Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The location of the hotel was perfect. It is close to the bus stop, shops and restaurants and is only about 10 minutes away from the city by bus. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. The hotel was also recently refurbished so almost all the furnitures are new and clean. The only thing they can improve is on the selection of the breakfast. Maybe they could include more pastries.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrowford UK

Advertised as a 4 star hotel, falls very short of

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: the staff were warm friendly and very accommodating
Cons: swimming pool, children's play area is a area health hazard and dangerous. likewise the gym and saunas. Restaurant dated and food not good
Location: Great bars and Restuarants located nearby which are a must visit. Beautiful views out to see
Upon arrival the Hotel we were greeted by warm friendly staff. We were told that we had been upgraded to a superior room which was unexpected but nice. A tour of the hotel revealed several faults some of which were dangerous and a health hazard.Torn and ripped astro turf around the swimming pool. The children's play area was disgusting. Dirty unclean sunbeds. Stains on carpets,torn towels in room. Outdated paradise bar with torn dirty astro turf. No pictures on corridor. Food not up to standard at Breakfast. Not befitting 4 star rating, at best 2. we tried to relocate via expedia but the customer service didn't want to know unless we paid an additional fee. I will avoid booking with expedia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at the Hotel Girassol

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Amazing stay! Staff very friendly and knowledgeable,breakfast is nice and the pool area was great to chill after the long day travel. We recommend it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not a 4* hotel!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: my room/lounge/balcony
Cons: Most things - need to quality control facilities for cleanliness. Also breakfast could be more varied.?
Location: ?? I walked a lot....................
Whole of the area around the swimming pool/bar area could do with a good clean!
5 out of 5
by BRIAN from UK

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels
Most enjoyable stay , we have stayed here before,friendly staff ,clean, good location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north devon

hotel girassol

Posted Sep 20, 2011 on Hotels
lovely big room we were on the top floor so we had a good view, wish there had been a kettle in the room as its nice to make a cuppa at any time. pool area could be updated but it was clean. food good choice but we only stayed 2 nights and only ate 1 night in the hotel. staff friendly especially the receptionist.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Girassol Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2011 on Hotels
A smart hotel in the tourist hotel area close to restaurants and an easy bus ride into Funchal town centre. It has two swimming pools and a pretty tropical garden behind. Good buffet breakfast including hot and cold drinks, cereal, rolls, egg and bacon and fruit. We stayed in a Junior Suite with a bedroom and dividing door to the lounge area with sofa bed. Rooms have a fridge but no kettle for tea/coffee so take your own. The airport bus conveniently stops right by the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
HadDe junior suite. Hotellet bærer preg av å være gammelt og det var veldig dystert I 10 etasje suiteetasjen
5 out of 5
by Malin from Sverige

Fantastisk ö med underbar mat, skön hotellservice

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Utmärkt mat, fantastisk ö med vackra vandringsleder
3 out of 5
by Rosemarie from Suisse

chambre pas fait le dernier jour

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
L'acceuil à l'hôtel était très sympa et les réceptionnistes toujours disponible. La piscine est un peu petite pour un hôtel 4 étoiles. Autrement un agréable séjour sur une île extraordinaire.