Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Lovely hotel, staff very helpful .

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Beds not very comfy.
Location: Great location
Fabulous ,love the island.would defo return to this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Great hotel with fantastic sea views.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location directly beside the see and opposite a large shopping mall. On a good bus route only a few minutes away from Funchal centre.
The rooms were very spacious and had everything you needed. Some lovely welcoming surprises, flowers, fruit, wine and chocolates. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel situated opposite a large shopping centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

beautiful views

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Staff pleasent, hotel was refurbished in 2014 so in very good condition.
Cons: Not being charged for the use of a toaster and safe.
Location: Good location, shopping centre across the road with large supermarket. Bus stop right outside that takes you to the marina.
Booked a late deal and paid for an upgrade to sea view room. Worth every penny, the rooms are spacious and comfortable with large balcony. Views spectacular (room 505) the only down side is the kitchenette is not well equiped. Asked for a toaster and when we booked out they charged us 7 euros for it and also 7 euros for using the safe. It's only a small amount but left us with a bad taste after a very pleasing holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire, England

Very good value hotel with parking

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: We wanted the parking for our hire car. Sea front location was nice, but quite a way from central Funchal. Very quiet at night
Cons: Can't think of anything, for this price. There is only a 2 person lift, so that might be a pain if you were on Floor 10 ! We just used the stairs!
Location: Handy for food shopping. Good choice of restaurants within walking distance and you can walk along the seafront under the hotel.
Our room had a lovely sea view from balcony. Kitchen in room was great for self catering and picnics. Good supermarket just over road. Our floor had recently been refurbished and was new and clean. Large, good shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Bristol, UK

Hotel Duas Torres - good value basic hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Good value for money. Good location. Great views. Excellent, friendly staff.
Cons: The initial poor cleanliness was disappointing. Redecoration and more modern furniture would refresh the hotel and make a big improvement.
Location: Good location, plenty to do nearby. An hours walk to the centre. Recommend Il Basilica, Fora D'oras and a self-guided walk along Levada dos Piornais.
We were initially disappointed at the poor cleanliness of the room. However after informing reception and going out for the evening we came back to find the room had been better cleaned. It was about an hours walk to the heart of Funchal, which was fine for us but a little tiring sometimes. There were plenty of cheap buses and taxis passing the hotel though for those less active. There was a shopping centre opposite with great clothes shops and a big supermarket. It was easy to pick up the promenade, which was has a nice, lively atmosphere with cafes, bars, playgrounds and nice views out to sea. Also some great restaurants nearby including Il Basilico just off the promenade, where we ate on new years eve and Fora D'Oras which did an excellent yet affordable Bife na Padra [fillet steak on a hot stone]. We also had an amazing view from our 11th floor balcony of the NYE fireworks. One of the best things we did was walk from the hotel along the Levada dos Piornais. We didn't bother paying for a guided levada walk, and it was really easy to find and follow the water course though the villages to the mountains - stunning walk and great exercise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolyn from Oregon

Great place to spend New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: The hotel gate is a little difficult to maneuver without getting out of the vehicle or someone else raising the bar manually.
Location: The winter is not their best weather, cold and overcast especially the highlands. The island is rich in history and natural beauty, the people warm.
Funchal is famous for their holiday fireworks display and this hotel has a rooftop view that is thrilling. Their kitchenette room was well stocked to allow the traveler to make their own food if they would like to save a few dollars by eating in. The town does have good restaurants however. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to others visiting Madeira.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sunshine from London, UK

Great hotel for every one

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: ocean front, large balcony to enjoy the sun at your privacy, the ocean pedestrian walk,very spectacular views .
Cons: The hotel cleaners do not reply when you say hello. They are not friendly. I don’t think they are aware of their impacting on the hotel’s reputation.
Location: The hotel is located halfway between the airport and funchal city. There is always gale wind in areas towards airport and less air breath in Funchal.
I read other people experience of the hotel before I did my booking. All the good comments I read about the hotel were found to be very true. I also read couple of negative comments - shower difficult to adjust; kitchen could have been better equipped, etc. Fortunately, I did not experience these. All was good beyond my expectation. All rooms ending in 5, 6 and 7 have good ocean view. I stayed in a room ending in 5 (It has 75% ocean view and 25% Funchal city view). I loved it better than rooms ending in 6 & 7 (i.e. 100% ocean view which can be thick dark view in the evening). The hotel is located halfway between the airport and funchal city. Therefore, the hotel area has better temperature than both sides (There is always gale wind in areas towards airport and less air breath in Funchal). I understand VAT has increased recently from 4% to 22%. Therefore, eating in a restaurant has become relatively very expensive. The hotel equipped kitchen and the big supermarket across the road is great help to minimise expense. The ocean pedestrian walk starts behind the hotel and ends in Funchal. It is aprox 1.5 hours (one way) walk. It is about Euro 10 by taxi. The walk has very spectacular views - not only Ocean view but also parks. Having said all the above, I would like to say if the hotel cleaners were friendly, at least greet back when I say hello, it would have been wonderful. I don’t think they are aware of their personality impact on hotel’s reputation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madrid

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Esta situado en una de las zonas mas turísticas de Madeira, frente a un centro comercial bastante grande, pero es bastante tranquilo.
Un poco difícil de encontrar con el GPS, pero una vez localizado tiene fácil acceso, muy bien el parking gratuito. Las habitaciones son cómodas y funcionales, con cocina, zona de estar y terraza. La limpieza bien y el personal bastante amable. Hemos tenido una estancia muy agradable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisboa

Muito perto do centro comercial

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Muito bem localizado. Próximo dos transportes, supermercado e centro comercial Fórum Madeira.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pessima esperienza

Posted May 9, 2016
Nonostante la prenotazione sia stata fatta e pagata con 2 mesi di anticipo, al mio arrivo la camera non era disponibile per overbooking. Sono stata dirottata presso altro hotel di scarso valore e non sono stata avvisata da nessuno. Semplicemente vergognoso.