Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pretty good value

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Good selection of English tv channels in the room, close to town and beach. Quiet location. Very friendly staff. Nice view from room. Pretty good food
Cons: double beds, new high chairs, better labelling of food for vegetarians/people with allergies. Some decor could be updated. Something for kids to do.
Location: Sandy beach nearby and pleasant town. Close to airport
The décor is quite dated and could maybe do with a bit of updating in places. The hotel is generally very orange! There’s lots of rattan and cane furniture. But you soon get used to the 70s feel and it is actually pretty good value for money overall. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. I think maybe these are ‘club’ rooms. Rooms higher up in the main building don’t have the balcony. The rooms were fine. A double bed was 2 singles pushed together though, which I always hate as I disappear down the middle.The bathroom was fine, clean enough but the bath looked a bit tired, as did the towels. It’s not 4* luxury but for the money I think it’s fine. On the first day we arrived we had terrible weather all day and night and our room flooded with rain water under the door from the balcony. However, this was very extreme weather! Not the hotel’s fault. Good selection of tv channels. Wifi in communal areas only although on the 3rd floor we could often get it in the room. The room was fine. Food was pretty good and plentiful. Restaurant staff were very friendly and worked hard. All inclusive is pretty good value. We ate well despite being slightly limited as vegetarians. Staff were always friendly and helpful, especially the bar and restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sofrivel

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
O Hotel necessita de um claro "update". O quarto era exíguo, com aspecto velho, almofadas muito pouco confortáveis, e um isolamento sonoro claramente insuficiente. Sem internet disponível nos quartos, e muito fraca mesmo no átrio.
4 out of 5
by John from Durham

Quaint quiet place.

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel had an old world charm about it. Only pick floors 1-3 if you want a balcony. Food choice is limited but good on average.
5 out of 5
by Isabel from Loures

Boa

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Boa localização.excelente vista. Calmo e tranquilo. Pena não ter cama de casal assim como a de criança não ser muito confortável.
4 out of 5
by HANAN E.

Good location. Far from Funchal

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel is a littel old.(the is no electronic keys). the staff was friendly and did speek English. One day there was big leek of water from the reception ceiling. Towels were a bit tougth. The aircondition was not working. the answer we got is that this time of year they don't start the cooling.
3 out of 5
by Maria Fatima from London

Hit and miss...maybe look elsewhere...

Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
Quite an old Hotel, Isn't worth the 4 stars as it claims to be. Service wasn't as its expected to be some of the staff were rude only a couple of people were extremely polite. it's handy having the hotel very near to the Airport but the location wasn't the best in terms of shops in the area. The food in the Hotel was one of the worst i've experienced, very small selection wasn't great at all. The room didn't have what was excepcted and that comes starndard at all the Hotels i've stayed at; Mini Fridge and a Kettle for Tea or Coffee...i didn't expect a T.V from the 1980s neither quite hard to watch T.V as picture quality was terrible but ofcourse didn't intend on watching T.V all that much anyway while on Holiday. Since im feeling generous i'd give the Hotel 2 or 3 Stars not the 4 it claims to be, i'm not even sure hot it claims to be a 4 star Hotel!
3 out of 5
by Lomailijat pohjoisesta

Vaikeuksien kautta voittoon

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Ebookers
Hotelli oli vanhahko betonirakennus, josta saimme huoneenvaihdon jälkeen siistin ja terveentuoksuisen huoneen. Merinäköala oli loistava. Sijainti on rauhallinen mutta etäisyys pääkaupungista oli jonkinlainen ongelma. Toisaalta saimme olla rauhassa ja pääsimme paremmin paikallisten ihmisten sekaan eikä pelkästään turistihömpän sekaan. Henkilökunta oli palvelualtis. Aamupala laadukas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Excellent service from all staff, comfortable room, food brilliant plenty of choice and quantity
5 out of 5
by Natalia from Московская область

Машику - отличный вариант отдыха

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Отель отлично расположен, внимательный персонал, питание очень хорошее (брали только завтраки). Но маленький балкон, в клубном номере на 3-м этаже деревья загораживают - не видно океана и душно в номере. Советую селиться выше, но не будет балкона, зато великолепный вид на безбрежный океан. На песчаный пляж нужно немного пройти по набережной - он отличный, обустроенный (есть и туалет, и душ, и кабины для переодевания).
5 out of 5
by patricia from Stoke on Trent

excellant

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
We are a retired couple we enjoyed our stay at the don pedro there is a sandy beach 2 minute walk away and it is on the flat not like the rest of Maderia which is very hilly