Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Madeira trip

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: reception staff could have been more helpfull.
Location: very close to restaurants and sights.
hotel location great, near to shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Bacanhim, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your holiday experiences, I’m very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Madeira, the hotel facilities and service. I do apologise if reception was not up to your expectations, I will have a word with our Front Office manager, so that the service is improved and all members of staff offers the same standard of service. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel. Yours Truly Carla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey C.I.

Hotel in best location for walking along seafront.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Check in time a little late at 2pm.
Location: Location perfect for walking along seafront and into the old town. Near the cable cars and taxi ranks.
Lovely hotel in the best location for walking into the old town where most restaurants are. Very clean, excellent breakfast, great late night bar. Would have liked a room on the 1st or 2nd floor as although we had a sea view, being on the ground floor restricted the sunlight. As we were out all the time this did not matter too much to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Bacanhim, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Carla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

Lovely hotel close to amenities

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Layout of hotel is good. Spacious everywhere. We had seaview room that was good size and bathroom met all requirements. Pool and jacuzzi very nice
Cons: My partner found bed a bit soft for him. Memory foam mattress made me very hot
Location: Great location close to pebble beach, cable car, shops, restaurants. Easy walking distance to the Marina, old & new town
Lovely hotel. Great location. Hotel staff all very friendly. Breakfast buffet is excellent - great range of food choice. There is a kettle in the room - we got our teabags,coffee etc from the handy Spar shop just over the road. Felt safe walking around during the day & at night. Only one thing - alot of the restaurant staff pounce on you everytime you walk past, trying to persuade you in which can get rather annoying but they're all quite friendly about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel in the old town.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms and balconies, in-room safes, mini kitchen with fridge. Great bathroom.
Cons: Inconveniently placed loo roll in bathroom!
Location: Adjacent to a wide selection of restaurants, bars and the cable car. Taxis freely available with reliable drivers. Bus terminus nearby for inexpensive
Clean, well maintained hotel with delightful staff. Good breakfast included and happy hour available each evening in the bar, with entertainment provided later. Close to some excellent restaurants and the cable car. Felt very safe. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Cons: The garden rooms are noisy during the night. Plus you can hear the guests in the adjacent rooms.
Location: Excellent location
Very enjoyable experience would return. Good loaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bewdley Worc England

One of the Best

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not a lot ...not worth mentioning !
Location: EXCELLENT
One of the best places and hotels we have ever stayed at . We were with two other couples . Long standing friends, who all agreed this hotel and what it offer for where it is is EXCELLENT !! We will go back and we rarely say that with so many wonderful places to see in the world !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Best location in town

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The hotel is well-managed and because there are carpets throughout, it is quiet and peaceful. Leisure facilities are good.
Cons: The rooms which face the public park appear to get little sunlight and some of the people who use the park appear to live there.
Location: The major plus point of this hotel is its proximity to bars and restaurants. Although close to the restaurants, you hear no noise in the hotel.
Unlike many hotels, this is right at the waterfront and is on the flat. The hotel grounds are well-tended and staff are friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Location, location, ambience.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Really nice hotel with good facilities centrally located. Highly recommended for a winter break. We had a nice sea view room with a balcony that was a real sun trap in February! The breakfast was excellent as was the restaurant and happy hour and the staff. All in all a nice warm place a short flight away without jet lag. The hotel is centrally located with local restaurants nearby, what not to like?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Close to beach and old town

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Fabulous stay in Funchal. So close to beach, old town and restaurants. The hotel could not have been better situated. We were upgraded to a sea view room which was fabulous. The staff kept the hotel so clean and tidy nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely a variety of hot and cold dishes every morning. Some dishes changed every day which was good to sample new foods. Will definitely return to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel, great location, brilliant staff

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Just back from a 5 day stay, the hotel was fantastic. Rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast was excellent with great choice, brilliant staff throughout, and great location - easy walking distance to the many and varied restaurants in the old town. We had a marvelous 5 days, and will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Bacanhim, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and comments. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Porto Santa Maria. We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again in Madeira. Regards, Carla