Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Centrally located hotel with rooftop pool.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff and pool.
Cons: The pool area could do with parasols for shade. Air conditioning although the ceiling fan just about kept the room cool.
Location: Use local buses as a cheap way of exploring the island.
Central yet quiet location with rooftop pool and great views of the city. Loved the 60s photos in each of the rooms. Ask for a room at the back with a balcony. Breakfast was fine and regularly replenished. Use local buses to explore the island. The bus up to Curral das Freiras is an amazing ride - aim to have lunch there before returning to Funchal. The bus ride to Ribeira Brava also covers incredible mountain scenery - take swim stuff as their is a small beach and outdoor pool at the resort. Avoid the via rapid express buses if you want the great views. The pretty fishing village of Camara da Lobos is also worth a visit. The town has a lovely outdoor pool overlooking the sea if you fancy a swim. Restaurant Doca do Cavacas just down from the promenade near the Forum shopping centre has a bathing platform with access to natural seawater pools which provide safe bathing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Motherwell, Scotland

In the middle of Funchal, cheap and very friendly

Posted Jun 7, 2016
All round the hotel was fantastic. This is my second time at the hotel and it won't be my last, due to the hotel itself and the wonderful staff. We accidentally had booked a triple room for 3 people which would have cost an extra €119, but the staff were extremely kind and let us have the room at no extra cost. If you're staying in Funchal you should absolutely consider this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Franck

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from københavn

dejligt hotel i centrum

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Hotellet ligger i centrum tæt på alt, skøn solterrasse og swimmingpool på taget og super venligt og hjælpsomt personale
4 out of 5
by Christa from Newcastle

Friendly and convenient

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
We chose the hotel for it's central location and were not disappointed. Themed fotos in room are good fun. Staff very friendly and helpful. Reasonable choice for breakfast, good, hot coffee.
4 out of 5
by Kazuhiro from london

not bad

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
not bad. although breakfast was not good, as a whole, it was not bad. in terms of location, it was convenient, close to old city centre where good restaurants are. it took within 10min walk. staff was also kind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, England

Great Value for money

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Cons: firmer pillows and mattresses
Location: very central and near to Old town with its fabulous choices of bars and restaurants. 15 mins walk to bus station
Glass of bubbly on arrival, and a very friendly helpful welcome. All staff were wonderful. The hotel was spotless and as said in other reviews an unusual theme. The breakfast was lovely and we had one evening meal which was omlettes, chips and salad which was made especially for us and was hot and tasty.Fabulous location in the center of town and we enjoyed several hours on the roof looking at the incredible view as well as enjoying the sun. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and will certainly return when next in Madeira ( such a lot to see on the island another visit is needed.) We put a 4 for room comfort only because the pillows were very soft and gave no support.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wien

sehr zentral gelegen

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: freundlichkeit an der rezeption, schlichte zimmer (waren ja nur zum schlafen im hotel)
Cons: frühstücksbuffet es gab zwar jeden tag frizzante, aber die speisenauswahl war sehr eintönig, evt fisch, aufstriche... und es gab nur gesalzene butter
Location: Zentral, ausflüge zu markt, altstadt, seilbahn, bus, gastroszene,. alles zu fuß in 5-10 minuten werde beim nächsten besuch wieder dieses hotel buchen
sehr freundlicher und kompetenter empfang, inklusive beratung über touren und ausflugsziele, buchungen werden von der rezeption übernommen. zentrale lage, trotzdem ruhige umgebung. sehenswürdigkeiten, buslinien, seilbahn und besonders die gastroszene zu fuss leicht erreichbar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Good location close to Old Town

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: decor
Hotel very clean with lovely swimming pool. Some decor a bit dated but would recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 神奈川県

ホテルスタッフの対応が親切なホテル

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: ホテルスタッフの対応が良く、親切です。
Location: ラヴラドーレス市場、モンテ行きのケーブルカーに近いです。空港行きのバス停も近いですが、ホテルは路地裏にありますので、事前に地図で調べた方がよいです。
ホテルは旧市街(Vila Velha)側にあります。ラヴラドーレス市場、モンテ行きのケーブルカーに近く、徒歩で行けます。旧市街側は、Rua de Santa Mariaにレストランが多くあります。空港行きのバス停も近いですが、ホテルはメイン通りからは離れていますので、事前に地図で調べた方がよいです。