Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Spacious Room - Shame about the hard beds!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Cons: More choice with the restaurant at lunch and food available 24 hours. Restaurants close early.
Location: Great central location and you can board the yellow bus.
The rooms are spacious with a lovely balcony and table and chairs. Its a shame but the beds are very small, hard and uncomfortable. You will wake up with aches and pains sleeping on these. The hotel is nice and peaceful and quiet. A good breakfast with lovely fresh bread and plenty of fruit. The lunches have very little choice and only one restaurant is open for lunch. Dinners have more choice and a great cheese board. The Sardine pate is to die for! Remember to try it! I tried the Italian restaurant which had lovely food and great service. I also tried the Madeiran restaurant but this was spoiled as I ordered the vegetarian cabbage soup and was served a soup full of meat! But no where on the menu was this explained. Staff of excellence are Paula (Reception) and Wilson and Dino (Waiters). The most unhelpful member of staff is Marina of Guest Services who told me that the two restaurants (Madeiran and Italian) were closed on Saturday night. She also said that all the restaurants were fully booked for my whole stay. If this happens to you make sure that you complain and you will be fitted in. The buffet restaurant shuts early in the evening at 2130 and you will find no food at all (except for burnt pizza at the Sports Bar) for 10 hours until the morning breakfast starts at 0730. There are no snacks, crisps, nuts etc at the bars, no room service, the coffee shop is not 24 hours it shuts in the afternoon and there nothing to eat! So beware of this. Suited for elderly guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Luis Guimarães / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Enotel Lido, It was much appreciated. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management team and we promise to focus on improving them, nevertheless we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Enjoyed the themed restaurants,the hotel was an easy walk away from Funchal centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Luís Guimarães / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Just a short note to thank you for choosing The Enotel Lido hotel for your holiday experience in Madeira and for the review shared with other holiday makers. We will be most pleased to welcome you in our hotel one more time. Best Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Very good hotel but the food choices not that great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex England

Like the Curates egg - good in parts.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The excellent, kind, caring staff. The spacious Junior Suite with its huge, south facing terrace with a superb view of the sea.
Cons: Food, drinks and room furnishings need to be upgraded and the hotel needs to research what other 5 star hotels offer and come into line with them.
Location: Although quite a long distance into town the local buses are good and easy to use. Walks by the sea are excellent. Small shops and cafes are nearby.
We really enjoyed the spacious Junior Suite with its enormous terrace. However, the furniture is basic and outdated, the beds are VERY hard. The lovely terrace has only the most basic table, 2 chairs and 2 loungers. The public areas are attractive and the Christmas decorations and floral displays were outstanding. The staff are a real asset, they are smiling, kind and hardworking. The food is plentiful, but the quality is sometimes lacking. On one hand the beef Wellington was one of the best I've ever eaten, but the orange juice tastes more like orange squash. The speciality restaurants can be fun, but again less food of a better quality would make it closer to the promised 5 star experience. Drinks from the bar are available all day and late into the evening. Gordon's gin and Smirnoff vodka were much appreciated, but cocktail choices are very limited, and those that are offered are made from a mix, not made by the barman. Coffee in the bars is excellent, don't drink it in the restaurant. The snack bar food is very basic, and often cold. With a few more touches this hotel could live up to its 5 star billing....crisps or nuts with pre dinner drinks in the bar, a few proper cocktails, ensuring food is served hot, better choice of cakes at tea time, proper coffee makers in the rooms, updated furnishings in the rooms and real lounging furniture on that wonderful terrace. We had a superb view of the nearby fireworks from our terrace on New Year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Luís Guimarães / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We have received and carefully read your review. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion as it is very important to us and can always help us to improve our services. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management team and we promise to focus on improving them, nevertheless we guarantee that we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
good but a partial sea view means from one corner of the balcony facing the hotel opposite. ants became a problem in the room and fridge towards end of holiday bathroom floor tiles in need of repair good wifi - soft drinks and water provided everyday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SCOTLAND

EXCELLENT HOTEL

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: WE LIKE EVERYTHING AT THIS HOTEL, WE GO FOR 2 WEEKS TWICE PER YEAR AND WE WOULD NOT EVEN THINK OF GOING ELSEWHERE. THE SERVICE IS SECOND TO NONE. ROLL ON NEXT YEAR. E
Cons: WE LIKED EVERYTHING AT THIS HOTEL.THIS HOTEL IS VALUE FOR MONEY,YOU WILL NOT GET BETTER ANYWHERE.
Location: LOCATION GREAT ,IDEAL FOR EVERYTHING.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Fabulous facilities and staff

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Well placed in Funchal with a good shopping arcade nearby, walks to the sea and a wide variety of restaurants nearby.
Lovely hotel with charming staff. The restaurants were nicely run and always full of tasty food, we specially enjoyed trying the Japanese, Italian and Madeiran food nights. We were full board and never worried about not being able to access food and drinks! The sunbathing area was clean and the sun beds comfortable, the pool was immaculate and refreshing. The spa offered a wide variety of treatments and the staff were very friendly. The ladies who booked our trips for us could not have been more helpful. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone - families, retired couples, mother and daughter (as we were) and young couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u.k.

Great location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Had a good time. Good weather for 3 days out of 7.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The hotel goes the extra mile to be helpful. The food was excellent.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to Funchal, 40 min walk or good public transport. Direct access to Lido promenade. Shopping centre 10 mins walk away.
Great position, good facilities and exceptional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Good location and excellent hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Lovely staff, good food, good location
Cons: Small issues in the room, ie curtain needed repair and also repeair needed to vanity unit in bathroom.
Location: Lovely walks on promenade, do visit Magic Garden accessible through cafe on promenade and free to look round. Frequent buses into Funchal centre.
Direct access onto promenade and frequent buses into Funchal centre. Good food with plenty of choice. Some small defects easily rectifiable in the room/ensuite but small compared with very friendly and helpful staff. Recommend Japanese restaurant, need to book on arrival.