Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Oct 13, 2016
An old building, refurnished and somewhat refurbished, it has an air of slight decreptitude. However, it is clean, comfortable, and has a good shower (despite it being handheld!) - and these are all we really need as basics. Breakfast is a somewhat boring buffet, but adequate (although the "juice" is reconstituted rubbish, as most - even top! - hotels seem to do these days. Why? Nobody is fooled. It is hateful.). The free parking was invaluable. Downsides are wifi only in the lobby (and TV room, allegedly), which leads to comic sessions with all seats taken. There is no air-con, which might be a problem in the summer, but early October was fine - balcony doors open all night was nice. There were no flies or other flying insects to worry about. Noise from the kitchen at 7:45 ~8:15 am was horrendous, through open vents, for rooms overlooking, but for an early riser no big deal. Excellent choice of small restaurants just opposite (can recommend Shelter, in particular - and the staff are a hoot).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

If you want luxury go somewhere else!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: It is a good base, friendly staff who make the most of a bad job.
Cons: Nothing could be improved with out demolishing the complete building.
Location: The location is excellent there are lots of bars/restaurants, shops, swimming and a regular bus service into the centre.
If you want luxury go somewhere else, if you want a cheap base to use to explore the island this hotel will suffice. Before you make any decisions on this hotel look at the cost, you get what you pay for. For all its faults and there are many this hotel will provide you with an enjoyable stay on the lovely island of Madeira, it has a good location with a regular, cheap bus service into the centre. In the area there are a lot of restaurants and bars which are reasonably priced as soon as you start moving towards the centre the cost increases dramatically, there is a lido, shopping centres and watersports. I must warn you that this hotel is past its sell by date, it is impossible to refurbish and is only a matter of time before it is demolished, the exterior looks like something from the eastern block in 1950, the pool leaves a lot to be desired and the beds were made before springs or any other form of soft mattress was invented, forget memory foam which moulds to the shape of your body, your body will have to mouldy to the shape of the bed and it hurts. There are many more faults but the staff definitely make the best of a bad job they are extremely friendly and keep the hotel clean, breakfast is OK. So in conclusion be warned if your ideal holiday is laying around the pool all day in the lap of luxury this is the wrong hotel, if you plan on getting out and about and want a cheap base this is ideal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth a read!

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was prompt. 2 rooms given. One had no patio light, stained carpets, tv remote that didn't work and a table with one chair (for a double room). The other had a lock that wouldn't lock, and snapped the key. After reporting this they gave us another key and said be careful didn't bother with the lock repair. The corridor between the rooms, 101 and 102, had a constant smell of canabis which also, made both rooms smell. (Not good for kids). The pool area could do with a little upkeep work but generally was good. Accept for the cockroaches. ( the maintenance man killed one in front of me and kicked his remains into one of the drains). The breakfast was ok. Hotdogs, fried and scrambled eggs, beans. (Hot option) cold meats, fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal and salad. (Cold option) sounds ok right? Wrong! Nothing at fault with the food. Just the restaurant area. We had cockroaches scurrying about our feet, climbing up under tables, even upside down on one of the chairs. (Trying to wriggle back over). I would only recommend you stay here if you only want to use it as a base to crash and sleep. It is reasonably well located and is about 10-15 minutes walk from Funchal itself. Hope this helps some of you decide!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Great staff and facilities, cleanliness brilliant.
Cons: Air conditioning would be great as my room was hot, and we kept the door open at night, but were on the first floor at the front and it was Very noisy
Location: 20 minute walk away from Central Funchal, Lots of resturants close by, Lido paid beach very near, well served by Local and Tourist busses.
Smooth check in, friendly attentive staff, clean rooms and poolside areas. Great location short walk downhill into Central Funchal, bus back up the Hill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Algarve

Pleasing position close to shops and bars

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: everything as above and its location
Cons: overall painting and decoration
Location: everything to do nearby, swimming at the Lido, walking, shopping, eating and drinking
As older travellers we found the hotel to be dated but overall the room was quite big and pleasant, with a balcony and we are happy to be returning in September for a two week stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
The staff was very nice. Hotel condition not the best. Food could be a little bit more varied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2016
The hotel is a little tired but very good value for money. I had a great view.
4 out of 5
by Colin from London

Wonderfull Gorgullo

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here 5 years ago to watch the New Year Fireworks. Awesome view from East-Side Room on floor 8. Great for Sunrise, Floor 9 has better view. Rooms are good enough for the Oldest Hotel in the Lido area. Beds and Bath are realy clean. Housekeeping staff `will change sheets daily if requested. All in all, Location 5* Price 5* Staff 5* Only negative is that there is NO bar/lounge during the day.
4 out of 5
by ROSA from Daytona

Enjoy the perks

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
This is a budget hotel with great perks. With The best view of the ocean and mountain, friendly staff, very good breakfast buffet. Hotel is in need of some upgrading but who cares,
3 out of 5
by Samantha from Ponta do Sol

Very good value for money if you like a clean room

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
I use the Gorgulho from time to time, when I need to stay overnight in Funchal. This time I stayed for a week as it was convenient to where my family were staying. The hotel doesn't look appealing from the outside as it is tired and old, but the staff are really friendly, rooms are clean and comfortable and cheap! I find the location excellent as it's in the heart of the Lido and ideal for somewhere to lay your head whilst doing other things during the day. The breakfast is adequate for the money, and as a room for a night or two, I can't complain. I think that the Gorgulho is a brilliant place for a cheap week's holiday if you are not worried about the lack of luxury and plan on spending your time sightseeing. For me, its the perfect stop gap for a night in the city and the week I spent there made it a home for that short time.