Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Nice hotel quiet place, plendid view

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Nice place, far away from nuise city, central of the island if you have a car it wil be perfect for a central point. Hotel is really nice, look more of a Manor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Damp and dark and certainly NOT 4 stars!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Difficult to find old fashioned hotel. Smelt damp and when raining, which it does a lot, water dripping everywhere inside. Whilst everywhere was spotlessly clean, the whole place looked tired: faded carpets on landings, old fashioned artwork on walls etc. The room itself smelt of damp, the curtains were faded, wardrobe had sliding doors which didn't slide and contained my bug bear of an insufficient number of broken hotel coat hangers! All in all a hotel stuck in the 70's and definitely only 3 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Perfectly quiet beauty

Posted Sep 26, 2016
2 week stay. 2nd visit. Upgraded to balcony rooms facing the mountains with water view. Never gets tiring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford England

Excellent hotel,stunning views.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel was extremely clean. Staff were very polite and helpful. Views were amazing.
Cons: The only thing that we missed was not being able to make a cup of tea/coffee in the room but this was a small minor.
Location: The caves are well worth a visit and we would highly recommend the half day / full day tours . Our guide Sergio was fantastic.
We throughly enjoyed our stay at Estalagem do vale. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. The food at the hotel was excellent and we were lucky to enjoy some live traditional music on the Saturday evening. This hotel has amazing views and is a peaceful relaxing place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel in amazing location

Posted Jul 13, 2016
We stayed in this hotel for a week. The room was comfortable and included a mini fridge. We enjoyed breakfast each day with a good variety of fruits, bread, cooked breakfast, yoghurt and cereals. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a sauna, turkish bath and jacuzzi as well as outdoor pool. The mini golf is fun and there is a pool table and table tennis. It's only a 5 minute drive down to the Sao Vicente sea front, but it would be a steep walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel friendly helpful staff

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Cons: Mini fridge or being able to make ones self a hot drink in the hotel room would be nice...
Location: The Sao vincete... is small,, but the Sea front has a row of shops and plenty of places to eat... A lido is nearby too... Local Buses useful and cheap
Hotel was not a 4 star more like a 3 star... i.e. no mini fridge in room... Basic old school tv with crappy picture, however the food was good Breakfast simple good food..Dinner was nice freshly prepared. Swimming Pool very small. The staff were very friendly and very helpful on a day to day basis in proving tips on what to do where to go. I now have very toned legs from climbing the hill from Sao Viencete to the Hotel :-) Rooms were clean, and comfortable...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful situation but not 4*

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: The position in the mountains away from other tourists, with a wonderful distant views.
Cons: Room lighting particularly
Location: Dramatic mountain scenery.
Food at breakfast was uninspired, (we did not eat at the hotel in the evening as the dinner menu looked less interesting than the seafront restaurants in Sao Vincente where we ate and which were also much cheaper.) Pool was basic, common parts adequate. Lighting in rooms poor, particularly bathroom. So very pleasant but not a 4* hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Staff were really helpful, food in the restaurant was good and prices reasonable.
Location: There is a little local bar next door which is quaint and very cheap 1.6 euro's for a beer but after this the nearest bars and restaurants are 2kms
This small hotel is on the North of the Madeira which is much quieter and unspoiled than the Funchal side. It is in a wonderful location with stunning views of the mountains and sea and as it is a bit cooler after dark the staff light a real fire which was very romantic. One downside is its a bit out of the way so you do need to hire a car if you want to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

lovely stay!

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Loovely quiet location with amazing view over the valley and mountain !
We stayed there for 6 nights beginning of October with our 22 months old boy .Good food ,nice breakfast with hot buffet ,big choice of fruits and cereals.Very good food at restaurant.Nice playground for children only minus no fence oround swimming pool.Lovely 3 little gardens.Friendly staff.Planning to go back in June when everything is in full bloom!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Arran

A gem of a hotel in a fantastic setting

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Well appointed, comfortable and in a fantastic idylic location
Location: A quiet spot for those wishing peace and quiet. A number of walks nearby
A total contrast to the hustle and bustle of Funchal. Well worth a 2/3 night break during a longer stay on Madeira