Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by George from London

Great design, but some choices ... stink

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
As happens too often with design, form takes precedent over function at this hotel. The great amount of thought that went into aesthetics would have been better spent on small, functional improvements. The most basic being the uncomfortable bed and pillows. Next, a bathroom with angled-wall, and downward-facing mirror and sink that you couldn't quite lean over due to that angle, made simple tasks like brushing your teeth difficult. The shower -- great to look at -- leaked all over the bathroom floor. A strange "closet" with no hanging hardware of any type (for gimp storage?). And in what has become one of the strangest fads in boutique hotel design: only a (n unfrosted) glass wall between the bed and the toilet. Great if you're one of those "open door policy" couples, but otherwise only good for recreating those awkward moments avoiding eye contact with your dog while taking it out for a walk (we turned on the sink, turned up the radio, while the other busily unpacked while facing away, then we celebrated a strange, unwanted milestone in our relationship). The staff was excellent, and the breakfast was above average for a hotel. Great location, but street parking only, metered from 8-8 available right across the street. If you look up the location on Google Maps, it's wrong as of 6/2016. The location marked on the confirmation email, was correct. Room was on offer, so we felt we got what we paid for. We would have been disappointed at full price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient, clean, good breakfast.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and breakfast.
Location: Near centre of Funchal. Many restaurants, shops.
Efficient helpful staff, but a liittle dark and clinical for us oldies. Excellent breakfast and good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice and convenient

Posted Apr 19, 2016
This hotel is located in an Extremely convenient location Very close to the centre of the city close to all the restaurants. The room was very nice and clean with the exception Of the shower that leaked. Breakfast was okay and staff were nice but would have helped if they actually told you that hot breakfast(eggs) was also available other than the other stuff at the time of breakfast instead of having to find out for yourself. hotel Lobby is very small and painted in Black so makes the place look even smaller and harder to see especially at night. Overall we were very happy with our stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Simon from Cambridge

Modern hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Nice room but quite small, good location.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Minneapolis, MN

Great Hotel, Poor communication

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel itself and staff working the days we were there were very nice and accommodating. However, there was a burst water pipe on our floor the week before we arrived and our room was out of commission when we came to check in. No one had communicated this to us so we were unable to make other accommodations. The Hotel Management did make arrangements for us to stay in another hotel, but it was a large chain hotel which was much different then the small boutique style hotels we prefer. After several back and forth discussions, they were able to move other guests and make room for us at the original hotel we had booked on a different floor.
5 out of 5
by Amynah from Lisbon

fabulous staff

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
fabulous staff who were helpful and went out of their way to make it great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel

Posted May 3, 2014
Only down side is bathroom door is glass and person on toilet can be seen clearly from the bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NewfHalifax from Halifax, NS, Canada

A reconceptualization of space

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Design, decor, staff and location
Cons: Internet is Wi-Fi only in small lobby. Room internet is via cable. Limits use to bedroom desk.
Location: Hotel is within walking distance of most downtown attractions such as the Marine, Blandy's Wine tours and museums.
Funchal Design Hotel is conveniently located relative to downtown (0.5km) Funchal. Walking distance to Old Town and Farmers Market. Many restaurants within 5-10 Minutes walk. 3 minutes walk to Dolce Vita Shopping Centre. About 5 minutes walk fro English Church where we saw 2 concerts. Internally the hotel space has been redesigned so that there are no square rooms except the restaurant. The angular rooms, black and white decor and large murals of dancers are quietly stimulating. The design and decor were complemented by very pleasant and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natasha from Toronto, ON

Excellent hotel for the money

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Very modern hotel. The room looked like large one bedroom apartment. Spacious bathroom. Two TVs. Walking distance to everything. Walking distance to a mall and grocery store. On a quiet street. We can't complain about anything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Quiet , quirky and close to the centre of Funchal

Posted Oct 24, 2008
This is a very different quirky style of hotel with modern furnishing throughout. It's approximately 5-10 mns walk to the centre of Funchal and the seafront (hence no sea views) and even closer to good value restaurants. It is also not too far uphill. However, there are little or no parking facilities, so you will have to find a space on the road outside. Continental breakfast came with the booking and was simple yet plentiful. Hot breakfast was available upon request. The hotel restaurant was open to breakfast, lunch and dinner. Staff were really friendly and spoke good English.