Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel but ask for lower floor room if windy

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Good hotel. Though paid extra for Seaview and got a corner room that was very noisy from the wind. Asked to move and firstly told not possible. Asked again on 3rd day and finally moved to lower back room. Good breakfast, lousy burger for dinner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, clean place to stay

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Enjoyed every minute, convenient to everything in a beautiful corner of the world. Sleeping to the sound of the sea outside, bliss!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Good value hotel in pleasant resort

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Whist the public areas, reception, lobby, restaurant, bar and pool were very good the rooms were a little dated.
Cons: Rooms and beds.
Location: The location was great. We liked Machico and the hotel is well located at the end of the esplanade in a quiet location. Restaurants & bars short walk.
My wife and I had a very pleasant time at the Hotel Dom Pedro. The food and wines were of good quality and good value for money. The public areas of the hotel are designed very well with panoramic views of the coast and resort. The hotel was better than we anticipated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Central to everything and spectacular views.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Everything ! Staff, cleanliness, location.
Cons: Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: The location was great for short walks and for exploring further. Close to restaurants and bars. We were happy to sit and watch the spectacular sea.
We were pleased with the short transfer to the hotel from the airport. The hotel was always spotlessly clean and tables cleared efficiently. There were plenty of areas to relax and it never felt crowded. I have seen some reviews that the hotel is run down, but it's charming, as with a lot of other older establishments in Madeira. The staff were always cheerful and helpful. A bottle of Madeira wine and honey cake left in the room on Christmas Eve was a lovely surprise. Close to the bus for exploring outside Machico.
3 out of 5
by haniyeh

Close to airport but far from Funchal centre.

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
The towels colour has discoloured due to being very old. I didn't feel like to use them and I bought my own towels. 4* is so much for this hotel. There was lack of many facilities and cleanliness, for example no hair conditioner or toothpaste. So I think it's only 3* hotel. The hotel Reception staff were nice. The breakfast was good. Amazing ocean view from hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Devon

Dated Hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Location, and clean.
Cons: More glasses.
Location: On the beach, and close to airport.
Dated hotel, close to the beach. Clean and tidy, but showing as 60's build. Just about a 3 star, but nothing more. Only 1 pint glass in the whole of the hotel, and two halves were charged at 50c more. Food unexciting, and if you don't like fish, you'll go hungry. Good location, and close to the airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Very old hotel, made me feel that everything is dirty. Absolutely useless reception. Internet only in reception area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Very clean hotel in good location but not worth 4*

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, lovely sea views from dining room and lobby areas. Our room also had lovely sea views, others had mountain views.
Cons: Not enough characters available to give a full and honest appraisal. Original report rejected with. "Oops! Please shorten this a bit".
Location: Located alongside the seafront and close to the very good sandy beach, easily walkable into the town and harbour area plenty of local bars/restaurants
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Basic but in a good location.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The location was good, and we had a view of the sea which was nice.
Cons: A general update of decor and facilities is needed. Food needs improvement. Wi-fi should be available in all rooms.
Location: Machico is a friendly, bustling town on the coast. Definitely recommend visiting during the food festival, there was live music in the square. Lovely.
The hotel is situated up a little hill from the pebble beach and Machico town centre. It's a 5 minute cab ride from Funchal airport so it's very convenient. The hotel is super basic. There's a mini fridge with nothing in it, and no room service. Information within the rooms is pretty scare, so we had to make do and figure things out as we went. The room was mostly clean, if a bit run down, and although clean the bathroom had various mold and staining issues. Towels were small and basic. The air conditioning unit was wonderful, and it was nice to have a balcony, even though we couldn't sit on it or have the door open as the person in the room next door was smoking constantly. Beds are pretty hard, not especially comfortable. Wi-fi is available within the reception and pool areas only. Unfortunately the breakfast gave me food poisoning, which was pretty horrendous. The hotel is fine if all you want is something very basic. It's not really a 4 star hotel, more like a 3 star.