Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Decent place but I would not stay there again

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is fantastic!
Cons: Rooms. Bed is not comfortable, towels are stained, and there is no AC.
It is a nice 3 star hotel, but I would not stay there again. The price is pretty good for Funchal and the location is great. The staff is friendly, although the night auditor was taking a nap when we came down to check out around 5 AM. The bed was rather uncomfortable and we were lucky it was not a warm night as there is no AC in the rooms - that's my mistake for not verifying but what hotel doesn't have Air Conditioning in 2017? The towels in our room had yellow stains which is rather unappealing, even when you know they've been cleaned. The price is low, but it's not a fantastic deal, you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great helpful staff, hotel in a good location near the market and old town
5 out of 5
by Roger

Good stay

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
A clean functional hotel, good value for money and excellent service. Located at the edge of the old town, it's only ten minutes to the cable car and harbour. Breakfast was ample and shower pressure was enough to peel the skin off
4 out of 5
by Bobby from Leeds

Great hotel AMAZING Location.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location.. Matter of fact amazing location. Helpful stuff. Hotel could use update has a very vintage feel. Great breakfast though not much vegetarian options. Would not hesitate to stay again. Great TV channels. Amazing rooftop pool with beautiful views, especially sunset views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; Great staff

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We stayed from just prior to Christmas until New Year's. The hotel is nice enough, clean and neat. The location is great with downtown restaurants just a few minutes walk from there. But it is the staff that makes this a great spot to vacation in. Nadia, Tania, Roberto and the rest of the staff were patient, helpful and tireless in aiding us with our stay. I would recommend this hotel just on the strength of the staff and can't thank them enough for their help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Good location, great staff. Breakfast a bit repetitive and the beds and pillows a bit soft for my preference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather dated hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel could do with updating the facilities as rather old fashioned décor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

near the centre of town and good wifi

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
good location near old town and shops,plus bars and resturants ,room ok ,good free wifi .just needs tea and coffee kettle in the room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

centrally located and clean

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
slightly dated in the bathrooms; breakfast lack luster however everything was otherwise fantastic about the service and the comfort in the rooms. Great roof deck view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Location is a really good, close to beach, cable car, bus stops, the town centre and the old town. Room was clean, with a great shower and we had a balcony which I didn't expect. Pool on roof is lovely with great views. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Only downside was the breakfast which was okay.