconies overlooking a quiet bay. Nice appartment with good kitchen facilities. A place for relaxation rather than nightlife. A few reasonable restaurants nearby but much more variety in Funchal. Parking outside the hotel, but lots of competition for places, so you may have to walk a few hundred metres.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kent

Quiet retreat

Posted Jun 12, 2008
The Hotel was clean and quiet. Not for anyone who is looking for night life and bars. Not suitable for children. Be prepared for lots of walking.