Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Close to all ameneties,good location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Perhaps needs a bit of a makeover, but I like the way it is
Location: See top comments
Have been to this hotel 3 times now, it is not 5* but it's a very good base with lots of ameneties nice little kitchenette in the rooms and some great views from the upper floors the hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the food particularly at breakfast is very good with lots of choice to suit every dietary need. The staff are all pleasant and very helpful, Internet is available in the public areas or you can pay and have Internet connection in your room if you wish, which I did . It's a comfortable walk into the centre taking about 20 minutes ,and a very good bus service back ,bus number 4 . I love this hotel and will be returning if I'm able
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel at a great price

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location and views. The staff were very helpful.
Location: Nearby bars and restaurants. Pleasant walk into Camara de Lobos along the lido and 20-30 minutes into the centre of Funchal.
The best 3* hotel I've stayed at. Friendly and professional staff and in a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

We asked for a high floor but were offered a groun

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location was good though on a Very steep hill!
Cons: Room and breakfast
Location: We ate at a very good restaurant recommended by staff! Very hilly location!
Room very basic and dated. Sheets not crisp and fresh!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on CheapTickets
Location: Near the Lido swimming pools. The city center bus or a longer walk
Nice hotel, nice location in spite of a slight hill close to restaurants and supermarkets bathing Aerobus good access
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good value and good location

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Yes, this hotel needs a facelift, but it is excellent value for money. We only stayed for one night, but for that we got a room, buffet hot breakfast, pool and a kitchenette in the room. Lots of good eating places close by. Try the Dragon Tree or Osteria, both on opposite side of road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

A 70's Flasback.

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms were clean. Breakfasts were great! The staff at the breakfasts were wonderful! Handy fridge to keep your water bottles, fruit and food cool. Washrooms good size and great water pressure. Great little souvenir and snack shop on the lower floor. Nice pool area to relax. Lots of restaurants within minutes of walking. Love Antonio's Restaurant! Regarding the design...Flasback to the 70's! Felt like we were walking backing into the 70's though. Could use a big revamp. With an update it would improve the overall look. No air conditioning.... We were aware of that. It was HOT. There were no fans. The view was beautiful! No shuttle to downtown as advertised. You will have to take a taxi....to Funchal approx. 8 Euros. If you are not picky about overall appearance then this place is great for you. The photos on the site must have been taken many years ago,as its age is showing.
3 out of 5
by Elzene from Sheffield

Not bad but could be better x

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very 70's and not very modern but clean and staff friendly. The bathroom and kitchen needs attention and Had a few minor issues like shower head broken.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Dated, old, CHEAP/HORRID breakfast

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The hotel staff was SUPERB. Very helpful, polite and pleasant. The breakfast food was horrendous. 💀💀💀💀😰😰😰😡😡😡. Having said that I think one gets what one pays for. If one can afford better ONE SHOULD NOT stay at DORISOL BUNGAVÍLIA😁😁😁
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: The view over the sea and Funchal.
Excellent location, great value for money, nice to have the use of three swimming pools.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value and enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed as family at end of May 2016. Hotel is in need of some tidying up (it's not new) but everything in our room worked and room was cleaned every day. Good choices at breakfast, bacon and eggs etc. every day. Good variety of fruit and cold meats rolls etc. coffee from coffee machine is good. Tea bags are very weak. They have indoor pool, Jacuzzi and a sauna. Outdoor pool was bit cold. Overall good value.