Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Wonderful Casa away from the maddening crowd

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: As per survey above + historic and characterful main building. We were lucky enough to have a room on the upper floor looking over the garden
Cons: Spa pool needs a bit of maintenance as mosaic tiles are starting to fall off. A bit more attention for customers sitting outside by the main house
Location: hill top resort with great deal of privacy, local bus service was very reliable and thrilling enabling easy and cheap access to Funchal,
We made a last minute booking with very little research and had never been to Maderia. We were delighted with the resort and with Funchal. Very few children to ruin the ambience!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Elegant country house hotel in beautiful location

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: All the features mentioned above and, in addition, its location next to what must be one of the more beautiful gardens in the world.
Cons: We have nothing to suggest.
Location: It was a real bonus having access to the beautiful garden next door and the walks on the estate. We much appreciated the shuttle to Funchal.
We spent a most enjoyable and relaxing week at this elegant hotel in the English country house style. The amenities were all we could have wished for:well-appointed and stylish public rooms; a delightful terrace on which to relax; excellent spa facilities; a most comfortable bedroom; delicious food and drink; attentive and charming staff; a quiet, relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere. To all this were added the charms of the island which are manifold. We left with a real desire to return before too long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Great service with a slightly old fashioned elegance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend this small hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: refilling of bathroom supplies
Location: Quite secluded location in the hills with a free shuttle to Funchal if you need a change
set in beautiful gardens with access to spa and golf as well. Marvellous food - An excellent all round package for a good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great Hotel, but vegetarians watch out.....

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location, building, facilities, quiet
Cons: Make the restaurant vegetarian friendly, ensuring that the vegetarian menu is provided along with the main menus.
Location: The hotel is in a large estate so, walking round the estate and gardens good, but need to take a taxi to and from Funchal as road very steep.
Great hotel and facilities, only down side was when my wife asked what the vegetarian starters were at the fancy restaurant in the hotel the waiter mentioned Gazpacho, which sounded great on a warm day, when it arrived it had squid and caviar in it. Thank goodness the risotto was vegetarian. When I raised this with reception, they mentioned that there was a vegetarian menu - would have been nice if that had been offered, as would have some form of compensation like a bottle of wine..... Restaurant 0 points, rest of hotel 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Classy, charming, understated Old World elegance, with precious silence & stunning panoramas!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel with gardens spa and golf court

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Recommended for sport lovers that like to spend their time engaging in sports, enjoy an old style small hotel with excellent service. Average guest age fairly high - comfortable hotel around 25 min from Funchal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oxford

In the clouds

Posted Sep 21, 2007
A beautiful hotel with excellent food. However on the day of our arrival (8th September) Funchal was sunny and warm while our hotel at 500 metres was in the clouds and the weather was cold and rainy. We would probably not stay again as our main reason for travelling was for some warmth and sun, but in high summer I suspect the drop in temperature would be welcome. Another word of warning would be that the car we hired(1.2 Polo) was barely able to climb the road to the hotel even in first gear!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massagno

Albergo per chi gioca a Golf

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Location e buona colazione
Cons: Camere da svecchiare
Location: Fantastico per chi gioca a golf. Lontano dal centro di Funchal
Ero già stato in questo albergo. Avevo prenotato una categoria di camera, che, per un disguido di prenotazione non ho trovato ed ho dovuto accettarne una di classe inferiore. Personale gentile e professionale
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Optimal für Golfer

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Hotel ist optimal für ein Golfwochende, liegt aber sehr abgeschieden von der Zivilisation.