Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oldenburg/Niedersachsen

Sehr gutes Hotel in absolut zentraler Lage

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Das Hotel bietet alles, was das Herz begehrt. Pools, Whirlpools, Fitnessraum, klasse Frühstücksbuffet, nettes und zuvorkommendes Personal und ist absolut zentral gelegen. Zu den Restaurants in der Altstadt sind es nur wenige Meter, somit kann man sich jeden Tag ein neues Lieblingslokal auswählen. Die Zimmer sind sauber, geräumig und es gibt täglich frische Handtücher. Der Balkon zur Meerseite ist perfekt für den abschließenden Madeira-Wein.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great flat location, excellent hotel.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Facilities and location.
Cons: We were quite happy with facilities and staff. Nothing in particular could be improved greatly.
Location: Great location in old town. Good selection of restaurants nearby as we prefer to eat out. Near to Monte cable car and harbour.
Good location, suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Hotel facilities very good and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire UK

Excellent location in heart of old town in Funchal

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: All of the above, plus the fact that it was adults only. This made mealtimes in particular very pleasant experiences
Cons: I can't think of anything!
Location: Already mentioned why this is a good location. Masses to do in Funchal or rest of Madeira.
Excellent location in heart of old town in Funchal. Huge variety of restaurants nearby and very easy to walk to market, cathedral quarter etc. Lovely views out to sea. Would definitely stay at this hotel on another visit to Madeira. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was super but I am sure the standard rooms are very comfortable too. Beds were extremely comfortable and housekeeping of a high standard. Breakfast was varied and delicious. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but am confident meals would have been of a high standard. Reception staff were very helpful when we had any queries or questions. Amenities of the hotel suited us very well; good pools and plenty of sun beds for those who wanted to relax.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bochum

Sehr gutes Hotel in allerbester Lage

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Die Lage ist unschlagbar, die Sauberkeit und der Allgemeinzustand des Hotels sind einwandfrei, das Personal ist durchgängig freundlich.
Cons: Wir sind keine Freunde von Teppich in Hotelzimmern, das ist persönliche Geschmacksache. Fliesen o. ä. sind irgendwie hygienischer.
Location: s.o.
Das Hotel hat die wohl denkbar beste Lage in Funchal, unmittelbar hinter der alten Stadtmauer zur Zona Velha. Wenige Schritte und man ist mitten in der Altstadt. Vom Poolbereich auf der Rückseite gelangt man direkt ans Meer. Die Cable-Car Station nach Monte und zum Botanischen Garten ist 200 Meter entfernt. Unzählige Restaurants für jeden Geschmack in unmittelbarer Nähe. Alle Tourbusse, Linienbusse verkehren in Hotelnähe und dennoch gibt es keine Lärmbelästigung. Man sollte aber unbedingt ein Zimmer mit Meerblick nehmen, der Gartenblick ist nicht ganz so toll. Sensationell ist auch die Dachterasse mit tollem Blick über Funchal, Hafen und Atlantik.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wachtberg

Wunderbares Hotel am Meer

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Die Lage am Meer und nahe der Altstadt. Die Herzlichkeit des Personals; die Lösung jeder Frage; die Zimmer (wir bekamen ein upgrade) mit Meerblick.
Cons: Nein, es gab absolut keinen Kritikpunkt
Location: Am Meer in der Nähe der Altstadt, wo noch madeirensisches Leben stattfindet. Die Kabelbahn ist direkt nebenan; man kann zu Fuss nach Funchal Stadt
Wir kennen dieses Hotel, das in der Altstadt von Funchal am Meer liegt von früher; es ist aber noch besser geworden. Ganz in der Nähe die Kabelbahn zum Botan. Garten und Monte (wo die Korbschlitten abfahren). Im Park nebenan spielen die Männer Karten und die Frauen ruhen mit ihren Babies aus. Viele entzückende Restaurants nebenan. Das Hotel ist einfach wunderbar, das Personal von herzlicher Freundlichkeit. Wir waren mit einem brasil. Ehepaar dort und sie meinten, das Hotel sei das schönste ihres Lebens. Wir sind nur verwöhnt worden. Ein Abendbüffet mit Musik und Tanz rundete unseren Aufenthalt ab. Porto Santa Maria kann ich ohne Einschränkungen wärmstens empfehlen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auchtermuchty

Lovely hotel in old town

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Excellent hotel in old town Funchal. We will definately be returning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, U.K.

Excellent Location.

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Location, staff friendliness
Cons: Atmosphere within hotel in the evening. An outdoor swimming pool where you could actually swim.
Location: Excellent position plenty of restaurants and bars within steps of the hotel.
Very well positioned, right next to the old town and nearby the cable car. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Swimming pool shallow and too small. The bar a bit sedate in the evening, even with live music, but as the old town is right outside there are plenty of other options. Wifi is free, but slow. Considering it is four starrated hotel it very mean minded to charge to rent the room safe. Warning Expedia showed checkout time was 7AM when I printed the "special terms and restrictions of this hotel" - it is not! Checkout is twelve noon. I would return here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Great stay, shame about the weather

Posted May 13, 2016
Fantastic hotel. Rooms and facilities all first rate with the added bonus of being close to all the restaurants if you only want to do bed and breakfast. I have nothing against children but it is nice to have an adults only environment. Going back again for a family break in September
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Great location in the old town of Funchal.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for taking the local bus to various parts of the Island and for the number and variety of restaurants in the Old Town.
Cons: The indoor swimming pool area is drab and not very inviting and the water temperature is too cool.
Location: The seafront position of the Hotel with the promenade in front makes it a very peaceful location and the hotel gardens are lovely.
The Hotel Porto Santa Maria was excellent in every way and for us Adult only was a must. It is in a fabulous location in the old town on the seafront. I would recommend a sea view room as the views over the sea and harbour with the cruise ships, is a beautiful sight. The buffet breakfast was very good and replenished throughout the breakfast sitting, although at times people had to wait for a table as there wasn't sufficient seating. The hotel do inform you about what times to avoid the "rush hour" for breakfast and we never had to wait for a table. The rooms are very well soundproofed and we did not hear any noise from the adjoining rooms. The rooms were kept very clean and all staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. There are very activities organised by the hotel on a daily basis which you can opt into and the tour company they use for seeing the various ares in Madeira is excellent. We did a tour of the West and it was brilliant as we left the hotel at 8.30am and arrived back at 6.45pm. For the tour we were in a very comfortable minibus with only 8 passengers and had more stops and photo opportunities than if we had been with a large crowd.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south yorks

It's all about the location really...

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Perfect location, very close to the old town of Funchal, the cable car, and a plethora of good restaurants. We visited several other hotels that looked to have as good or better facilities but were a very long walk, or a ride away from 'the action'. Hotel Porto Santa Maria was great, breakfasts were excellent, we didn't take evening meals in the hotel. Happy Hour is a nice meeting time and great opportunity to chat with other guests.....many of them are regulars that return every year or several times a year. Many great restaurants 'on the doorstep' within a 5 minute walk. They all hassle you for your business but that's just the way it is, and we used 10/11 different ones and were never disappointed. The only area where the hotel could improve I think would be the swimming pool outside, it is basic and small by today's standards, but clean and functional.