Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Would have been nice if they were honest

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: In the city. Good views all round, even at the back. Nice rooms.
Cons: Give people the room they book.
Got off on the wrong foot, because charming receptionist told us there was a problem with our room -no sea view asbooked- but only AFTER taking full payment. They gave us free dinner and drinks in compensation, but there was no choice, e.g. Of a discount instead, and the buffet style dinners weren't great. However, the room was good, and the mountain view is pretty spectacular. We also enjoyed being in the city itself for a few nights, rather than the crowded hotel Lido area, but one downside is that it's a steep walk up here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, uk.

Good hotel, great views.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The staff were all excellent. Room was big and well equipped. Good spa.
Cons: The lifts - they take for ever to arrive. Hot breakfast needs to be kept hot.
Location: Not great. Uphill all the way from town and not on a bus route. Taxis are cheap and so are the tuks tuks. Good poncha bar on walk down.
The staff were great, all spoke good English and several other languages. Very helpful and sorted out any problems straight away. The room was large, clean and comfortable. It had a fridge and tea making facilities but bring your own tea/milk as only provided as a welcome and not refilled. If you drink the bottled water it will be charged to your room and will be replaced. 11 storeys high so views over Funchal are excellent. Good spa although a couple of the water features didn't work when we were there. Loved the water bucket and cold jet spray but prefer my jacuzzi a bit warmer. Plenty of sunbeds around pool although I expect when the weather is better that may not be the case. Pool bar serves an excellent lunch. Huge choice for breakfast, mostly good but the hot food was not of a great standard, bit too greasy for my taste and often not very hot. Best thing was an omelette cooked to order so piping hot and with choice of fillings, also sparkling wine available everyday with breakfast. Buffet style so can get a bit busy but always somewhere to sit. Tables cleared and reset quickly. We went early to avoid the rush. The lifts are hopeless, very slow and sometimes they just seem to vanish. Certain lifts only access certain parts of the hotel so you need to know where you are going. Finding the sun terrace is the trickiest which may explain why we rarely saw anyone on it! 25 minute walk from Funchal cathedral and uphill all the way back so you need to be fit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdon

Very good hotel, breakfast was amazing

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Ebookers
I would next time choose a room with Sea view, as I chose mountain view and I saw no mountains only a garden of the hotel/apartment next door
5 out of 5
by Rich

Wow

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing setting, stunning location and hotel. Staff great, food very good, breakfast and dinner. Room great comfortable, imagine rooms facing the sea are fantastic. Beautiful hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

views are great

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: comfortable room ,view, great staff. close to many things
Cons: all was very good there was nothing that we saw that needed attention compared to other hotels!
Location: great location close to the old town and new town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, poor pedestrian access

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Four Views Baia is a lovely, quiet, clean hotel situated at the top of a pretty busy dual carriageway. The hotel itself is great, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was good, the pool area was quiet and relaxing and there are plenty of sunbeds. However... pedestrian access to the hotel seems to be a bit of an afterthought. It is only a 10/15 minute walk to the old town which is great (if you don't mind crossing the busy road several times to follow the pavement), however to walk to the new town where all the restaurants are, we found ourselves wandering random backstreets with busy traffic and blindly following iPhone maps to find the right bit. So... would highly recommend budgeting 15 euros a day for taxis (which the receptionists were more than happy to order) IF you plan on eating out every night. Otherwise, would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Larisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Colin from Ringwood

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Good sized room, but could have done with a couple of chairs rather than a low lounger (extra sleeper?). 20 euros for key to in room safe and free tea and coffee for the first night only seemed a bit mean. Breakfast was very good, and guests were all seen taking tea bags away for the room. Good location near the old town, with great views but a long steep hill from town should be taken into consideration before booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent choice, if you want this location

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Location: Could walk into centre of Funchal in 10-15 minutes, mostly on along a quiet street.
Well run fairly new hotel with good facilities and excellent views from both sides. Convenient for town centre (10-15 min walk). Location overlooks a fairly busy main road; although there is no noise disturbance within the building, you would notice it by the outdoor pool. Hard to find when driving from the airport. Exit the Expressway at junction 9 and follow signs to Hospital. At first roundabout (near hospital) take third exit. Hotel is about 800m along (and above) the road on left side, on a bend; you may overshoot and have to turn round !
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Wales

The view's worth everything.

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
This is a tourist hotel with amazing views over Funchal. A modern hotel, set on a hill. Breakfast & dinner were excellent. Staff helpful and position was worth the walks back and forth into the town.