Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from fife

Lovely old town hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, location,staff.
Cons: Nothing really, making fresh omlette at breakfast maybe.
Location: Great location close to buses,taxis,bars,restaurants,local shops.
Lovely hotel,couldnt really fault it,great location to lovely bars and restaurants,lovely spacious rooms,very good staff throughout the hotel,will certainly come back here,another great porto bay group hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Walking distance to beach, shops, bars, restaurant

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Each Sat in June is a firework display in the Marina to choose the best for NYE. My parents live in Madeira & were allowed to come to the hotel bbq.
Cons: Had to pay 10 euros for safe in the room, never had that before!
Location: You can walk out of the pool area to the promenade/marina/shops. Too many restaurants/bars with worldwide cuisine to choose from on the doorstep!
Lovely hotel, very clean & tidy. Free parking under in a secure garage. Perfectly located for shops, restaurants, bars, etc. Direct access to promenade & stone beach. Easy to find anything you wanted. Staff really polite & helpful. Lovely indoor & outdoor pools. Would definitely recommend & stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Perfectly situated in the old town, next to th fort, 200 m to marina and chair lift, close to good restraints and buses, courtesy bus available to hotel zone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Madeira trip

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: reception staff could have been more helpfull.
Location: very close to restaurants and sights.
hotel location great, near to shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Bacanhim, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your holiday experiences, I’m very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Madeira, the hotel facilities and service. I do apologise if reception was not up to your expectations, I will have a word with our Front Office manager, so that the service is improved and all members of staff offers the same standard of service. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel. Yours Truly Carla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey C.I.

Hotel in best location for walking along seafront.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Check in time a little late at 2pm.
Location: Location perfect for walking along seafront and into the old town. Near the cable cars and taxi ranks.
Lovely hotel in the best location for walking into the old town where most restaurants are. Very clean, excellent breakfast, great late night bar. Would have liked a room on the 1st or 2nd floor as although we had a sea view, being on the ground floor restricted the sunlight. As we were out all the time this did not matter too much to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Bacanhim, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Carla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

Lovely hotel close to amenities

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Layout of hotel is good. Spacious everywhere. We had seaview room that was good size and bathroom met all requirements. Pool and jacuzzi very nice
Cons: My partner found bed a bit soft for him. Memory foam mattress made me very hot
Location: Great location close to pebble beach, cable car, shops, restaurants. Easy walking distance to the Marina, old & new town
Lovely hotel. Great location. Hotel staff all very friendly. Breakfast buffet is excellent - great range of food choice. There is a kettle in the room - we got our teabags,coffee etc from the handy Spar shop just over the road. Felt safe walking around during the day & at night. Only one thing - alot of the restaurant staff pounce on you everytime you walk past, trying to persuade you in which can get rather annoying but they're all quite friendly about it.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Well appointed and convenient hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
A pleasing stay. Superb location for restaurants, local shops, cable car and bus stops. Comfy well appointed room. Spacious common areas with music in the bar evenings. The indoor poll we used daily. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel in the old town.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms and balconies, in-room safes, mini kitchen with fridge. Great bathroom.
Cons: Inconveniently placed loo roll in bathroom!
Location: Adjacent to a wide selection of restaurants, bars and the cable car. Taxis freely available with reliable drivers. Bus terminus nearby for inexpensive
Clean, well maintained hotel with delightful staff. Good breakfast included and happy hour available each evening in the bar, with entertainment provided later. Close to some excellent restaurants and the cable car. Felt very safe. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Cons: The garden rooms are noisy during the night. Plus you can hear the guests in the adjacent rooms.
Location: Excellent location
Very enjoyable experience would return. Good loaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bewdley Worc England

One of the Best

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not a lot ...not worth mentioning !
Location: EXCELLENT
One of the best places and hotels we have ever stayed at . We were with two other couples . Long standing friends, who all agreed this hotel and what it offer for where it is is EXCELLENT !! We will go back and we rarely say that with so many wonderful places to see in the world !!