Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr schön in den Hügeln gelegen

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Ruhige, sehr schön in den Hügeln oberhalb von Funchal gelegene Anlage im Bungalow- Stil
4 out of 5
by Simon

Hilltop Beauty

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
The Choupana Hills is a lovely hotel high up in the mountains above Funchal. The facilities are five star, as is the food served in the restaurant (particularly in the evening). A Levada runs through its grounds so there is easy access to walking routes. It is close to the Botanical Gardens and a 20 minute drive down to Funchal. The service can be a little hit and miss. The staff are always pleasant but seem to share roles and so sometimes things get forgotten. This is the only drawback to an otherwise lovely, romantic escape hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grandioses Hotel mit toller Küche

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Die Lage, das Essen, das freundliche Personal
Cons: Es war ein bisschen schade, dass man oben in der Bar kein stetiges Personal vorfand, hier wäre Verbesserungsbedarf!
Location: Besser ohne eigenes Auto, liegt sehr hoch, schmale, sehr steile Strassen. Besser Shuttle - Service des Hotels nutzen! Unbedingt Inseltour machen!
Wir hatten ein Deluxe Zimmer mit Meerblick gebucht, und fanden ein geniales Zimmer mit unbeschreiblicher Aussicht auf Funchal und das Meer vor. Dieses Hotel ist äußerst empfehlenswert für "Nichtstätter". Kein Menschengewusel, Ruhe, fantastische Lage, mega freundliches und aufmerksames Personal, hervorragende Küche, mal ganz anders. Ohne Pension, á la carte Essen mit toller Auswahl, auch für's Auge ein Genusserlebnis! Hier bleiben keine Wünsche offen! Je nach Jahreszeit muss man halt Abstriche beim Wetter machen, hatten in der letzten Aprilwoche gebucht, somit hatten wir, auf Grund der hohen Lage des Hotels, auch mal mit Nebel oder leichtem Nieselregen umzugehen, aber dann geht man halt wunderbar entlang der Levadas wandern, oder nutzt den Spabereich. Wir waren sicher nicht zum letzten Mal dort !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SEVRES

Magnifique

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: son cadre enchanteur
Cons: la clim car la notre était HS mais nous avons été prévenu à l'arrivée et des radiateurs mis à disposition.
Location: tout proche du jardin botanique avec un accès au téléphérique qui va jusqu'à MONTE une Levada passe sur le terrain de l'hotel pour faire de la rando
une accueil chaleureux, une agréable surprise avec une chambre spacieuse, surclassée ( lit baldaquin de 4x4m ) une vue à couper le souffle, un jardin somptueux avec des plaques signalétiques des espèces plantées. une salle du petit dejeuner immense et un personnel toujours aux aguets pour satisfaire tous vos désirs. j'ai passé une semaine en VIP merveilleuse. Merci
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avkoppling!!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Ett hotell med hög servicekänsla, fina rum och en helt underbar natur som gör gott för själen! Underbar frukost!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Impeccable oasis of peace

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Beautiful hotel situated high on the hill with great views down over the whole of Funchal and the harbour. 5/10 minute fun drive down to the centre of Funchal. Quite and steep and some fun bends but nothing to fear. There is a free bus down to town and back again. I wouldn't recommend getting a small hire car. The staff at the hotel could not have been more pleasant, helpful and welcoming. The whole place has a real high quality feel about it. The food in the restaurant is of excellent quality and the prices very pleasantly surprised. The indoor pool and spa was a really lovely place when it wasn't hot enough to sit outside. The accommodation in the bungalows was of a great standard too. Some have more open views than others.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Wigan

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
It's a beautiful hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful, we would definitely come back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Keith from edinburgh

nice & relaxing

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
This is a good hotel. Very happy with the service and staff who were very accomodating. Our villa had cracking views over Funchal and was exceptionally well equipped. Big thumbs up for the free Wi-Fi which is ever present across the site. The only slight down was the fact that on Easter Sunday it was a fairly expensive special dinner being served in the restaurant with no room service available either. Whilst we were warned because of the remote location of the hotel there is nothing in the way of an alternative if you don't have transport. That said, we did have dinner in the restaurant twice and it was fantastic quality and great value for money. The selection of food available at breakfast is fantastic, always looked forward to it!
4 out of 5
by Ross from London

A lovely stay at Choupana Hills!

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
What a wonderful stay - luxurious hotel rooms as mini bungalows. The only thing to be improved slightly would be the restaurant food - very good but not quite 5 star as to be expected. Regardless, this is a lovely hotel offering amazing views in a well kept and charming resort. A definite must if you are in Madeira.
4 out of 5
by Karlheinz from Braunfels

Herrliche Lage, schönes Design, fehlende Pflege

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
wir waren eine Woche im Hotel und hatten einen Mietwagen, was sehr nützlich ist, weil das Hotel am Ortsrand eines Vorortes von Funchal liegt. Ca 10 min Fahrt bis zum Zentrum. Die Zimmer waren modern eingerichtet, sehr schönes Design, großes Himmelbett,großes Bad mit separatem WC, aber die Möbel waren sehr stark abgenutzt und auch der Fußboden müsste erneuert werden. Die Außenanlagen waren eher ungepflegt mit viel Laub und Unkraut, was angesichts der schönen Lage und des schönen Designs des hotels sehr schade ist. Der Service war sehr gut außer im Restaurant. Dort begegnete man uns ziemlich unfreundlich, weil wir nicht reserviert hatten und als wir dann doch einen Platz zugewiesen bekamen, blieb das halbe Restaurant leer und die Bedienung war alles andere als aufmerksam.