Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, quiet

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location, not too far from airport
Location: Conveniently located to food stores and restaurants
Agreeable, good value, excellent breakfast, close enough to airport for catching an early morning flight
4 out of 5
by Venkata

Great sea view room

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Dom Pedro stay was great. Good : Friendly staff , Room was clean, great location, great room service. Bad: No free parking. Costs 40 cents an hour. No Wifi in rooms. Swimming pools were cold not heated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatwick

Very good value for money

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: A lovely hotel with magnificent gardens and two swimming pools. Outstanding value for money
Cons: It's built in the 70s so soundproofing is non existent
Location: Very good position close to the shops restaurants and cafe's. Bus stop over the road and only a short walk and cable car to a charming beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Sep 29, 2016
The hotel was better than we expected for the price but the location is a bit difficult if you don't have a car as you need to get the local buses everywhere. The bus stop for Funchal is convenient (Across the road) but buses are on average ten minutes late. If you want to explore the east, then the bus stop is a good 10-15 minute of a super up hill road. We did that three times but we are young and still felt it was the hardest walk ever. The staff at the hotel are all really nice and helpful but the room cleanness was so and so(floor remained dirty) and even though we had asked to change the sheets they didn't change the cover on the top(we had gotten some mud on it from going hiking.
1 out of 5
by Dalila from CANADA

My last stay at DOM PEDRO GARAJAU :(

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel is not secure, the rooms are outdated, the staff are not friendly at all or accommodating. Very old hotel can hear noise from other rooms / guests and in the hallways.
3 out of 5
by Mohammed from Leeds

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms were located quite a distance from the reception area/restaurant
2 out of 5
by katarzyna from Poland

Hotel has 3 stars and doesn't deserve even for 2

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has 3 stars and does not deserve even for 2 stars. There was very poor breakfast, nothing to choose and every day you had to eat the same. There were dirty rooms Swimming pool was close early and we could't swimm in the evening. There was a kitchenette in the room but there wasn't enough plates and other kitchen dishes and the oven hub didn't work properly, I had to cook a 1 litre of water for nearly an hour. Anyway the staff was very nice and the location was really good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Noredi S.

Some things that I do not like!!!

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Ebookers
Two things that I was disappointed. First, no wi-fi in the rooms, to have contact with the outside world we had to go to the reception and even there there was no good connection. second, to a wonderful island like that, we expected that breakfast would be full of fruits and juices. we had to buy our fruit for breakfast in the morning. On the other hand the people were wonderful to us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel for the price paid

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Thre were both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Easy to relax in a quiet surrounding.
Cons: Perhaps some additional staff training mainly for those at reception. There should be easier access to floors and rooms (ie lifts or ramps)
Location: Ideal for coffee shops/bars/restaurants and handy for bus stops and transport generally.
A reasonable good hotel but could be much improved if updated and renovated in places. Currently kept clean and tidy at a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Reasonable price for reasonable hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: Convenient to public transportation and city.
Location: Restaurants nearby.
Somewhat inconvenient for parking. Good bus service and convenient to very nice restaurants. Helpful and friendly staff.