Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

En bord de mer

Posted Aug 22, 2016
L'hôtel est très bien situé, on est bien desservi que ce soit pour la restauration, pour les transports. Les activités ne manquent pas. Le personnel de l hôtel est très accueillant, le seul hic est que l hôtel baigne dans son jus. Il manque de rafraîchissement.... L'entretien de la piscine laisse à désirer, les chambres et la salle de bain auraient grandement besoin d être mise au goût du jour. Mais pour le reste rien à dire, je conseille fortement ce séjour à l île de Madeira
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from España

No es lo que parece en las fotos promocionales

Posted Aug 17, 2016
No es lo que parece en las fotos promocionales. Después de varias horas eligiendo un paquete de viaje que buena relación calidad precio ajustado a los límites económicos disponibles , decidimos hospedarnos en este hotel. Sin. Embargo la sensación a la llegada al hotel fue bastante decepcionante, ya que poco tenía que ver con El aspecto que parecía tener el hotel en las fotos promocionales , Cabe destacar que está muchísimo más viejo, poco iluminado que lo que se ve en internet. Ademá la piscina sucia que no se ve el fondo, las hamacas llenas de polvo y el desayuno de mala calidad. Un sitio que han "abandonado" hace algunos años sin cuidarlo lo mas mínimo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inmitten von Betonburgen

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Mitte der 70er Jahre stand das Hotel wie ein Solitär in der Landschaft. Heute ist nicht nur die direkte Umgebung zubetoniert, auch vom Lido aus sieht man nur Bettenburgen unterschiedlicher Hässlichkeitstufen. Von der Schönheit der Insel ist kaum noch etwas übrig geblieben. Wofür weder Reiseveranstalter noch Hotel etwas können, sind die schrecklichen Bilder des Waldbrandes und der dunklen Wolken, die über das Hotel zogen. Von unserem Balkon aus hatten wir unfreiwillig direkte Sicht auf das Feuer und die Rauchwolken. Wir sind froh und glücklich, heil und gesund wieder zu Hause zu sein und werden Madeira bestimmt nicht wieder besuchen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Dated, old, CHEAP/HORRID breakfast

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The hotel staff was SUPERB. Very helpful, polite and pleasant. The breakfast food was horrendous. 💀💀💀💀😰😰😰😡😡😡. Having said that I think one gets what one pays for. If one can afford better ONE SHOULD NOT stay at DORISOL BUNGAVÍLIA😁😁😁
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: The view over the sea and Funchal.
Excellent location, great value for money, nice to have the use of three swimming pools.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value and enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed as family at end of May 2016. Hotel is in need of some tidying up (it's not new) but everything in our room worked and room was cleaned every day. Good choices at breakfast, bacon and eggs etc. every day. Good variety of fruit and cold meats rolls etc. coffee from coffee machine is good. Tea bags are very weak. They have indoor pool, Jacuzzi and a sauna. Outdoor pool was bit cold. Overall good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Etwa 20 Minuten bis zum Hafen/Zentrum Fußweg.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Personal. Lage, Aussicht
Cons: Bitte renovieren!
Location: Etwa 20 Minuten Fußweg vom Hafen/Zentrum entfernt.
Das Hotel ist schon ziemlich in die Jahre gekommen. Schade, wenn man etwas Geld in investieren würde, wären die Zimmer sogar richtig hübsch! Die Zimmermädchen waren immer bemüht das Beste herauszuholen. Das Personal an Rezeption und Büffel immer höflich und hilfsbereit. Ideal als Startpunkt für vielerlei Ausflüge. Alles im allen kan man es gut aushalten, wenn man nicht zu hohe Ansprüche stellt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Close to restaurants and central Funchal.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Centrally located hotel near to bars and restaurants. Only took 20 mins to walk into central Funchal. Very good value for money.
3 out of 5
by kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Maria Goretti from Jersey channel island

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoy and I like repeat again.